We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace of Mind and Peace of Mind,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amritsar Heritage Walk

Amritsar Heritage Walk
Town Hall, Amritsar 143001, India
9988503458
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 38 Attractions in Amritsar
Type: Walking tours, Cultural
Attraction details
Pune
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Peace of Mind and Peace of Mind,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I have visited several times. But this i went little early. the Shabads were pouring my ears like sweet sugar... What a peace to heart !! So clean place. NExt time i have decided to go ealry morning 3:00 during Granth saheb prakash.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    16
    6
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Must do it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This starts from Town Hall. It is held everyday in the evening. However ensure you get in touch with the guide beforehand. Sometimes it gets cancelled last minute. We were guided by Devinder Singh. We got his number from tripadvisor.com Very nice and knowledgeable person.
Walk is in by-lanes of Amritsar which is not very clean. However places we saw were gem and not possible to locate without help of qualified guide. Cost is Rs 25.00 per person. You may tip if you enjoy the tour.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amritsar heritage drive.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Contact Navjot +919646098999 and you will find an enthusiastic,friendly n knowledgeable guide. Walking in narrow lanes didnt seem pleasurable so Navjyot took us to all sites in his indigo. His history and feel of Amritsar and around is unbeatable.
We did the usual and some gurudwaras outside the city too. Driving thru rolling fields of Punjab is an experience not to be missed.
He made wagah border an easy option for us too. We had left disappointed the day before from wagah unable to see anything.
All in all I would recommend calling Navjyot if you want to see Amritsar like a local.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A Must Do Walk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We knew about his heritage walk only from Trip Advisor by coincidence. Me & my boyfriend were visiting Amritsar for 2 days and 3 night and we wanted to make the best out of it. As interested in history as anything else, we gave it a chance and called for the walk. We met at 10am and was done by 1pm. We have visited places that you won't ever notice without going through this walk. Actually the guide was so knowledgeable and he gave us all the information that we need when it came to history, places, religion, etc. He even arranged a visit to the Golden Temple Library, which was an amazinggg experience!! Going through all of their books, records and meeting with the researchers who work on such books. They have answered all of our questions and was so welcoming for having us, also the view of the Golden Temple from the library is unbelievable. You will just stop and stare and don't want to leave ever.
A book of the details about the places which you visit during the heritage walk is also available, just ask the guide for it will booking your walk.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great heritage with excellent Guide”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Im history student at university in chandigar .i had heard about Amritsar heritsge walk i searched it on google and also read some reviews on TA i contacted Gurinder who conducts walk every day.himself he used to history student and has very good command on english.Gurinder shown me some interesting places and discussed the background stories of those building.to go for heritage walk with Gurinder was educational for me. Although streets were very dirty,stray dogs everywhere,Gurinder had already made aware about that.overall it was good.Gurinder is highly recommended as a guide to know Amritsar.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amritsar Heritage Walk also viewed

 
Amritsar, Punjab
 

Been to Amritsar Heritage Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amritsar Heritage Walk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.