We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Carlton to your Saves list
The Carlton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Kollam, India
Level Contributor
113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice and Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I had my two nights stay here. The hotel is nice, staffs are friendly. I liked two things the most one is the name they have given for the BAR. "End of the Road" and another one is one of the name of the cocktails "If everything else fails" . Loved those two. The International mixes for Martini was not justified they have totally changed it, which I did not love. The buffet had a nice variety of vegetarian dishes while the rice items was just limited to two. They should consider adding some Chinese varieties. Things were perfect and Its a good hotel to choose to in Kodai.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest
We are happy to note that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for your positive comments. We have taken note of your suggestions.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
With warm regards,
M.Christopher K
DGM
The Carlton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    120
    22
    4
    5
See reviews for
150
87
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at The Carlton for a family vacation. The location of the hotel is very good with great view of lakes and surrounding hills from every corner of the property. The spacious lawns and thoughtful recreation rooms provides enough options to relax and enjoy your vacation. The quality of food and service also were very good. Enough reasons to come back and relive an experience that was really superb.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Mr. Jeyaraj,
We thank you for choosing The Carlton for your family vacation and for taking time to give us your positive comments. We are glad to know that you have carried back good memories of your stay.
We look forward to your next visit.
With warm regards,
M.Christopher K
DGM
The Carlton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Nice grounds. Spent a few days there with my young family. Very nice location next to the lake. Geese outside the balcony woke us up everyday. Friendly staff. There is a games room with a kids play area and bikes available. All in all nice for a plesant and relaxed family break in kodai.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are indeed glad to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We thank you for your words of appreciation and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
With warm regards,
M.Christopher K
DGM
The Carlton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed at the Carlton in Kodaikanal with my family in December, 2010. Although almost 3 years have passed during which I have stayed in several hotels having similar or higher rates, I simply cannot forget my experience at the Carlton. First and foremost, the view of the lake from almost all the rooms is breathtaking and you can spend your entire day just sitting in the balcony. The rooms are clean, the staff extremely polite and helpful. The hotel has huge lawns and play areas which are lush green. The facilities for indoor/outdoor games, library, health club are also very good. The buffet spreads at the reataurants had lot of variety and the snacks which you can order sitting in the lobby were also very good. Another USP of this hotel is its own boat club and cycle club. I and my children spent endless hours cycling around the lake with excellent cycles provided by the hotel. The boat rides (including a free ride) were also wonderful. Overall an extremely satisfying and fulfilling experience. My entire family wants to go back to Carlton again but since I live in Mumbai it may take sometime for me to fulfill their wish.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Mr. Gupta,
We are fortunate to have had you and your family stay with us and we are delighted to know that all of you enjoyed your stay. We thank you for your kind words of appreciation, which would motivate the team Carlton.
We would be pleased to welcome you and your family back and we hope you would give us the another opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
With warm regards,
M.Christopher K
DGM
The Carlton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Just stayed there for a night, the hotel was so good in every aspect. As it was an business trip and it was too short could not enjoy everything over there, but on seeing everything over there I am sure this hotel is excellent option for couples especially who come here for an honeymoon.

Room Tip: choose a room which has balcony with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely hope that you would give us an opportunity to serve you on your next visit.
With warm regards,
M.Christopher K
DGM
The Carlton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was one of the best Holidays I ever had and The Carlton contributed lot towards the same. This was my second visit to Kodai with in year. I like Kodaikanal very much just because of its lake and the way it is maintained. This is the only property in Kodai which has perfect lake view and location. In between market but still very calm. Carlton have one gate which opens directly in front of Boat house and in the market. It was looking like the whole staff was very hungry towards good service. All were so good, humble, courteous and so efficient that I don't have words to express the same. Be it room service, be it security staff or staff in restaurant, it is difficult to say who was better. Food was excellent Dinner/Breakfast buffet spread was very good and covered almost for all taste. I have given 5 star rating to few other properties but there is no 6-7 star rating hence was limited to 5 as well for Carlton but no doubt it was way ahead of all of them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to note your appreciative comments. We thank for you taking time to give your feedback. We look forward to have you staying with us again.
M.Christopher K
DGM
The Carlton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel is definately the heart of Kodaikanal. The best is the lake view and you just feel heaven on earth. extremely peaceful place, very huge garden area. Hotel has taken care of each and every activity that one would want to do it while holidaying i.e boating, cycling, indoor games, kids play area, spa, jaccuzzi etc. Staff is extremely courteous making one feel comfortable. Chef recommendation is what i recommend for speciality food My special thanks to the GM , Mr Rajkumar to take care of our special occasion and actually make it so special which is going to stay forever as 'lovely memories'.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this review, February 25, 2015
Dear guest,
We thank you for taking time to post your review on this public forum. It’s always a great pleasure to receive appreciative comments. It would motivate the team at The Carlton to achieve greater level of guest satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit and we hope to delight you with our services and hospitality.
With regards,
M.Christopher K
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
2.4 mi away
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal
0.6 mi away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.9 mi away
Le Poshe by Sparsa
Le Poshe by Sparsa
#4 of 74 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jai
Hotel Jai
#9 of 74 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Kodai International
Hotel Kodai International
#16 of 74 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kodai - Valley View, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton

Address: Lake Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kodaikanal
#3 Spa Hotel in Kodaikanal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise besides a lake amidst virgin hills..only at The Carlton - 5 star hotel in kodaikanal, tamilnadu. One of the best resorts at hill stations in India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlton Hotel Kodaikanal
Carlton Hotel Kodaikanal
Carlton Kodaikanal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carlton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.