We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divinity all around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Temple - Harmandir Sahib

Golden Temple - Harmandir Sahib
Golden Temple Road, Amritsar 143006, India
+91 183 255 3957
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$581*
and up
Private Tour: 4-Day Amritsar and the Golden...
Ranked #1 of 38 Attractions in Amritsar
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
delhi
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Divinity all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The most calming & serene experience ever. Thousands of people inside the complex and all you hear is the hymns. You can feel a divine presence inside the premises. Spotlessly clean.

There is a community kitchen called " Guru ka langar" where tens of thousands of people (any one, from any religion) are fed free of cost. It has to be seen to be believed.

The best time to visit is early morning, or evening, in summers.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,044 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,831
    193
    19
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Once you enter the golden temple, it just gives immense calmness and peace. It was great to see the serenity of the place. We spent couple of hours and it was worth spending. We were staying very close and visited twice in two days. A great experience. Must visit place.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Divine experiencce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Every time I have visited, I have felt blessed! very holy and peaceful place, central place of worship for sikhs, the temple is most visited hence can be very busy all the time, but a divine experience, one must visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darjeeling, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I've been in amritsar for just one day.I have to say that I had a very pleasent experience.golden temple is the place we must be in if we are near by like delhi ,harayana.peaceful enviroment and holiness of this temple is the main attraction and langar was superb.I Must say plz visit and enjoy the holiness and pleasent of Golden temple .

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“truely golden experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Golden Temple is so splendid experience , if in Amritsar one must go there..the shops outside the temple are nice ,,,

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Temple - Harmandir Sahib also viewed

 
Amritsar, Punjab
 

Been to Golden Temple - Harmandir Sahib? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Temple - Harmandir Sahib, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.