We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a special place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Padmini Haveli

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chittaurgarh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Padmini Haveli
Save
You added The Padmini Haveli to your Saves list
Near Anna Poorna Mata Temple Road | Village Fort Killa, Chittaurgarh 312001, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Chittaurgarh B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Such a special place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We arrived at this amazing place and couldn't believe our eyes. Incredible rooms and amazing food. We hired bikes and rode to the Jain temple to see the sunrise, and were greeted back at the Haveli with an amazing breakfast. We took the bikes out again and spent the whole day touring the fort. Another amazing meal before being dropped back at the station. Sudhir and his family were so hospitable. Chittogargh was by far our favorite place in Rajastan. We couldn't believe it wasn't more highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    30
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
30
60
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Visiting the hotel and village are a must if you are touring Rajasthan. Sudhir is a wonderful host and a great guide to the fort. There are spectacular buildings on your doorstep and lovely friendly people living in the village. We enjoyed the excellent vegetarian food and they coped brilliantly with special dietary requirements. Everyone was friendly and helpful. This is a very special place with an amazing atmosphere which our group of six thoroughly appreciated.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The atmosphere that mixes the traditional architecture and modern style made our stay all the more comfortable. The family who runs the haveli made it a second home for us and everybody found a favourite corner, some at the roof terrace, some in the nice sitting room or the inner courtyard. We enjoyed very much the walk through the village with its temples and the guided tour of Chittorgarh fortress.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

we had a very pleasant welcome in this wonderful private house
the owner was speaking french as well as english
the interior decoration was the top of design with natural material and exciting bathroom
the veg food was traditional and really tasty
very warm service
the guest house is located in the middle of the historical monuments which is totally unique
ccl: perfect place

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I went there with a big group (we were 30 people!). We rented the whole Haveli for us. The manager, Mr. Sudhir, has been very helpful and friendly. He told me that he made possible for all of us to have proper beds giving the task of making some of them to a local village carpenter family!
The haveli is beautiful and is located in a wonderful place. Form the terrace you can have a breath-taking view of Chittorgarh and the plains down the hill. Rooms are very nice and clean. Sudhir and his family organize everything for us, like horse riding and jeep excursions to the villages. They provide also nice vegetarian rajasthani food.
I highly raccomend this experience for big groups. Having all the Haveli for us was a great experience. It might be nice for couples and small groups as well

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This probably is the best place to stay in Chittor, firstly because of its location, up in the fort itself (a peaceful area compared to the town), and secondly because the owners are so friendly and helpful. But I don't agree that it is a five star experience for several reasons:

1. We were mostly fed excellent food, but the first evening meal the food was not very interesting, and seemed to contain no fresh vegetables. There is no menu, and no choice of food, being a B&B, and nowhere else to eat nearby. Food arrived at erratic, unpredictable times.

Everyone eats at the same table, which created a slightly awkward atmosphere that same evening when the only common language was English, but not everyone wanted to speak it.

2. Sudhir and Parvati both need to continue with their guiding jobs (understandably so, as the B&B wasn't very full while we were there), so Sudhir was away from the B&B for half the time, and Parvati very busy, leaving the staff to cope on their own - and whilst they are very friendly, and want to be helpful, none of them speak English.

For the same reason, I doubt if you could guarantee to be guided round the fort by either of them while you are there, unless you have requested that in advance.

3. The initial welcome could be improved - we weren't shown to our rooms, so we stumbled into someone else's before finding our own. We weren't shown how to lock our room, so left it unlocked like other guests did - it will only take one opportunistic guest to turn this oversight into a disaster.

4. Our rooms weren't cleaned during the one full day we were there. Not a big deal, but I did feel that the waste bin for the toilet needed emptying every day.

Finally, I don't agree with the other reviews that suggest a longer stay than one night is necessarily a good idea - it's true that you could spend a long time seeing each and every sight in the fort, but it's equally true that not every sight is a 'must-see'. I certainly wouldn't recommend the sound and light show, and I wasn't terribly impressed with the Padmini's attempt to show us the countryside (ie some mustard fields where they treated us to some chai). If you really like the really peaceful village atmosphere, though, you might indeed choose to stay here a few days just to chill out - one of the things they really have got right at the Padmini is the many nooks and corners that are comfortable to sit in and read a book.

Altogether a mixed experience - the rooms are lovely, and I wish them all the success they deserve, but I think they do need to address some of the above points in the longer term.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olivierGeneve, Propriétaire at The Padmini Haveli, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear sir ,

We would like to thanks you for your feedback and we will make sure to take care of it with sudhir and parvati . The launch of the Haveli is recent and team is working hard to progress.

1. You are right we shall prepare a menu for the guest for them to read . We have been facing problems with computer and printer but honestly this was not first priority . Regarding quality of the vegetables that you may have faced , it is the first time and Parvati shall have a 0 tolerance . We do not plan to have a large choice of food as we prefer to have few guest than to be fully packed . The experience is better and the logistic better managed at this stage of our progress . As the day you came the haveli was busy it has impacted the services and the timing . There is a need for more planning .
On the sitting , we debriefed with sudhir and parvati and in the future they will first offer customers if they prefer to be alone or at a common table .

2. guiding job , you are right , sudhir and parvati are very well known guiding tour and the launch of the haveli is fairly recent . They still have great travel agencies asking for them and until they could leave with the business of the guest house they needed to continue with this function . These days this is becoming less and less true and the frequentation request them to be most of the time at home or buying the food . It remains very true that it is better to ask them ahead to book their time for you to visit the fort . Regarding english speaking , you are right and actually very few people in the fort village speaks english . We have Jayu the neview of sudhir and parvati who is fluent , but the ladies caring for the household do not . It is must to have always someone in the house who is english fluent , we will get there .


3. You are right , during the welcome sudhir and parvati should present the bedrooms , we debriefed on this last time we reviewed our progress with them two . Regarding the keys , poeple feel so much at home that they do not lock them . I totally disagree with this. Our customers have to lock their bedrooms , kids may pass by and create disaster .....

4. cleaning the room on time , it is a matter of organization which is being improved and we appreciate your understanding

Thanks again for the time you took to debrief
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Padmini Haveli. I highly ecommend this place to those qho are looking for a simple family environment in one of the most amazing places in Rajasthan. The hosts are very nice and so are the rooms and the people in the village.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olivierGeneve, Propriétaire at The Padmini Haveli, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
dear guest thanks so much for your feedback , Chittor deserve to be on the agenda of any visitor in rajasthan and we are pleased that you enjoy it and the way sudhir and parvati hosted you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Padmini Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Padmini Haveli

Address: Near Anna Poorna Mata Temple Road | Village Fort Killa, Chittaurgarh 312001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Chittaurgarh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Chittaurgarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in January 2011, the Padmini Haveli is a traditional house of Southern Rajasthan that was converted into a nine room guesthouse. Located in the centre of the old village of Chittor within the walls of the fort, it overlooks temples and palaces. From the roof terrace, you have sweeping views of the city and the Aravalli hills beyond the Mewar plain. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Padmini Haveli India/Rajasthan - Chittaurgarh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Padmini Haveli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.