We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gurupriya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gurupriya to your Saves list
Hotel Gurupriya
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.17/328-3, Laws Ghat Road, Near Zion Matriculation School, Kodaikanal 624101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 70 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We've checked-in 4 deluxe rooms from 17Apr to 19Apr priced at 2500 per room plus taxes. The rooms are average and seemed little overpriced.
The staff were courteous and food was okay and decently priced. They have open parking.
The overall stay was fine.
The rooms are average but ok.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    31
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
32
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I just returned from a trip to Kodaikanal. We booked an executive room in Gurupriya through travel guru. After searching for many weeks, we finally zeroed in on Gurupriya, as we were looking at a decent budget hotel. At Rs 500 per day (excl. tax), I thought it was a fantastic deal. Before I reached Kodaikanal, I was quite skeptical about the type of room. But once we saw the room, we were quite happy.

This is close to Zion Matriculation school, the approach road was very bad and quite small, dotted with similar hotels all the say. Parking is open type, but quite spacious. Room service was pretty good. Siva and Charles were both very helpful. There were some stains on the bedsheet, which they readily replaced. Hot water was available for 24 hours which we liked very much. It is not too far from the lake and other attractions.

Overall we had a very pleasant stay at Gurupriya. Definitely good value for money and a good budget hotel. We did not dine there, so I cannot comment on the food quality. So definitely if you are on a tight budget, this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurupriya, Owner at Hotel Gurupriya, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thanks for your review. Hope you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Rooms were average...........

they arrranged siteseeing for reasonable rates including droping at bus stand/nearest city ............ resturant was awesome................
service was also good. ...............

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurupriya, Owner at Hotel Gurupriya, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thanks for your review. Hope you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to serve you better again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I had pre-booked an Executive room at Gurupriya as we were two girls travelling to Kodai. On reaching the hotel , the staff took us around to nearby guest houses for accomodation. They probably did not have a room despite of prior booking. We however refused to stay anywhere else. After an hour, one of their Deluxe rooms was available and they asked us to move there till an Executive room was vacant.
They took us to this room which was in poor state. The previous guest had just checked out and they did not even clean the room before allotting it to us. Bed was unmade, previous night's dinner left overs made the room stink. We waited outside the room for 15min while they got the bathroom cleaned.
Within half an they shifted us to the Executive room. This room was again not cleaned properly. The room smelled strongly of cigarette smoke.
FYI None of he rooms in the Hotel have fans or ACs. There is no source of ventilation in the rooms. The smoke smell was intolerable in the closed room. On complaining about it, the manager spoke very arrogantly to us. The other junior staff was still helpful. They provided a room spray which did not help at all. The manager bluntly said that he cannot help us in any manner and we have to adjust. Also , you will not get decent food at this hotel.

Their services are nowhere close to the tariff they charge. A hotel with unclean rooms, no fans or ventilation and most annoying of all, really arrogant and rude manager.

Please avoid staying at this hotel if you do not want to ruin your trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Me and my wife stayed here for a night and this is a decent low budget hotel. The staffs are courteous and one particular staff named Perumal was always there for help. He arranged the room real quick, food, sightseeing etc. The only problem I had while booking the hotel was, the room rate for this hotel was shown different in different travel websites, and also different in their own website. So I was not sure which one is the right price, and went ahead in choosing the lowest price offer.

He have a small restaurant and the food is really tasty and was very quick when ordered. I recommend to get them ordered to room instead of going to the restaurant. Very limited menu, but whatever they had was awesome south Indian food. Do not miss it.

This hotel is about 15 minutes’ walk from the Kodai Lake/Bus stand. We walked back to the hotel after the sightseeing from the lake.

I also chose their forest tour package which was done in a minibus and was arranged quite well. The driver was a nice and friendly chap and never made us boring or frightened.
This is not a posh kind of hotel or not at an attractive place. This is decent enough for a low budget price and quite safe for family stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurupriya, Owner at Hotel Gurupriya, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thanks for your great review. The rates were different due to not proper update with some of the OTAs, but still we respect our clients and accepted them even with the lowest rate, which has not been updated by the OTAs. Hope you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

The property is good and also prompt service at the hotel. I stayed for three days and value of property isn't expensive might be because it is off the season. Need to check how much they will charge for the Deluxe/Executive rooms during Season (Summar).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

It was a pleasant stay in Hotel Gurupriya, All the hotel staffs where friendly,The room was neat and clean, it’s a good hotel to stay with Family.
The only problem I faced is the transport , hotel is less then 2 km from main bus stand but the taxi is charged 100/- and there is no auto rickshaw facility in Kodaikanal. There are town buses available to reach the hotel, but It will be difficult if you don’t know the local Language to communicate. So I ended up paying more for Taxi. If you are traveling with own transport then it will be good.
Over all I had a good stay in Hotel Gurupriya ,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurupriya, Owner at Hotel Gurupriya, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Hello Arvind,

Thanks for your review. The rates charged for the van is nothing to do with us. This is the actual going rate fixed by the taxi association and we have no control over them. Thanks for your understanding.

Regards,
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gurupriya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gurupriya

Address: No.17/328-3, Laws Ghat Road, Near Zion Matriculation School, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 70 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Gurupriya 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Gurupriya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gurupriya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.