We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gurupriya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gurupriya to your Saves list
Hotel Gurupriya
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.17/328-3, Laws Ghat Road, Near Zion Matriculation School, Kodaikanal 624101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 70 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Hotel to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in family cottage. Family cottage having 3 room with dinning hall. Rooms are very neat and tariff are within the budget. They have limited Food menu on morning and evening. And Limited foods are very nice. Feel like home preparation. And the Manager Charls and Perumal are very helping and kindly manner. The people who are willing to go for kodaikanal trip can stay at Gurupriya Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    32
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
35
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madurai, India
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

we stayed in this hotel the rooms was good but the manager is an worst person , he wants money for everthing , we gave rs 1700 for room and asked bill he said he will write only in white paper , if you want proper bill he said he will give for only 1000 . no bill was given for food . he chets the management , he was harsh with us , he was not an nice person are capable man to manage a hotel ,because of him we checked out in one day . we stayed in june first week

Room Tip: corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurupriya, Owner at Hotel Gurupriya, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hello RS,
Thanks for your comments, we have noticed your concern and will put a process in place for the problem identified by you ASAP. Apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Regards,
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My self is sanjeev from bangalore traveled for occasion trip with family. It is one of the best hotel in kodai, room servicess was awesome and respect which was given by staffs are vvv good. It is the best hotel to stay. In kodai. The only thing is hot water wont get all the time in day time. may be after 11pm to 5pm it wont. Only on special request they do some alternative arrangement. There perumal is the staff is good persons to guide travellers. Travellers get 24hr parking for both 2 and 4 wheelers.

Room Tip: any deluxe is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurupriya, Owner at Hotel Gurupriya, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hello Sanjeev,

Thanks for your comments and we look forward to serve you better in the near future.

Warm regards,
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
363 helpful votes 363 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Hotel was very good. Room was clean and big. They also have room service. Travel Desk and Hotel has car which you can book for sight seeing. We booked Toyota Innova which they charged Rs.1500 for a single day in Kodaikanal. They will help you in every manner. Rooms starts from Rs.1000. They have 24hour Hot water too. The only bad thing about this hotel was no restaurant. If you want to dine then you have to go outside. However if are not in mood to go outside then you can call Room Service and they will arrange foods for you. May be the charge is little high. Within our budget the Hotel was just perfect. You can not expect more within this budget.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurupriya, Owner at Hotel Gurupriya, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hello Tripper Sam,

Thanks for you review. Noted down your little concerns, will try to overcome it in the near future.

Warm regards,
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Recently in the first week of June, we had a pleasant stay at Gurupriya in the family cottage. Earlier we have contacted Mr. Siva fixed it up. They kept their word and booked accordingly and readily we occupied the cottage in right time. It was a three double bedroom cottage and quite sufficient for our package of 5 adults and three kids. The food provided was simple and homely...very important thing is it was not hurting our stomach. The kindness and hospitality shown towards all customers by the staff like Mr. Perumal and Mr. Charls and room service boy was well appreciated by our family members. Another senior gentleman [I forgot ask his name], who was almost present all the time in the front office and he also responded to our calls and queries very well. One thing I wish to suggest is they need to engage atleast two more service boys to enhance the room service better in time. Otherwise it was a pleasant experience with hotel gurupriya. No conflicts..No disappointments. You can trust them.

Dr.A.Rajendra Kumar
Pondicherry

Room Tip: Family cottage is economical when compared to individual rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurupriya, Owner at Hotel Gurupriya, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thanks a lot for your review Dr. Rajendra Kumar. Your review adds a lot of value to us.

Best regards,
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Room was good. Staff are courteous but food options in the restaurant r v limited.. Actually I didn't like the food at all..location use its abt 2+ km frm main attractions n this can be challenge in a hilly place like Kodai..

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Hotel location is close to the Kodai Lake. At such a low cost the hotel amenities are great. Had wonderful time with my friends and a nice break from office. Thanks to cleartrip also for 10% discount.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Gurupriya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gurupriya

Address: No.17/328-3, Laws Ghat Road, Near Zion Matriculation School, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 70 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Gurupriya 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Gurupriya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gurupriya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.