We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suits for budget trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Spring Valley

Save Saved
You added Hotel Spring Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Spring Valley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25, Laws Ghat Road | Near Zion Matriculation School, Kodaikanal 624 101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 67 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Bangalore, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Suits for budget trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel is located at the entrance of kodaikanal town. From here the main bus stand is about 2 kms distance. The room rentals are nominal. The rooms are decent enough. The hot water comes only in the morning. The food from the resturant on the first floor is good. However there are restaurants nearby also. We had done online booking for the hotel. From here the kodaikanal lake is about 1.5 kms. It is a very good choice for budget trips and good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the right side of entrance have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    44
    29
    6
    6
See reviews for
52
34
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Let me start with the location. The hotel is not near to main attraction of the Kodaikanal (Coakers walk, Kodai Lake). It is quite far from those sites and there is no proper parking place and entry is through a muddy road. You dont have any view from the hotel.
We booked the hotel in advance for two days but just after visiting the hotel we got room next to the reception which i guess in the worst one. The people in the next room were playing music so loudly that my husband need to go and tell them to reduce the volume. There is no fan in the room and hot water is not available 24 Hrs. The people who are staying there does not seem to be very descent type so after 20 mins we decided to leave the hotel at any cost.
We found another hotel and decided to move there but when discussed with manager he said that he will not return any money. So we need to pay two days rent for 20 mins. Pathetic management..
So i suggest every one to avoid this hotel at any cost. Take a hotel near Coakers walk and you will enjoy your trip

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Let me start with the booking process. Since I found the price offered by travel websites like makemytrip, cleartrip etc were all at par with the price offered by the hotel website, I decided to book it directly with the hotel. But when I called up the hotel on their landline, I was politely told to call back after 15 minutes since the Manager was out for lunch. Later all my repeated attempts to reach them on their landline as well as the two mobile numbers listed were in vain and since it was possible to book thru online via hotel website and I was just 24 hrs away from my trip, I did online booking via hotel website. I should admit the online booking process was smooth and at every stage they had included the description of the room which was a positive thing. I also got the confirmation receipt immediately via e-mail. I had booked a FAMILY SUITE for one night stay costing Rs.2800/- nett per night. After I managed to do the booking online, I managed to reach the Manager Babu on his mobile to enquire about the car parking facility and when I highlighted the lack of response over phone, he non-challantly said "It is alright, anyway you have booked it", probably it was only a tip of the iceberg. Though the check-in time was at 10 am, we got delayed and managed to reach only at 1.30 pm. It is closer to the city centre and that way was easy to reach. In one of the reviews, they had warned that the approach to the hotel was bad and car parking is a challenge. Though I had a very experienced driver, due to the steep approach and no reversing space near hotel, we had quite a challenge to park. Also the car park is very limited and cars have to be parked one behind the other. Any one going by car during peak season should avoid this hotel. I had called up the hotel around 10.00 am to keep the room ready since we did not want to lose time (especially with young kids around). When we landed at the hotel, it was raining and when we asked the room boys to unload the luggage, they refused saying that it was raining. We found there were no towels provided and had to ask for it and we did not dare to touch the towel as it was not clean at all. There was no power when we entered the room, but expected the hotel to have at least a generator to provide basic light as Kodaikanal does not get sunlight always. Only upon my insistence, they switched on the generator. I should say the room was quite spacious and had two side tables, a centre table with two chairs in each room and had attached bath rooms in both the rooms. Though the bathrooms were not dirty, it was not very clean either. The worst part is hot water is available only between 6 am - 11 am and considering it is a hill station with young kids, it is difficult. At least I would expect the hotel to state this in their website. The worst thing is, they did not have clean bed spreads and it was all stained, but we were too tired to ask for a change. The TV in both the rooms were not functioning properly and when we summoned an attendant he said even at our reception we have similar picture quality which was a lie. So my son had to bear with the poor quality to watch the Champions Trophy one day cricket. Another bad part was, I have never seen a hotel which had not listed the frequently called numbers like reception and restaurant near the phone. Here strangely they had printed this behind their visiting card and this was not handed over to me when I checked-in and I had to walk to the reception since (as usual) they were not picking the calls on their listed mobile numbers. Also the reception in-charge Swaminathan was quite rude, but they had another gentleman by name Saravanan who was pleasant mannered and guided me regarding sightseeing. Beware the restaurant cannot be called one since it has only 4-5 tables and if you land during lunch time, you may not get anything to eat since mostly they prepare only Breakfast and dinner as guests are out during lunch time. But food was of okay quality and service was reasonably good. But the worst part is, they have a strange system. One cannot pay for the food at the restaurant since it gets added to your bill and you are not given a copy of the bill. So you are expected to write down all the items you ate (along with your family members). Imagine you stay with your family for 3 days, it would be impossible/cumbersome for you to notedown each item every one had. When I suggested to the reception in-charge Swaminathan why they could not opt for a system of guest signing the bill after having food and later attaching it in the bill at the time of checkout (which is very common across hotels), he coolly mentioned that normally our guests write down what they ate. What a stupid idea!

Summary: Poor service, Poor car park, Poor hygiene, Decent food. You can choose this if you have no better option.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Cent percent guarantee to value your money at this hotel. They didn't charge anything extra. Room service and the people were good. Food was average and couldn't find varies like we see at Chennai. Overall my honeymoon trip was excellent at Kodaikanal

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Clear trip is very low price in hotel booking i saved 650 Rs . Service is excellent Spring valley hotel but hot water heater is not available only hot water time 6 am to 11 am here only that time available ...... Food service is excellent


  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Hotel Spring Valley stay was good. Rooms are welll furnished and spaciaous for a family stay.However Bathroom/Toiler maintenance can be improved by providing liquid/soap, towel etc. Anyway overall good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed there for a night with friends and its a decent enough place I would say.
Rooms were okay and clean, restaurant was good as well as the room service.
Its roughly 1.5 to 2.0 KM from the lake, but it was not that much of a pain.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Spring Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spring Valley

Address: 25, Laws Ghat Road | Near Zion Matriculation School, Kodaikanal 624 101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 67 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Spring Valley 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Spring Valley is one of the best budget hotel in Kodaikanal which offers a place for renewal and rejuvenation. Each room at Hotel Spring Valley is designed around the soothing, simple yet intricate patterns found in nature. Color, space and design converge to bring order and balance to an otherwise hurried world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Spring Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Spring Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.