We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Location and wonderful rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kodai International

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Kodai International to your Saves list
Hotel Kodai International
17 / 328, Lawsghat Road | Kodaikanal, Kodaikanal 624101, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Rates- Book @ HKI
Ranked #17 of 70 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Superb Location and wonderful rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Visited Kodai International in 2009, but forgot to review it then. Well the location is very good..the garden is huge and you can have a photo sesion out there. The rooms very medium sized but very clean. Staff was very helpful.

Recommend it for couples and also for family stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    82
    41
    12
    2
See reviews for
94
68
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

i visited Kodaikanal in July 2013 with my family and close relatives.. We got a pleasant surprise when the hotel staff mentioned that our rooms have been upgraded to Sr. Suites.. It is undoubtedly a very beautiful and spacious property.. separate kids play area.. so much of open space to walk and relax.. Rooms were very spacious and neatly maintained.. Food was very good and inexpensive... We utilised spa facilities which were excellent as well.. Overall enjoyed our stay thoroughly..

Room Tip: Plan to book Junior and Senior Suites..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Hotel has plenty of space, kid's play and food is good, not expensive, breakfast is tasty and simple. Rooms are spacious, but old fittings, cleanliness is poor, no room heater. Location is just away from downtown. There is home made mess just near to hotel, kamaraj mess, good food with cheao price. Overall hotel is good.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on Aug 10 2013 - We were initially planning to stay in his hotel for two nights but decided to cut our stay in this hotel to only one day because of our disappointment with many aspects about this hotel.
1. We saw that to show the hotel rooms to potential customers, the hotel staff was entering into already-occupied rooms while the guests were away - this felt like a violation of our privacy and made us doubt the safety of our belongings while we were away.
2. The hotel provides DJ services to its guests but does not have a separate hall for the same and offers these services in the open space right near the lobby. Almost all the rooms' balconies open up to this space - We were extremely annoyed by the loud DJ music being played late into the night.
3. Also, the hotel did not provide us with basic amenities suh as towels and mineral water in our room and did not address this issue despite repeated requests.

This is not a cheap hotel and it's tariffs are higher than most of the other hotels that are of the same calibre.

We DO NOT RECOMMEND this hotel to people who are looking for some peace and tranquility in Kodaikanal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We went to Kodaikanal sometime in January 2013. We stayed in this hotel for around 5 days. Some of the things we loved :

1. excellent location,
2. excellent service,
3. beautiful garden - very huge
4. Cordial staff
5. Best Amenities
6. Recreation facility - like TT, Snooker, chess, carroom etc etc
7. Round the clock service
8. Nice Restaurant
9. Many Complimentary Service
10. Beautiful Rooms

I am happy that i relied on trip advisor's suggestion and chose this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Excellent Family Hotel

I stayed at Hotel Kodai International for 3 days a couple of weeks ago. I must say that though initially skeptical (as I had just had a terrible experience in another Kodai stay and was forced to move out due to unhygienic condiditons), I was floored by the service that Kodai International offered. Right from the time I arrived with my family, the person at the reception gave me all the information of all rooms that were available. He even took us for a tour of every type of room and then asked us to decide. We chose the junior suite which had a bedroom and a decently furnished living room. The place was very clean and amenities were more than sufficient. My kids had a ball in the hotel. One thing I must say is that this is a very kids friendly hotel. There is a kids themed park with a huge lawn area, even the restaurant has a separate area where families with small kids can dine. There is a ball-pit and a TV playing cartoons all through. The cutlery is also based on cartoon characters. Both my kids had a whale of a time and got to spend a lot of energy and time around the hotel. Hats off to the staff as well, they knew how to keep us engaged and were very helpful and friendly. Every evening, a children’s movie was screened in the AV room.
The restaurant was also really good. The continental food was amazing and very authentic. I was not too impressed with the Chinese but everything else was pretty good. The hotel is also not too far from the lake and other tourist spots, so we did not have to spend too much time on the road. I would really call Hotel Kodai International a fun family destination and truly a value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed here for four days in a cottage. Amazing property. It has a huge garden and few birds like emu, parakeets and rabbits are pets. Good for the children. The garden has a lot of play activities for the kids.

Rooms are big, clean and cosy. The bathrooms are very clean. They have a big balcony, where you can enjoy the weather and tea together.

Service is prompt. food quality, taste and variety is nice.

Location of the hotel is also good.
Absolutely recommended.

Room Tip: Upper floor of the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Kodai International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kodai International

Address: 17 / 328, Lawsghat Road | Kodaikanal, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kodai International offers luxury hotel stay in Kodaikanal, South India like hospitality, orderliness, efficient maintenance and luxury. Hotel Kodai International is sure to offer you a memorable stay at Kodaikanal, South India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Kodai International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kodai International Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kodai International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.