We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten track” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WelcomHeritage Bassi Fort Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added WelcomHeritage Bassi Fort Palace to your Saves list
WelcomHeritage Bassi Fort Palace
P.O. Bassi, Chittaurgarh 312 022, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Chittaurgarh B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

What a lovely quiet place to stay. A little difficult to find but worth it. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The evening meal in a moonlight courtyard was freshly made from local organic food and very delicious, especially the tomato dish. I found the rooms large and comfortable and had a good nights sleep in the quiet sleepy village away from the main highway.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room which was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    28
    25
    22
    12
See reviews for
38
47
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The Bassi Fort Palace hotel sounds grand, but the accommodation is very basic. We have a Deluxe Suite- it is spacious with working AC. The hot water was plentiful with good pressure, but the shower head was very poor. The bed was uncomfortable because it was only hardwood with a thin piece of foam, not a real mattress. On our second day of our stay, the room was only cleaned at our repeated requests. The place is inefficiently and unprofessionally run by a woman who was the mayor of Bassi. In the evening the lights in the courtyard were lit, so offering a pleasant dining environment. Our first lunch was not good, but food improved at dinner after we requested insistently that we were served with authentic Indian food. Our stay in Bassi was disappointing. Bassi is not an interesting place to linger. We could have easily skipped it and gone straight to Udaipur.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

A wonderful heritage property set out at Bassi – mere 20kms from Chittorgarh.
If you are looking for a calm holiday and have a plan to visit Chittor – you must stay at Bassi.
The property has a touch of old Rajasthani heritage – set out on a quite big area. The rooms are quite big and have Rajasthani paintings and touch in the same. Quite cozy and comfy.
The courtyard is big and nice. The backside has a nice garden.

They are coming up with a swimming pool which will be quite unique in its own way. Simply dip yourself in the pool – enjoy a drink or lemonade and get a 360 degree view of the surrounding hills and the fort while in the pool.

Coming to food – it’s delicious and mouth watering. A bit overpriced but again at such a remote place and with such ambiance – it’s compensated.
And above all the hospitality of Colonel Singh – the owner of the Property and his wife will make your stay a very memorable one.

Visit Chittorgarh from Bassi and get back to Bassi for the night stay. 1 or 2 night stay here with trips to surrounding places will be a nice experience - rather something different which you will cherish for a long time.

Room Tip: Rooms and Suite on the first floor are more better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We saw the Chittorgarh fort in a distance on our long drive to this place...about 22kms away from Chittior. We were suggested this place as we needed a night's stay to view Chittorgarh the next day. We had our own vehicle as we were on a road trip.....else you will spend quite a bit just getting there! The place is more of a home stay in a "once upon a time" regal place. We were in a ground floor room. The room was large with an attached living area...i think we were in a suite. The stay was very basic, cleanThe food.....dinner.(buffet)....was quite a let down.....home food...but you expect different when you are on a holiday. The owners and staff are very warm....but the place has really nothing to offer. Its better to take a day's trip to Chittorgarh from Udaipur and go back....or move on to Ajmer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

The fort is not so big but stayin in a fort is awesome ex.. The rooms are very nice and big but when generator doesn work properly at the night, room looks like haunted due old rajasthani look.. The dinner is over charged and complementary breakfast is not sumptuous..problem in hot water for bathing too.. Staff is courteous and the owners are very good in nature.. I really like the place due to its awesome rajasthani decor..

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is one of the fantastic places we dropped in identically few years back.

Viz location and hospitality, we were just speechless! The personal touch and quality of food was unforgettable.
I actually visited it much before Oct 2011!

Room Tip: I visited this few years back, and it was under talk to be taken over by branded hotel group. Please...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Our travel agency advised us to stay at Bassi Fort after having visited the Chittorgarh fort, just 15 miles away, which we did. Do not. Bassi is a small village with nothing to see and nothing to do. And although the Bassi Fort is a very nice building, the decoration of the rooms is a fake old fashioned indian style : many colors, mostly pinks, with a certain "bollywood style" that is quite ridiculous. Honestly, it is far better to drive just 2 hours more from Chittor and sleep at Bundi, which is an exquisite and quite peaceful city, with all the houses painted blue, a superb old palace with famous wall paintings, and there I would strongly recommend sleeping at Bundi Vilas, with its tasteful decoration and delicious food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to WelcomHeritage Bassi Fort Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomHeritage Bassi Fort Palace

Address: P.O. Bassi, Chittaurgarh 312 022, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Chittaurgarh
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Chittaurgarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unfolding the History of Chittorgarh: Chittorgarh is a city in Rajasthan which is located on the banks of river Gambhiri and Berach. The district was bifurcated and a new district namely Pratap Garh was created with certain portion taken from Udaipur district in the newly created district of Pratap Garh.This city of Chittorgarh is the epitome of pride, romance and spirit, for people of Chittor who always chose death before surrendering against anyone.WelcomHeritage Bassi Fort is the epitome of the glorious history of the Chundawat clan. It was built way back in in the 16th century by Thakur Jaimal of the Sisodia dynasty, cousin of Maharana Pratap who is a distinct part of the history, founder of the Bassi principality. The 16th century WelcomHeritage Bassi Fort is just a fleeting distance of 25 km from Chittorgarh. It is amidst the hills of the Vindhyachal ranges and makes a perfect break and an embrace of Hritage India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your WelcomHeritage Bassi Fort Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bassi Fort Palace Chittaurgarh
WelcomHeritage Bassi Fort Palace India/Rajasthan - Chittaurgarh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WelcomHeritage Bassi Fort Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.