We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birder's Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keoladeo National Park

Keoladeo National Park
Rajasthan 302001, Bharatpur, India
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Keoladeo National Park like an insider
Private Tour
$176*
and up
2-Day Private Tour of Bharatpur from Jaipur: Deeg...
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Bharatpur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Birdwatching, Biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bharatpur bird sanctuary is home to over 350 species of birds.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Birder's Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Bharatpur is truly a Birder's Paradise. One can see the beauty of Eqypt, Tibet, Siberia, China and India at one place . Although I was new to Bird watching still I enjoyed a lot.
Day1
We reached Bharatpur around 3 p.m and did on the spot booking of Hotel Saras( RTDC hotel). After taking rest from journey reached Keoladev National Park around 5 p.m which is around 0.5 - 1 km from Park so we have less then 2 hrs to visit the park. (Park entry Timing is 6 a.m to 6. Pm)
We took a ricksaw (70 Rs/hour) can accommodate 2 people and 2 cycles (rs 40 each). Riksaw Puller had the very good information of the Park .
As we entered inside the Park whistling of Birds all around make the beginning so pleasing, we meet Forest Babbler , Parrot . Owl , Peacock etc mainly the Local Birds upto 2-3 km inside the park. As the ricksaw puller told us that there are big pythons and stork, crane colony in the wetland of the park but Since it was getting dark so we moved back and decided to come back early in the next morning.
Day2
We started around 6:30 am and took the same means of transport. This time we moved fast directly to the wetland. We were really happy to see the big colonies of Painted Stork next to them living happily the family of ibis . Unfornately we were not able to find python but we see big lizards , spoonbills , neelgai, eagles ,water hen , cranes , kingfishers , nightingales Lotus etc. There is a temple of Lord Shiva inside the park. Machans were there to facilitate Bird Watching. We returned around 10:30 a.m. We also missed boating inside the wetland as it started after 15th of oct..
Later we decided to visit Bhartapur Fort but the premises are all occupied by locals and museum was also closed on Monday so could not make it.
Do’s
1. Take ricksaw if you are new in bird watching as they have fairly good information about the birds.
2. Visit Morning as well as in evening you will see different types of Birds.
3. Take good optical zoom camera for better photography.
4. Take water bottle as well as some refreshment especially when you are going with kids.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    212
    41
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
India
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Discover the Birder in You!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Keoladeo National Park

Also called as Bharatpur bird sanctuary, the Keoladeo National Park is a premium birding destination in India. Located in Bharatpur, Rajasthan the park can be accessed easily from Delhi. It is near other tourist hotspot like Agra and Fatepur Sikhri.

The park gets its name from a shiva temple inside the park. The park has a lovely interpretation centre for birds found in the subcontinent and is named after Salim Ali the father of Birding in India.

Birding is most enjoyable during twilight hours of Dawn And Dusk when the birds are hyperactive. Also winter is a good season for sighting migratory birds like Sarus Crane etc.

I did multiple trips to the park. You can rent cycle rickshaws as the park is s pollution free zone. You can rent bicycle as well. If you are a first timer to birding go for the cycle rickshaws as the rickshaws pullers have been trained by Bombay natural history society and are excellent in spotting and identifying birds.

You can spot a number of birds including painted storks, grey herons, purple herons, greater egrets, steppe eagle, Eurasian vulture, black ibis, jacanas, parakeets, owlets etc.

This is a beautiful park and an unique experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“amazing bird sanctuary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is simply a brilliant sanctuary and is a must do if you are in this part of India.You can combine it with the Taj Mahal(55 km away),Fatehpur Sikri(33 km away) and the palaces of Deeg.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Top Contributor
545 reviews 545 reviews
416 attraction reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
657 helpful votes 657 helpful votes
“Birds Come to this world heritage sight from all over the World”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Bharatpur Bird Sanctuary (Keoladeo Ghana National Park) is very near to Bharatpur town, about 180 Kms from Jaipur Airport, Rajasthan, India. It has a big water reservoir formed by water from river Gambhir and river Banganga. In earlier days it was used for duck shooting by the Maharaja of Bharatpur. In 1964, hunting was banned and this park became a perfect habitat for an astounding variety of birds.

In 1982 it was declared as National Park. In 1985 UNESCO listed it as a World Heritage site. Today the Park is recognised as the most important breeding and feed grounds for the birds in the world. Some species are endangered and you are not allowed make noise in the park.

The park in open from morning till evening. Admission fee is Rs 200 for foreigners and Rs 25 for Indians. Vehicles are permitted up to about 2 kilometres inside. Then one can choose to walk, or go by cycle rickshaw. There is a canteen at the Forest Lodge where one can find light food, tea, and clod drinks. Best time to visit is in winters.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morzine, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We went here early season but there were still many species of birds to see. I would recommend taking a guide.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keoladeo National Park also viewed

Bharatpur, Rajasthan
Bharatpur, Rajasthan
 

Been to Keoladeo National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keoladeo National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.