We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip to the past” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ishwari Niwas Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ishwari Niwas Palace to your Saves list
Ishwari Niwas Palace
1 - Civil Lines, Bundi 323001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Bundi
Sunshine Coast
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
“A trip to the past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Travellers to Bundi should check this hotel. It is located very close to the main town centre, and is furnished with period furniture and decorations. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the Restaurant serves magnificent Indian Food. Very friendly and helpful staff, eager to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The Reception can organise all the sightseeing in Bundi. The garden areas and the ambience of the hotel certainly takes you back to the 17th century

Room Tip: Depending on the tourist bookings, you may be able to choose a room of your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    18
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
10
14
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This hotel had a beautiful garden but that does not make up for the dumpy and chilly rooms. The beds only come with a duvet (uncertain how this is cleaned between guests) and no sheets. The garden was lovely and where I spent most of my time as the rooms were cramped, dark and cold. We stayed with a tour group and so did not choose this hotel. I would not recommend this place until they have made some much needed room improvements.

Staff and food was decent enough. Wifi is free and works in the lobby only.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshwariNiwas, Guest Relations Manager at Ishwari Niwas Palace, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your valued review about our hotel, the management is deeply sorry as it seems you were not happy with your room. I do understand that this hotel was not chosen by you as you were traveling in a group but we could have offered you room change if that would have pleased you.
The duvets in the rooms are covered with white linen covers that are removed and washed after every use.
I hope you have a pleasurable stay in India!!!

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Very comfortable ,friendly Hotel just on outskirts of this bustling but not touristy town.Rooms clean and comfortable and good breakfasts,lunches and dinners in restaurant.Very pleasant gardens to sit in and staff really helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We were offered a choice of rooms on the ground floor. We chose the one with the best bathroom, ie. it had a shower cubicle. Lovely room. Friendly people, lovely garden. Restaurant lacked ambiance..........needs carpets/rugs in winter, and a few small tables dotted around for couples.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

This is a good location for a visit to Bundi. The hotel itself is located in an impressive building. But unfortunately some of the rooms in the older section are far from impressive. Whilst reasonably clean, they are dark and dingy. We visited in a group. Whilst we were fortunate in having hot water there were some in our party who had none. Our room was dark and suitable for nothing other than hiding away to sleep at night. Because of the the floor plan it is difficult to see how these rooms can be improved, even if money were to be spent in upgrading them. Staff were quite helpful and the restaurant had a fair selection of food at good prices.

Room Tip: This is a hotel worth considering, but look at rooms first. Bundi is certainly a place worth a visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We are staying for one night in room 202. To be honest one of the worst we had during the trip. The hotel is one of the better options to stay but there is a bigdifference in quality between the rooms. The hotel is split in an older part (rooms starting with a 2) and a newer part (rooms starting with an 1). The rooms starting with an 1 are the best options. These are fairly new rooms with nice spacious, bright, clean, fresh look and huge beds. We were in the older part and it has an other apearance. The rooms are much older, dark, muffy and not as clean as you would expect. The blankets were dirty and had a urine smell. Glad we brought our own linnen. There is a stone floor, but sadly they put an very old and very dirty sandy and worn-out carpet on part of the floor. These are originally double rooms with seperated beds they shove together to give an appearance of 1 big double bed. The room 202 is lokated at the place where every evening a dance and music show is taken place at a camp fire. Thereby this is not the place to get a good nights sleep. Even if the music stops there will be a substantial noise from loud drunk tourists. The bathroom of 202 is one big space with a toilet and shower. Once you took a shower expect the whole bathroom to be swamped and going to the toilet will get your feets wet for the rest of you're stay. Service in the rooms starting with 2 looks to be less than rooms starting with an 1 (for example rooms starting with 1 did have bottles of drinking water to brush teeth; rooms starting with 2 did'nt). Food at the hotel was good. All in all this could be a good place to stay... if you keep you're distance of the rooms starting with 2. Since we stayd at a room starting withe a 2 we give it a score 2 out of 5. This would mean I would't stay here again if there are only rooms available starting with a 2. I probably would give it another try at a room starting with an 1 though. In a few hours I can go to the tourbus. Then I can have some sleep there during the next 7 hour ride and forget about this room asap. Getting to and from Bundi takes a long drive

Room Tip: The newer rooms all start with rommnumbers beginning with 1. Do not take the rooms starting with 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishwari N, Guest Relations Manager at Ishwari Niwas Palace, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Let me thank you for sharing your experience at Ishwari Niwas. The management feels sorry if your stay was below satisfaction. As your review states that there is a difference between the rooms starting with 1 and 2, let me inform you that the hotel has 24 rooms and all rooms differ from each other as this is a heritage property and not a newly built deluxe hotel.
The linens and blankets are always washed and well sanitized after every use and it is very unusual for any hotel to use dirty and filthy linens.
The location of the room# 202 is facing towards the garden courtyard with two large windows on both sides, that technically makes it well ventilated and has enough day light in the room. It is very hard to accept that the room was dark, muffy and dirty.
The Rajasthani cultural music which was being played that evening was specially for your group members for entertainment, started 7:30 till 9:00 p.m. Keeping in mind that the guests would sleep after this, all the guest staying with us were dignified enough not to make loud noise in the late hours. As most of them have a early start the next morning and the management makes sure the rooms facing the courtyard are not being disturbed.
The bed size in your room is a standard 7 feet long and 5 and half feet wide, that is large enough to accommodate two people. If you thought it was tight for two people we could have moved your room. If your bathroom got wet after you took shower and you were wet feet, there are room boys available always to mop it dry which would have taken two minutes.
Amenities like complimentary water bottles, shower gels, tooth paste and body lotion are only provided in the heritage suites. To give these amenities in all rooms is not mandatory and we have not mentioned in any of the website about these utilities. Still we would be more then happy to bring it to your room if you would have asked it.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Wales
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed here with a tour group at the end of December and found it to be a very reasonable hotel just outside the centre of Bundi.
It has a pleasant courtyard with plenty of seating regardless of the time of year. We sat outside around a fire and it was good. Rooms are set around the courtyard and at various times in the past the likes of Lord Mountbatten have stayed at the hotel.
The room we had was spacious with a sofa and a day bed in addition to the 2 very hard single beds. Furniture was good quality and in keeping with the property. There were really good wild animal paintings in the bathroom.
Breakfast and dinner were served in the upstairs dining room where there were a few animal skins and taxidermy examples on display. There is also a collection of dolls in the dining room which weren't to everyone's taste! Food was good but not exceptional and it was a pleasant 10 minute walk into the town.
Good wi-fi in the lobby area and some parts of the courtyard.

Room Tip: We didn't experience any noise from our room on the ground floor which opened onto the courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ishwari Niwas Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ishwari Niwas Palace

Address: 1 - Civil Lines, Bundi 323001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Bundi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Bundi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Haveli was built during the reign of Maharao Raja Ishwari Singh for the Diwan (Prime Minister) of Bundi State. The building is a combination of Indian as well as European style of architecture. In 1945, it was handed over to Maharajadhiraj Kesri Singh of Kapren, for his residence. It was later turned into a guest house and today it is also the residence of Maharao Raja's nephew Maharaj Balbhadra Singh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ishwari Niwas Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ishwari Niwas Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.