We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY to your Saves list
HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY
Chowk Baba Sahib, Amritsar 143001, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 89 Amritsar B&B and Inns
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

The selling point for this hotel is its location within a three minute walk to the Golden Temple. We stayed in a superior room and it was quite simple with the basic necessities but really cold in late December. Ask for more blankets and bring warm pajamas. The food was delicious - try the gobi paratha for breakfast. Friendly staff that politely responded to requests and questions. Our driver was unable to take us directly to the hotel due to traffic restrictions on the street. We had to haul our luggage by rickshaw from a parking garage a half mile away at night - rough start to our stay at the Hotel Akaal Residency.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    83
    28
    6
    1
See reviews for
77
56
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Location; Owners; Staff;Food; - All excellent. Stayed there from 3-5 nov 2012. It is walking distance from the Golden Temple. On my request they also sent cab to pick us up form amritsar railway station. Enjoyed my trip to amritsar.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I used this word Best for hotel Akaal , becz i feel Best is a word suitable for Best Hotel; Best Location; Owners; Staff; emanates ; culture;Food;Support..etc..etc. I stayed in this hotel on 5-6-7 th dec and believe me i could not get a better option than this. Though i booked this hotel well before time but i had ample of time comparing this hotel just for my knowledge. I was on business meeting so i opted some place near to my work place. Extremely Nice down to earth owners Mr Sethi's (son and father) and very charming decent and polite Mrs Aman sethi full of knowledge , smiling face and great support. Clean rooms; great food, wi-fi, complimentary welcome drink and basket i relished it. Overall i must say if u want to be at home away from your home it is the best place. I wish to visit again and again .....Golden Temple is stone throw distance from this hotel, one can hear holy shabad's all day in this hotel...I would say This Place Have Respect

Room Tip: Just Go For It u wont regret
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The biggest plus is that this hotel is truly walking distance from the Golden Temple. Jallianwala Bagh is another short walk away. The market is also nearby. This hotel is impossible to find if you are driving there, so please call them so that they send somebody to the main road to guide you. The rooms are clean and cozy, with complimentary snacks, and a hot water geyser. One problem we faced was that both nights, other guests across the hall talked rather loudly until about midnight. The service provided was good, from the front desk to the room attendants. Parking is provided right in the front. We ate all meals outside the hotel. The next time I go to Amritsar, I am definitely going to stay at this place.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are a good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is the second time we visited Amritsar this year. This time we visited as a family and what we liked about this hotel last time as a couple, this time it was even better as a family.

The best part about the hotel is the cleanliness and hygiene that these guys maintain at their hotel. My sister is very very specific about the cleanliness and hygiene and she approved of our last visit views this time.
Ever helpful and smiling staff and owners of the hotel make the environment so easy to enjoy that it worked out as a perfect small weekend holiday for our family and we all agreed to the point that this hotel played a big role in making our weekend holiday perfect.

Last time when we stayed at the hotel, we really liked the hotel and this time when we decided to visit, we just called them and booked the hotel without even a second thought. This time it was easier to book, being our second visit and already a one time customer, they booked our hotel without any initial deposit and said we could just pay at the time of checkout. This came out as a very pleasant surprise even before starting our holiday.

As said during the last review, the best part about the hotel among the other wrote above is the reach-ability to the best place in the world, The Golden Temple. The located is literally located right next to the Golden Temple and staying at this place, we could just hop in to Golden Temple any number of times we wished during the day. We visited Golden Temple early morning to see early morning rituals, then during the afternoon for the 12 o' clock ardas, then again in the evening and then if it wasn't enough, we even visited during the late night for the ceremony that happens every night.

Awesome trip to say the least and the hotel played a big part in making it awesome with it amazing cleanliness, hygiene, helpfulness and location right next to the Golden Temple. Last time we rated this hotel very good, this time it just got better.

Room Tip: Super Delux Package offers an all in one package, that includes breakfast, railway station pick up a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The biggest highlight is that this hotel is 3 minutes walk from Golden Temple. During early morning I could listen to prayer in my room! Rooms are very comfortable, no noise. This hotel is good for room stay and location only. For food you need to look outside.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shields, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and have no complaints about the hotel or the staff. The owners and all other staff that we encountered were very helpful to make our stay to our satisfaction. The room was clean with complimentary tea, coffee, water each day and a selection of snacks available upon our arrival.

The hotel only used purified water in the kitchen so this gave us confidence in dining here on two of the nights and were very impressed when the waiting staff brought our food wearing disposable plastic gloves and a head cover which shows attention to food hygeine.

The room was quiet with no noise from the front street and is only 50m from one entrance to the Golden Temple as quoted on the hotel's website.

I would recommend this hotel for a friendly stay and consider it to be good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY

Address: Chowk Baba Sahib, Amritsar 143001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Decent Hotel near Golden Temple with 3 star facilities.Your Home away from home in the feet of Shri Guru Ramdass ji. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.