We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner after the Wagah Border Ceremony” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sarhad

Sarhad
Nh-1 Attari Wagah Border | Attari, Amritsar 143108, India
+91 98 15 555931
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 132 Restaurants in Amritsar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Indian, Bar, Imperial Chinese, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Sarhad, at the Attari-Wagah, Indo-Pak border in Amritsar is a celebration of the common architectural, cultural and culinary heritage of pre-partition Punjab in general and Amritsar-Lahore in particular. Indian Food, Authentic food from Pakistan and other international cuisine all available at Sarhad.Beautiful display of Truck Art. Must visit during your Amritsar trip Overall great food. Now you can try some shopping too (specially imported products from Pakistan)
Mumbai
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Dinner after the Wagah Border Ceremony”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Likeable but not absolutely great. If however you are a denizen of Amritsar and want a large party a nice place to have it amongst the greenery and the fields.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    41
    18
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, Chandigarh, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Must-visit for a true taste of Punjab!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Me and my friends from abroad stopped over at Sarhad on our way to view the ceremony at the Waga Border. We read about the restaurant online but were taken aback when we reached the site. The large brick property is beautiful, in a rural Punjabi setting with sprawling green fields surrounding it. We loved the rooftop terrace and the funky Sarhad vans, which we found out were painted by a Pakistani truck artist (a traditional art form there), adding to the culture of the place. The food was delicious - traditional heavy Lahori cuisine. Must-tries include the garlic naan and gravy, the biryani and yellow dal. Extremely pleased, we even stopped by for another meal on our way out of Amritsar!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMRITSAR
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Jatin Mehra.......Delicious Yummy Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Food is excellent.....U will not get Non Veg better than this in whole North......Ambience is cool...will give u different feeling when u see...beautiful creation

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohali, India
1 review
“best lahori food ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

on my way back from the border i happened to visit this place for lunch.Had already heard great reviews about this place and my expectations were high.But the place and food were way beyond my expectations. The lahori thaali was one of its kind. i dont think i ve ever had such authentic taste of lahori food ever in punjab. Other things we ordered were also great. Service was a little slow but all worth it for such delicious food. The ambiance was great and the children enjoyed too, the truck art displayed was very unique and attractive. There is a little bit for everyone at sarhad !

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Place-Good food but overpriced.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had Lahori cuisine for the first time and really liked some of the dishes.
The Lahori Biriyani was one to be remembered along with their typical Dal.

Be ready to loose few substantial cash from your wallet if you wish to visit Sarhad.
Take sufficient cash as they don't accept cards.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarhad also viewed

 

Been to Sarhad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarhad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.