We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor, Bad attitude service personnel at reception, No View from room, Restaurant closed by health inspectors !!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pleasant Stay

Save Saved
You added Hotel Pleasant Stay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Pleasant Stay
Bills Villa Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 66 hotels in Kodaikanal
Mumbai
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor, Bad attitude service personnel at reception, No View from room, Restaurant closed by health inspectors !!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hotel rooms are good quality & spacious, Toilets good, . But is that all you want when you go to a hill resort like Kodaikanal? Absolutely no view - just the Dharavi style slums view. On the other side Just a window that will overlook the ugly garden of the half finished badly managed hotel.
We stayed there for 2 days - We never had anyone clean our rooms or even ask if the room need to be cleaned.Our checkin time was 8:00 , we only arrived that day @ 13:30 ,Yet we had to wait for our room to be cleaned which resulted in a frustrating wait. Rude Front office staff. Just a bunch of unprofessional manpower selection (Just bodies).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Was here with my husband, and we had booked 2 nights stay in the luxury room.

First of all, the location is good. You do not have an outstanding view from your room. But, if you take the east facing rooms, you have a good morning sunrise view from the corridor & not from your room. Also, it is located in the town, 5 mins away from the bus stop. So you have a lot of shops around, yet far away from noise and traffic.

Room - was decent and good. But not great. Felt it was not up to the price mark. Rooms definitely need some refurnishing. Toilet was just about ok.

Service - the best part here is the service. Felt the staff were very helpful, at all times.

Restaurant - there was no complimentary breakfast. But the idlis here are not to be missed. :) All at very very reasonable price. Also, we had our dinner here once, which again was very good!

The bad part is, credit cards don't work here. neither do debit cards!!! I dunno the reason, but have read similar reviews from a few other ppl. To us, they said it is some system problem! and i guess they would say it to anybody who comes there. So, have some cash ready in hand to pay up for the rooms!!!!

Room Tip: Take a room along the east facing corridor! once you open the room door, the morning sun brightens t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during the 2nd week of April. My friend had booked this hotel online - he mistook it for another hotel that had Pleasant in it's name :-) ... Reading the reviews about this hotel, I was apprehensive, but since we planned to spend most of the time driving around, we didn't mind. We were driving from Chennai and so were slotted to reach the place around 2pm. We called them up and asked them not to give the rooms to anyone else since we would be arriving after the check-in time.
We found the place without any hassles. The hotel has a nice & spacious lobby & the checking was breezy - perhaps cos we checked in on a Thursday. When we checked in, we were informed that the deluxe rooms that we had booked were full and so we were being upgraded to the luxury rooms - quiet a surprise. The rooms themselves were neat, spacious and looked good. No complaints about our room. The windows opened into open spaces.. no particular view... The geyser in my friend's room wasn't working initially - which they fixed the same day. Our door refused to open one particular night and one call to the reception and they had the maintenance guys come fix it within 5 minutes. We ordered tea/coffee through room service and didn't have to wait long for that either. We wanted to try out few of the famous restaurants in Kodai and so didn't eat at this hotel - so we can't comment on the food.
On the last day, my wife wasn't feeling well and she wanted to have tea at around 630 AM. we called the reception & since no one picked up, the call was transferred to the owners desk. he informed us that room service would start only around 730. however when my wife informed him about her sickness, he went out of his way to make her some tea himself .. that was good customer service. Full marks on this!!!! Thank you Sir!
One problem that I had is that the rooms had very little sound proofing and since there were long hallways there was a lot of echo if someone has their room open or talks in the hallway. One night during our stay, IPL match was on and there was quiet a lot of noise of talking/cheering filtering through our closed door... It would be a nightmare if you had bachelors/groups talking aloud!
The hotel isn't located very far from the bus-stand, but it's definitely some climb to get to the main spots - the road to this hotel passes thru a public urinal wall - so make sure you have your windows rolled up ;-) ... All in all it was a pleasant stay for us. Would we stay here again ? - perhaps yes, perhaps not...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Not so happening place.not so worthy..very badly tasting food.the rooms were quiet good.they welcome very well but dont cooperate during check out.later we found out that there were so many other better place cheaper and better !!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

The bad experience started with the welcome. While booking over phone one "Tiwari" spoke to us and he was talking nicely but when we were checking in Tiwari was not there and we found others person is rude and he refused to connect us to Tiwari stating he was in night duty. We also decided not to disturb him as he may be taking rest. We checked in and went outside for site seeing when we came back in the night we wanted take bath but this Rude person refused to provide hot water stating as per hotel rule it is available only during morning. Then we met the owner and finally owner asked him to provide hot water. If owner was not there we had to take bath in cold water ...that too in Kodaikanal !!!. Next day morning we met Tiwari and informed about this. The staff response is poor without getting in touch with owner nothing will move. Food was also not good at the hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure to confirm everything (like facilities , hot water etc.) before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Nice hotel, personal care & excellent hospitality. Food varieties need to be increased and a newspaper to be served on a daily basis. Almost all the people speak Hindi and only about 3 people who speak in local language. Local language speaking people will be available in the day time only. It is a nice place to relax. Huge car parking facility is available.

Room Tip: Room no. 211 or any room after staircase is bigger than other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Let me start with positives of this hotel:
Best location; very pleasant look and nice restaurant
Rooms are nice and clean; I was given a beautiful room
North Indian foods tasty

Negative views:
Beware don't book online; they have two website, two places where you can book ; there is a big time cold war between the Bangalore and Kodaikanal offices
Whatever the Bangalore office tells you, Kodaikanal MD will fight with you, you need to fight for everything right from rooms to food.
Please make these things clear they dont give buffet (dinner) or atleast they told us this, coz Bangalore office promised me for that
But with struggle and fight we made things ok, and they accepted for things we requested:
Though we were not cheated ; quite an embarrassing experience for a holiday break!

Room Tip: Almost all rooms are of same size superdelex, delux and luxury; check for valley facing ones; those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Pleasant Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pleasant Stay

Address: Bills Villa Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 66 hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pleasant Stay Hotel, unit of 'The Yashoda Group' welcomes you to a luxurious and memorable stay at one of India's most popular and scenic hill stations, Kodaikanal (Tamil Nadu). Standing proudly in the heart of Kodaikanal, The Pleasant Stay Hotel offers the highest standard of hospitality and services to suit all travelers. Our friendly local staff will be happy to help in any way to help make your trip an enjoyable and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Pleasant Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pleasant Stay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.