We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic facilities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saras

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bharatpur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Saras
Save
You added Hotel Saras to your Saves list
Saras Choraha, Bharatpur 321001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Basic facilities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

If it were not for the location and somewhat clean rooms there is nothing good about this hotel. The table cloth in the dining room I think was bought when they started the hotel - it was ridiculously dirty. Food served was alright but the service is too slow - we waited for ages and paid a fortune for the room and food. Attached bar is the most pathetic I had ever seen.

If all you want is a clean room near the bird sanctuary but don't mind 900rs a night, go here. If you need better experience, don't.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
12
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, NM
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

Pros: Close to Keoladeo bird sanctuary
Cons: Didn’t honor prepaid booking price
Comments: OK for basic accommodation. Very unprofessional and disorganized management, as is normal for state-run Tourism Development Corporation hotels. Manager acted like he had never seen a reservation e-mail and voucher from a travel agency before. It is true that normally bookings are made in person at their offices in major cities. He had to phone his head office to ask what to do. They did not honor my previously prepaid booking made over the internet through Aamtran travel agency in Jaipur. Since the time of my booking they had raised prices by about 50% and insisted I pay the difference. Hotel was empty but gave us two noisy rooms facing the major highway. Water heaters operational. The large menu is completely fictional – you have to ask what’s available and it’s very limited. They did manage to provide a very good veg thali plate. Only a few hundred yards from entrance to Keoladeo so bicycle rickshaw tour drivers can pick you up at the hotel. Unfortunately the monsoon failed in 2009 so there was very little water and hardly any birds at Keoladeo so it wasn't worth visiting. If you're planning a visit make sure the water and birds are there.

Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2008

During our visit to Bharatpur, we stayed at this hotel.
To begin with, the room were clean. Bathroom was spacious and clean. Room service was OK.
Down side was the quality of food. It was below average.
Positive thing about the hotel was that it is just 1/2 km from the bird century. Also the staff was friendly.
In short if you are looking for peaceful and simple hotel... this is not a bad option.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, Connecticut
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

Other than a couple of big and expensive heritage hotels, there are not many decent hotel options in Bharatpur. Hotel Saras is among those few decent options. If you are not looking for luxury and your target is to spend one quick night enroute Jaipur from Agra, this is a very good option.
The location is excellent. It is absolutely at the crossing on the Agra-Jaipur highway, and less than a km from the Ghana bird sanctuary.
The hotel is a very simple one, devoid of any parapharnelia. It is located on a generously large piece of land with a big space in the front and large rooms. The room we had was quite clean and the A/C was in a good working condition, though old. The bathroom was large and clean. Overall the room was a little Spartan, though.
The room service was good and prompt. The check-in and check-out processes were also fast. Staff were polite and courteous.
We had one lunch at the restaurant, and did not like it. The table cloth was very old and stained. Food was ok.
We are satisfied with the hotel, but felt that for what it is, the cost was a tad high, at Rs. 900/ a night.

  • Liked — Location, size of rooms
  • Disliked — restaurant
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Saras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saras

Address: Saras Choraha, Bharatpur 321001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Bharatpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Bharatpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Saras, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.