We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service Poor attitude” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Udai Vilas Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Udai Vilas Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Udai Vilas Palace
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   NH-11 Fatehpur Sikri Road, Bharatpur 321001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Bharatpur
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Poor service Poor attitude”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I liked the hotel for its space and decent rooms. However thats all that is to like. food is average - the breakfast is poor. service is really poor despite requests and complaints and to top it all, their attitude is poor. We were eating dinner and requested for a bread basket. To my amazement, the staff got irritated with us when we asked for a second time coz of a delay on their side. That did it for me. Not going back again unless they yank up their service and ATTITUDE!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    48
    43
    17
    15
See reviews for
40
41
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Noida, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The property was no doubt lavish with good amount of open space; however, too many snags in service - let me be fair and list out both +ives and deltas:

Positives:
1. Good location - on the highway, a few kms before the sanctuary, fatehpur sikhri a 20 mins drive
2. Open space - lawns, swimming pool, open areas, big rooms
3. Courteous and helpful front office esp one of them called Ashish

Negatives:
1. Extremely bad service
- food in restaurant finished before lunch time, and they refused us food without even giving us options (we were 9 people)
- housekeeping staff is uncooperative and rude
- Morning tea served was cold both the days. when we asked them to heat, they said we dont heat tea. got us tea in a flask second time (both the days second time) and charged us double for all the teas. i was so frustrated that i did not even bother to discuss during check-out.
2. Basic amenities like kettle in the room was not available. created issues in giving warm water for drinking.
3. no hot water in winters for a bath
4. rooms were damp - it seemed rooms were not aerated for a couple of weeks + a small blower did not serve much purpose, it was uncomfortably cold.
5. all the rooms had hollywood twins - when we said we are couples coming - created a hue and cry to join the beds.

Having said all that, since we were on a family vacation, we made most out of our trip. They also made a small bonfire area for us for a personal evening, and also let us keep one room for an additional three hours with no charge as a family member was not well.

All in all, if they get their service staff (esp housekeeping, and room service) in order, and add basic amenities, its not a bad place to stay.

Room Tip: 7 series rooms are a good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Well, you definitely get a feel of royalty when you enter this palace with big gates, lush green lawns, swimming pool, big rooms and bathrooms with bath tub. If you are travelling with family then there is lot of space to interact outside your room which is rare to find. You could sit in the lawns or by the pool side and enjoy the winter sun. The location is also quite convenient as it is just a few kms away from the bird sanctuary that you could conveniently come back for lunch even if you headed out at say 11 or so.However, for a hotel basics were missing which made it quite an uncomfortable experience. Such as no hot water for hours on a cold winter morning even after placing complaint with the reception a couple of times, poor service at the restaurant, no hot kettle etc available in the room unlike other good hotels. One more big disappointment was a big group of school children which checked in a day after us and partied at full music till late which is a horror for quite vacationers.
All in all, the property is nice but not worthy of the price you pay and especially inconvenient if you are travelling with old parents or honeymooning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udaipur, India
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel iduring the tour and found ideal Hotel for Bharatpur. Early morning visit of Bharatpur Kevladev
National Park was easy for us. The Food at Hotel is good and reasonable price . Coffee machine for cappuccino and variety of soup and dishes are value of Money.

Indoor games table tennis, swimming pool and garden at this place is nice. Evening with a puppet shows and camp fire for us was really enjoyable. The restaurant service is active and serving drinks at pool side was a real holidays for any of us

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have been to Bharatpur before and have stayed in various places there. This was our first at their perhaps the finest hotel. The size of the hotel is huge and gives a lot of space for families and large groups. It is located a little away from the National Park but that should not be an issue if you have your own mode of transport. The rooms have the basic luxury - but fall way short with important items like a tea/coffee maker! They need to make money on every cup of tea. The buffet spread is mid-size but tuned to the taste of non-indians...ONLY. It is great if a hotel aims to address the needs of Indian and Foreign guests alike but unfortunately this one does not. After staying here for two days we realised that this is more of a stop-over-for-meal-restaurant for the large groups of foreign tourists, en-route from Agra to Jaipur/Delhi. Hence the restaurant is always over loaded with non-resident guests. We did not have a good experience or feel with a place where we never felt welcomed!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Visiting Agra we wanted to get out of the city and drove to near town of Bharatpur. Our driver took us to this quiet resort. It was very clean, the rooms are large and facing out to a beautiful Garden.
There is a large pool for the hot days. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The place is well maintained .

Room Tip: All rooms are in a quiet garden setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

During our recent tour of Delhi-Agra-Bharatpur-Mathura, our best experience while staying in hotels was in Bharatpur. Hotel Udai Vilas Palace is situated about 2kms from the bird sanctuary right on the highway. The ambiance is very nice and helps you relax. The room was huge and comfortable. The private balcony overlooking the pool was great. The service was good though I would suggest the hotel to improve it a bit. To sum it up, our stay at the hotel was extremely satisfying.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Udai Vilas Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Udai Vilas Palace

Address: NH-11 Fatehpur Sikri Road, Bharatpur 321001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Bharatpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Bharatpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Udai Vilas Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Udai Vilas Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Udai Vilas Palace Bharatpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Udai Vilas Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.