We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for bird lovers!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keoladeo National Park

Keoladeo National Park
Rajasthan 302001, Bharatpur, India
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$176*
and up
2-Day Private Tour of Bharatpur from Jaipur: Deeg...
Ranked #1 of 7 Attractions in Bharatpur
Type: National Parks, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Birdwatching, Viewing wildlife, Biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bharatpur bird sanctuary is home to over 350 species of birds.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“perfect for bird lovers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

the entire park is very beautiful. There are lots of different birds from all over the world and also some animals you can see there in park. there is a sitting arrangement inside the park where we had our breakfast with so many birds and squirrels)))

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    164
    28
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Male
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A beautiful Bird Century not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Surveys in the early morning, the park is still quiet and silent. And As the sun rises, the birds chirping contentiously. The guide is an old hand, knew the bot fingers the names of birds and emplacement. their incredible view, unearthed in the trees, owls, owls and other birds that our eyes would never blink. The park is rich in many species, not just birds but also deer, as the "blue horse" whose park has many specimens.Those are not shy and it's magical to see them walk in the rickshaw. They led us to a place where nobody would: a watchtower overlooking the marshes and where blue horses.Au return the storks were awakened by a din dominated the hungry cries.Nous many impurities would be well for several days watching the pastoral scenes, but unfortunately we had grazed pleasure. The guides are qualified and we learn a lot about life of birds.The beautiful park that is slowly returning to life after being threatened drying. A visit with patience and glare.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Unexpected amount of wildlife”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The bird sanctuary is located in Bharatpur - around 2 1/2 hours from Jaipur. I went in the off season which meant there were very few tourists - it felt as though we had the park just for ourselves

No cars are allowed in the park so you either walk, hire your own bike or get driven around by a naturalist in a rickshaw - this is the option we chose and one I would recommend as the naturalist (at least Harish, the one we had) was very knowledgeable and a good spotter.

The park itself is average in size but full of wildlife. You do not have to travel very far before you come across your first amazingly coloured bird, or your first family of macaques. Riding on the rickshaw means you are able to get very close. The park was very green when I went - which was in the dry season so I imagine it must really come to life after the monsoon.

As there are no cars, the park is very quiet and serene and you quickly forget the outside world once you enter.

We took quite a few trips to the park - early morning - when the light is beautiful and then close to sunset. It got quite hot towards the end of the morning trips so best to bring a hat. We did also experience a mini (and quite refreshing) storm whilst there - our naturalist carried on cycling however and so the trip was not spoiled.

The scenery is a mix of lakes, rivers, meadows and forest and there are various routes you can take which takes you deeper into the park.We spent between 3 and 4 hours there each time - although the time went by very quickly.

I saw a huge array of wildlife - much more than I expected -although it obviously doesn't compare to some of the larger parks and safaris you can go on. Take some binoculars for the bird viewing. We saw deer, jackalls, peacocks, vultures, monkeys, a huge turtle and lots of exotic birds which I can not name. The trip raised my interest in bird watching and so I hope to be more knowledgeable when I go back.

This was my first time wildlife watching in India and it was a gentle, thoroughly worthwhile experience.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing scenery but got overcharged on rickshaw”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Very nice natural area with lots of birds and some wildlife. One tip though make sure top shop around rickshaws before choosing as we paid 3 times more than other guests.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Bharatpur Bird Sanctuary Dec'13”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Very disappointing. Very little water all around, and very few birds, hardly visibel without bionoculars.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keoladeo National Park also viewed

Bharatpur, Rajasthan
Bharatpur, Rajasthan
 

Been to Keoladeo National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keoladeo National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.