We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kesar da Dhaba

Kesar da Dhaba
Chowk Passian, Amritsar 143001, India
+91-183-2552103
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 120 Restaurants in Amritsar
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best food in city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Had Lunch over there with family.food was very tasty.we ordered dal fry(which is kesar's famous one)kadai paneer,mutur pulao and tandoori roties.dal fry was delicious as I have not had ever.in desert,had firni which is one of the famous in amritsar and was yummy.

Food was rich with ghee(oil).which is not good for those are on diet.

Resturant was quite simple as normal dhabhas.service was very
good.

Everybody who is visiting amritsar, must visit for having good food in city.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    114
    54
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bombay
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Simplicity at it's best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

If you are new to amritsar you will never find this place as it's in a quaint and really tiny narrow lane and a car can't go inside.whilst we made our way Inside the lane we wondered had we made the right decision to try this ever famous place. We went into the ac area n the staff are very friendly and what I liked is they tell you what's tasty but never force you to order extra.people were ordering thalis but we ordered their ever famous lassi which was truely divine n a meal by itself n also aloo kulcha m plain kulcha n dal fry which had 3 inches of tadka n they gave us onions n raw mango with spices...paneer also was yummy...service was very quick.. We would love to go back...please do remember it's a local place just to eat And leave and not a fancy place.. Very reasonable prices

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Sublime lassis, dont go if you are on a diet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This is a must visit place for a foodie. Lassis here are a must. Believe me, you will go back for another. In their huge glasses, these people whip up a divine concoction.
Food is super oily. Portions are small & prices are definitely not cheap. However given that food is oily, its difficult to hog down a lot. We liked the Baingan bharta & Lacha prantha.
Go there for the lassi.. At Rs35/glass its one of the cheapest pleasures in Amritsar.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The Best Punjabi Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This dhaba right in the heart of the city serves the best punjabi food one can ever had. Try anything it will be good but do try daal makhani, and lassi.

But reaching the place is a big hassle, and never try to go there by car, park car somewhere out and take a walk.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tasty Vegetarian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

You get authentic Punjabi Food in Kesar Da Dhaba. As an avid foodolic the food here is very delicious and great. Kesar da Lassi Jawabh Nahin. The barta was very tasty with right amount of spices and proper cooking. The Naan was very soft and tasty. Being a person who stayed in Kolkata for a long time. The food in Kesar da dhaba took us to old memories of authentic Punjabi food of Kolkata may be 25 years back. In the whole one should not miss this joint while in Amritsar.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kesar da Dhaba also viewed

 

Been to Kesar da Dhaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kesar da Dhaba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.