We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kuki is a very precious guide, knowing the best of Bundi and specialized in cave paintings. Alone, without sponsor, he has disco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cave Paintings

Cave Paintings
Bundi, India
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 27 Attractions in Bundi
Type: Ancient Ruins, Cultural
Attraction details
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Kuki is a very precious guide, knowing the best of Bundi and specialized in cave paintings. Alone, without sponsor, he has disco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We highly recommend him for discovering a very unique small city, rich of a beautiful fort with préserved wall miniatures, marble hindu temple, nice market fair... And this unexpected curiosity of wall paintings and dive into history with a delicious Kuki, full of energy and fun.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    5
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Waste of Time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I can't give this 'attraction' any more than one star, just a waste of time.....SO few images, damaged badly by the touts trying to pretend the images were of historical significance.Concrete filled missing parts of a couple of images. Given it takes at least a couple of hours to get to the site, and given the poor nature of the presentation and damage that has been forcibly ensuing, don't bother wasting your time.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This will be a new day in your life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Kukki is starting the day by this sentence and he is right. Kukki is a passionate hobby archelogist, who discovered tens of cave painting and found hundedrs of relicts, coins, stones, dyes etc. from historic and pre-historic times. We spend more than 10 hours with him walking around the countryside, talking to local people, climbing around and discover rock paintings and temples. He also invited us to his home, where I cooked with his wife and where he showed us his findings.

He is excellent and you wont regret to spend some time whith this fascinating person.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The palace is very old and not maintained, which is really sad : the paintings on the walls are still amazing. Take a very good camera with you, with a high sensibility : some rooms are quite dark, you cannot use flashes, and you might miss incredible colors. I loved this place. And the view to the city, with its blue houses, is incredible.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“An excellent adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

The highlight of our trip to Bundi was an afternoon spent with the discoverer of the cave paintings, Mr Kukki. He took us on a quick tour of the step wells within Bundi first and then took us ouot to a small village that he is helping to support. It was one of the highlights of our trip. To actually be able to go into a small village to see how the people lived was incredible, The people and the kids in the village were very happy despite there meager living conditions. They made us very welcome. After that we went to see the cave paintings. It was a little difficult to get get to them and there were just a few of the them to see, but how often can you see cave paintings in their natural environment, in an unprotected area, and guided by the person that actually discovered them. It almost like we were the ones discovering them. The whole experience that afternoon rates right up there with all of the other trips that we have taken.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cave Paintings also viewed

 
 

Been to Cave Paintings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cave Paintings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.