We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarhad

Sarhad
Nh-1 Attari Wagah Border | Attari, Amritsar 143108, India
+91 98 15 555931
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 121 Restaurants in Amritsar
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani, Bar, Imperial Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Sarhad, at the Attari-Wagah, Indo-Pak border in Amritsar is a celebration of the common architectural, cultural and culinary heritage of pre-partition Punjab in general and Amritsar-Lahore in particular. Indian Food, Authentic food from Pakistan and other international cuisine all available at Sarhad.Beautiful display of Truck Art. Must visit during your Amritsar trip Overall great food. Now you can try some shopping too (specially imported products from Pakistan)
Mumbai
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food, great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

A good place to eat before you reach wagah..we tried the amritsari thali and the lahori thali, both of which had good fresh food. Considering that it is almost in the middle of nowhere,it is the best eating option just before the Wagah..an experience worth taking.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    30
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

I have travelled to many exotic places and have tried cuisines from around the globe. Being a native of India, when I was told that this was a restaurant close to the border and served good food, I did not take the bragging from my friend too much to heart......like it usually happens......

Well, I was completely taken by surprise ! A very satisfying and super duper surprise......the food was fantastic and the service came from the heart !

The next time I visit Amritsar, I am going back with friends.......unforgettable experience.......

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“An attempt at blurring the border”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I would call this place a reasonable attempt at bringing together palates from both countries. This being the last eatery before the Indo-Pak border at Attari/Wagah, it makes for a good lunch stopover before heading to witness the border closing ceremony.

Food is tasty but the service needs to be upped many notches. Staff is sluggish and needs to be coaxed to communicate.

There is good ambient music from both lands that sets the mood while one is here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane, Maharashtra, India
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Closest to Wagah Border”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Decent food and place to relax before the border. Food quality was average .

Prices were more than city joints but location helps to pull the crowd

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excelent service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We saw the reviews on the Trip Advisor and when we were coming back from the Waga border we stopped for lunch. The place is very nice, the service is good and the food is great. The bathroom are unbelievable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarhad also viewed

 

Been to Sarhad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarhad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.