We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kesar Rocks!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kesar da Dhaba

Kesar da Dhaba
Chowk Passian, Amritsar 143001, India
+91-183-2552103
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 120 Restaurants in Amritsar
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
New Delhi
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Kesar Rocks!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

If you are in Amritsar, this is the second most important place to visit after the golden temple..
you got to have the amazing ghee laced punjabi food at kesar...ive had like 100s of visits in the last many years...btw this place is 98 years old...and will give you a proper dhaba feel.
the paranthas, the dal, the bharta, paneer, chane are just amazing.
Lassi is good! better at other places.
PHIRNI>>> the great dessert...have atleast 3 servings everytime i go!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    114
    54
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kozhikode, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Holy smokes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I heard a lot about this place so it was on my must do list. I preferred to walk down to the place asking for directions and did not depend on a cycle rickshaw as he would have taken me on a spin. The hotel is typically hole in the wall type.
I ordered the Lassi, Kulchha, Palak Paneer and Baingan Bhartha. The portions are small but with a generous helping of Ghee. The three of us could not finish the order.
My advise is to order minimally if you are in a group and then go for refills.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana, India
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“an old affiar”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

the place is located in the narrow lanes of city amritsar about 15 minute walk from darbar sahib the all vegetable they serve are flotted with pure ghee so the taste is good but what i want to say is that they only earn money for own self why don't they spent for there customers facility very old building old chair and table with foul smell all around from streets and dhaba they don't even have a good hand washing area or wash room only they are famous so they collect money for there pocket with both hands.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amritsar, India
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Tourist attraction basically”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

This is more of a tourist attraction as most tourists have kesar dhaba in their things to do in amritsar list.

Food is ok as evrything has extra ghee, butter. U will have to find ur own seat.

Shabby location, u wont be able to use their washrooms after hving a look at them.

Overall pretty much hyped as u can visit kundan dhaba near canal office/ railway station for better taste and better experience

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“punjabi food ka king”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I was at Kesar da dhaba, last week.

Now I am from New Delhi, so I am not alien to food rich in "pure ghee". But Kesar da dhabba does live up to the reputation.

The food was tasty, a little spicy and cooked in lot of ghee. Yet the cost of food is definitely minimal. The ambiance is rustic, so if you are one of those sophisticated people this place is not for you. You get a taste of Punjab in every bite.

We went in the evening, and menu was not very elaborate. There were about 5-10 curries to choose from, which was more than enough for me as I am not very choosy. I loved the Sarson ka saag, palak paneer, and daal.

Unfortunately they didn't have makki ki roti available when I was there, something that everyone who comes to Punjab for the first time must try.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kesar da Dhaba also viewed

 

Been to Kesar da Dhaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kesar da Dhaba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.