We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel however good Food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of MK Hotel Amristar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added MK Hotel Amristar to your Saves list
MK Hotel Amristar
District Shopping Centre Ranjit Avenue, Amritsar 143001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 72 Hotels in Amritsar
Lahore, Pakistan
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Average Hotel however good Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night only in non-smoking area. Old but good well built building and situated at very good place near to main city and shopping areas. Hotel is well maintained and Staff is cooperative. Food quality and taste is also good. Also enjoyed to see a wedding dinner in the hotel which was a good experience to watch the Indian Culture.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    63
    31
    11
    4
See reviews for
34
25
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

MK hotel was the best hotel in amritsar once upon a time but not now though. The room rentals are steep considering the plethora of options you have in Amritsar now. There is always some sort of humid smell emanating out of the corridors and the rooms. For this price, I would suggest people to look for an alternate property in Amritsar. The food though is quite good and typically amritsari. You may prefer to stay here if you want authentic Amritsari food delivered in your room and you not being interested in exploring options elsewhere.

Room Tip: Try having rooms by the poolside. It is a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I stayed in Room 1009 at the MK Hotel in Amritsar. Initially I was given a different room that smelled terribly of smoke. I complained and was given Room 1009, which was a non-smoking room. The room was very large with a comfortable king-sized bed, a loveseat, flat screen TV and mini-frig. The air-conditioned worked very well, which was important since it was 115F degrees outside. The bath was standard size with a tub/shower combination with good water pressure. The room faced the street, but noise was not a problem on the 10th floor. The room had good light-blocking drapes, so I slept well. Supposedly there was wi-fi throughout the hotel, but it didn't work at all in my room. But if I stepped into the hallways and common areas, it worked fine. The food was OK, but nothing special. Unfortunately, the hotel isn't easy walking distance to the Golden Temple or anywhere else where one would want to visit, but it is a relatively short, inexpensive cab ride.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night and it was good experience. Hotel is old building but very well maintained. everything is good perfect in this hotel .there are also eating places near this place ...like pizzas . Chinese etc. I like to stay here again. ....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I visited Amritsar along with my family on 26/06/2013. I Check in at MK Hotel on 26th june for 2 nights. I take 4 rooms for 8 adults. Rooms was very nice beautiful & spacious. Hotel entrance was very nice & clean. Staff was very coutious & polite. Welcome drinks were served. Every room had complimentory fruit basket & cookies. Complimentery fruit platter is also available. GREEN HOUSE restuarant in ground floor where you can take lunch & dinner. Room service was good you can ordered special veg & non veg thali which is specially made for room service. taste of food was awsome. Non veg dishes is their speciality. Buffet Breakfast was included in room charges & very nice. Great varieties in breakfast from famous CHOLE BHATURAS to upma uttapam, dal halwa, pastries, aloo pranthas & of course LASSI. Swimming pool was nice & clean. Gym was fully equipped. BAR named DYNASTY was awsome and every brand of scotch whiskeys & beer. Rooms also have fully loaded mini bar. Railways Transfer was complimentery.. ALL that Great Memories was at very Reasonable rates .... THANKS..

Room Tip: Front side rooms are large & sunny..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DELHI
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This was my second stay in this Hotel out of four visits that I made to Amritsar. My last visit was hectic so do not remember much of that visit. Hotel is probably the oldest in its category; but the charm is still there. The staff at the reception and the darban are really good, and room service is also fine; but only issue was that when I arrived to check-in at the hotel it was smelling funny; on house keeping staff was moving around with a deodorant. However by evening it was ok. Rooms (I was with one of my colleague) were clean but flushing system in the toilet is of a very old design and need some effort to make it work. It is hard to get the moisturiser and liquids out of the small bottles of complimentary toiletries. Toilets have two types of shower one hand held and other is fixed one but the spray of fixed shower is not well spread out.
Rooms are well furnished but the chairs are uncomfortable. There is hardly any view from the widows and I guess all rooms are more or less the same. I remember that during my last visit there was same stale smell coming from the carpets in the corridors but this time it was ok,
The lift is a real confusion- hotel has rooms upto 3rd floor but out of the two adjacent lifts only one lift serves the 3rd floor but most on the time it was the lift serving upto 2nd floor only opens, so you have to wait for the lift on the left to go up to be able to get the other lift, in case you do not want to make efforts to change the lift at 2nd floor of take stairway, This being an old hotel lot of wood has been used and gives kind of soothing look once you come out of your room door which overlooks a central lobby which is decorated tastefully with flowers.
The water fountain at the lobby is good but there is lot of white chlorine scaling on the walls.
Hotel is just 15 minutes drive from Airport and Golden Temple and free pick-up/ drop is provided by the hotel.
Overall a good experience.

Room Tip: Request for free pick-up and drop in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gurgaon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We checked in the super deluxe room. The rates given to us were very low. We paid 2078 rs. for the room inclusive of taxes. The room was bigger than the average size you fine in any other 3 star property. From the window you can see Holiday Inn property but no roads are visible.

The washroom was OK with all basic amenities given. The shower pressure was too high which can give a relaxed bath to travellers.

THe dissapointing part was the food. We went in their restaurant at midnight as they are normally open till 1 am. We ordered Dal, Amritsari Chole and Roti. They took good 35 minutes to bring our order. I think they forgot to put salt in Amritsari Chole and the Dal was also very basic. The food price is very high as compared to quality.

Buffet breakfast was OK. Overall good stay but on food front we will not take second chance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MK Hotel Amristar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MK Hotel Amristar

Address: District Shopping Centre Ranjit Avenue, Amritsar 143001, India
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 72 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the Amritsar’s most iconic hotels, MK Hotel is simply the place to be in AmritsarWhether you are staying in one of the exquisite rooms and suites, enjoying Amritsari cuisine, indulging in an afternoon tea or unwinding at the bar, you will experience the essence of timeless glamour.M.K. Hotel is ideally located in the historic city of Amritsar, 7 kms from Airport, 3 kms from Railway Station and 4 kms from Downtown Area. Amritsar has many claims to its fame. Being the holy city of Sikhs, it is intimately linked with the colourful history of this martial race, its agriculture produce, woollens, spices and dry fruits. It is the showpiece of prosperity and wealth.M.K. Hotel, a Jewel in he Crown of Amritsar, is the favourite choice of many corporates, celebrities, and world leaders. Spacious and elegant, each room features antique furniture, exceedingly comfortable beds and exceptional combination of style and function. The facilities include a multi-cuisine restaurant to satisfy your taste bud, a well-stocked Bar, round-the-clock coffee shop, six banquet and conference halls perfect for every occasion, a swimming pool, shopping arcade, a fitness center and business center, each aesthetically designed to match the ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelTravel.com so you can book your MK Hotel Amristar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mk Hotel Amritsar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MK Hotel Amristar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.