We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for Family” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Darbar View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Darbar View to your Saves list
Hotel Darbar View
Bazar Mai Sewan, near golden temple, Amritsar 143001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 70 Hotels in Amritsar
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not for Family”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Room was clean but very small. Positive is nearer to golden temple. For a family, it would be difficult with small room and no restaurant nearby. Difficult to reach on a vehicle. Staff is co-operative and try to do their best.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    19
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
18
19
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goa, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Hotel Darbar View is a great place to stay in central Amritsar, particularly if like most people you want to go & visit the Golden Temple. It is a very very short walk to the GT & because of this you can photograph the GT with different light at different times of the day.

The hotel itself is modern & stands out amongst the many hotels in the vicinity for its cleanliness & fair price. The beds are comfortable, everything works & the bathrooms are clean & fresh. The owner/operator Gaurav is a pleasant & helpful guy always willing to assist or provide local advice. There is wifi available in the reception area which has a collection of lounges where you can sit & connect with people or the internet.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms on the same level as reception get a wifi signal inside the room. Ask for Gaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The hotel is located just 200 meters away from the Golden Temple, and this is the best part of this hotel. The hotel room was clean, bed was comfortable. Since it was a budget hotel, I did not expect much; it met my expectations. Though my room (despite being a delux-double bed) was small, it did not trouble me much as I had to stay just there for a night. The hotel didn't have its restaurant, they got food for us from an outside vendor. The quality was bad, and items were quite costly. Overall, it is a good hotel, if you wish to stay near temple and spend only nights in the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel is situated just near the Golden Temple. The staff is very friendly and helpful, they answered all our questions and helped with the taxi to the airport. Rooms are clean, it has hot water. The price is also good. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The hotel is situated just 5 minutes walk from the Golden Temple, so the location is very convenient. Room was clean and comfortable and staff helpful.
The only downside was the antiseptic smell that somehow penetrated all my clothes even after I have left.
But overall I would recommend this hotel as a good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Great hotel with friendly and pleasant staff. Aprreciate good speaking english/helpful staff as we were guests from thailand. Convenient and comfortable to visit golden temple by walking 1 minute. Very nice arrangement for pick up/drop off at the railway station/airport. Travel in desk are also very polite and nice to arrange us one day city package price r very reasonable. Room were very clean and free wifi enable w reasonable price. We will always recommend and suggest this hotel to our relatives and friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaurav B, Co Founder & Chief operating officer at Hotel Darbar View, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Darbar View Amritsar!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and your kind words have been shared with our team.
We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to the Holy city.

Best regards,
Gaurav Bagai
Co Founder & Chief operating officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Hi! I am writing this review quite late but better late than never. I have visited this property twice in 2012, the first being in March and the Second in August. Both the times I was quite happy with the property. Frankly speaking most of the time was spent outside visiting The Golden Temple which is not even 50mtrs from here and in the evening when I used to be back for sleep this place was peaceful and was my top priority. The rooms even though small were very practical and clean and so was the bathroom. The Hotel didn't have any of its own restaurant but the staff did a wonderful job in getting hot food from nearby. Surprising was that the Hotel was also wi-fi enabled and at the tariff I had booked it for that was a steal. The only thing annoying was the power cuts in Amritsar which made running of the Air Conditioner somewhat irregular as they have a battery back up which runs the light and fans in your room but not the AC ( but this happens mostly in the daytime and not at nights) and secondly the power sockets provided in the room were difficult to use for any two pin plugs of my cell phone chargers. The second problem was informed to the Owner Mr.Gaurav which he took a note of and assured to get it rectified within that week.
In short a

Room Tip: It doesn't matter if you take a room with a view or without as the view is of the market lane.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Darbar View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Darbar View

Address: Bazar Mai Sewan, near golden temple, Amritsar 143001, India
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 70 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer all the facilities and services one can not expect in such a low price, our rooms are well equipped with LCD, Air conditioning, Mini bar, safe locker, 24 hours hot/cold water etc.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Darbar View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Darbar View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.