We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Location and wonderful rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kodai International

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kodai International to your Saves list
Hotel Kodai International
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 / 328, Lawsghat Road | Kodaikanal, Kodaikanal 624101, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Rates- Book @ HKI
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Superb Location and wonderful rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Visited Kodai International in 2009, but forgot to review it then. Well the location is very good..the garden is huge and you can have a photo sesion out there. The rooms very medium sized but very clean. Staff was very helpful.

Recommend it for couples and also for family stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalrav_Kapadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

i visited Kodaikanal in July 2013 with my family and close relatives.. We got a pleasant surprise when the hotel staff mentioned that our rooms have been upgraded to Sr. Suites.. It is undoubtedly a very beautiful and spacious property.. separate kids play area.. so much of open space to walk and relax.. Rooms were very spacious and neatly maintained.. Food was very good and inexpensive... We utilised spa facilities which were excellent as well.. Overall enjoyed our stay thoroughly..

Room Tip: Plan to book Junior and Senior Suites..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Live_to_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Hotel has plenty of space, kid's play and food is good, not expensive, breakfast is tasty and simple. Rooms are spacious, but old fittings, cleanliness is poor, no room heater. Location is just away from downtown. There is home made mess just near to hotel, kamaraj mess, good food with cheao price. Overall hotel is good.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d_vijai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on Aug 10 2013 - We were initially planning to stay in his hotel for two nights but decided to cut our stay in this hotel to only one day because of our disappointment with many aspects about this hotel.
1. We saw that to show the hotel rooms to potential customers, the hotel staff was entering into already-occupied rooms while the guests were away - this felt like a violation of our privacy and made us doubt the safety of our belongings while we were away.
2. The hotel provides DJ services to its guests but does not have a separate hall for the same and offers these services in the open space right near the lobby. Almost all the rooms' balconies open up to this space - We were extremely annoyed by the loud DJ music being played late into the night.
3. Also, the hotel did not provide us with basic amenities suh as towels and mineral water in our room and did not address this issue despite repeated requests.

This is not a cheap hotel and it's tariffs are higher than most of the other hotels that are of the same calibre.

We DO NOT RECOMMEND this hotel to people who are looking for some peace and tranquility in Kodaikanal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NarsimhaSwamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We went to Kodaikanal sometime in January 2013. We stayed in this hotel for around 5 days. Some of the things we loved :

1. excellent location,
2. excellent service,
3. beautiful garden - very huge
4. Cordial staff
5. Best Amenities
6. Recreation facility - like TT, Snooker, chess, carroom etc etc
7. Round the clock service
8. Nice Restaurant
9. Many Complimentary Service
10. Beautiful Rooms

I am happy that i relied on trip advisor's suggestion and chose this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pushpa1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Excellent Family Hotel

I stayed at Hotel Kodai International for 3 days a couple of weeks ago. I must say that though initially skeptical (as I had just had a terrible experience in another Kodai stay and was forced to move out due to unhygienic condiditons), I was floored by the service that Kodai International offered. Right from the time I arrived with my family, the person at the reception gave me all the information of all rooms that were available. He even took us for a tour of every type of room and then asked us to decide. We chose the junior suite which had a bedroom and a decently furnished living room. The place was very clean and amenities were more than sufficient. My kids had a ball in the hotel. One thing I must say is that this is a very kids friendly hotel. There is a kids themed park with a huge lawn area, even the restaurant has a separate area where families with small kids can dine. There is a ball-pit and a TV playing cartoons all through. The cutlery is also based on cartoon characters. Both my kids had a whale of a time and got to spend a lot of energy and time around the hotel. Hats off to the staff as well, they knew how to keep us engaged and were very helpful and friendly. Every evening, a children’s movie was screened in the AV room.
The restaurant was also really good. The continental food was amazing and very authentic. I was not too impressed with the Chinese but everything else was pretty good. The hotel is also not too far from the lake and other tourist spots, so we did not have to spend too much time on the road. I would really call Hotel Kodai International a fun family destination and truly a value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Vikram A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I had been here with my folks for a leisure trip. We arrived in Kodai at 05 am, requesting the hotel staff to assist with directions to the hotel, but he seemed to be confused himself.Then, we were woekn up at 08:00am on the same day by a call from Spa asking if we'd like to have a massage. After travelling for 28hrs. this was really annoying. The Housekeeping lady kept entering our room with a master key asking for 'room clean'. This was uncalled for. She did that atleast 4 times, twice in the morning while we were asleep. We had to request to change the duvet as it was stained, We really liked the outdoors, the park,variety of plantation is really beautiful.But overall, more detailing required in aspects like hygiene, communication and definitely guest privacy.
I hope this feedback helps you to better your services.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Romasha09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
1.9 mi away
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal
0.8 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#8 of 74 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 stars 456 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Poshe by Sparsa
Le Poshe by Sparsa
#7 of 74 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Carlton
The Carlton
#11 of 74 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Jai
Hotel Jai
#13 of 74 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kodai International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kodai International

Address: 17 / 328, Lawsghat Road | Kodaikanal, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kodaikanal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kodaikanal
#9 Family Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kodai International 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kodai International offers luxury hotel stay in Kodaikanal, South India like hospitality, orderliness, efficient maintenance and luxury. Hotel Kodai International is sure to offer you a memorable stay at Kodaikanal, South India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Kodai International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kodai International Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing