We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but too burning hot in the month of May” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wagah Border

Wagah Border
Attari-Wagah Border | Attari, Amritsar 143001, India
9914404090
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Activities in Amritsar
Type: Performances
Attraction details
Mumbai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good, but too burning hot in the month of May”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Could hv seen better on youtube for the scorching heat.

But its surely an experience to watch this.

Better seen during winters

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    671
    325
    166
    70
    60
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indore, India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A MUST SEE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

If you have been to Amritsar and did not went for the Border than you have certainly missed Amritsar. This is a spectacular show which will fill you with patriotism. The 2 hours spent there were the best in my life.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanpur, India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“During retreat !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The event was short and sweet compared to the Wagah Border. A treat to watch our BSF Jawans' in form and josh.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanpur, India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“At retreat each day !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The show & parade put up by our BSF jawans is exciting to watch. It's however difficult to get a front seat to closely view the event. It's interesting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
“Hilarious pageantry and theatre!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The only road-crossing along the 1,800 mile (2,900 km) border between India and Pakistan is the Attari Border Post at a place called Wagah. It's a border with a reputation like no other and we simply had to see it for ourselves. We needed to be there well before sunset, when the national flags on each side of the border would be ceremoniously lowered and the gates closed in what we knew to be an unusual fashion.

The taxi took us as near as it could to the crowds now making their way towards the security checkpoints, one for men, another for women. We'd been warned not to take bags, bottled water, mobile phones or even cases for our cameras, although the security frisking turned out to be quite perfunctory and friendly.

There's a special entrance for VIPs and foreigners - alas, we were the latter. VIPs showed their paper passes to BSF (Border Security Force) officers - who were grossly overdressed in neatly-pressed uniforms, spats and ridiculous cockscomb hats - and were given star treatment with seating right next to all the action. We jolly foreigners showed our passports and were ushered into another area with tiered concrete steps a little further away, but with a far better view of the event than most of the thousands of Indians now streaming onto the neighbouring terraces.

What followed was a show to rival patriotism at the FA Cup Final, although lasting only a little longer than the 45-minute first-half. A cheerleader in a white track-suit provided the warm-up act, making announcements and whipping up the audience to make more noise. Groups of women and children ran up and down in front of the crowd carrying the national flag. Popular tunes, including Hindi film themes like the 'Slumdog Millionaire' hit 'Jai Ho!' were played at ear-splitting volume for everyone to sing along to. Women danced their socks off in front of the cheering crowd, smiling brightly and energetically waving their hands in the air. Chants of 'Hindustan Zindabad!' (Long Live India!) were echoed with 'Pakistan Zindabad' (and the occasional 'Allah ho Akbar') from behind the the green and white crescent-moon flag on the Pakistani side.

The Indian BSF officers pranced around at quick-march pace, adding high kicks that dancers at the Moulin Rouge would be proud of and which rivalled those performed by John Cleese in the Monty Python 'Ministry of Silly Walks' sketch. Women officers participated in the performance too - but only on the Indian side, of course. The tall, all-male Sutlej Rangers on the Pakistani side of the border, clad in sombre black outfits with matching daft hats, tried their hardest to emulate their Indian counterparts. Unfortunately, they lacked encouragement from a much quieter Pakistani crowd, whose numbers were a mere shadow of those on our side of the frontier.

Commands and bugle calls were long and monotonous. Crotch-splitting kicks from the BSF performers got higher and higher. The Indian crowds cheered and shouted 'Hindustan' at every opportunity. Finally, with pompous, exaggerated gestures, the national flags were lowered in unison. Guards on each side then gave the briefest of handshakes, before slamming the gates shut in each other's face!

Quite what all this had to do with border security I'm not sure, but it was an hilarious piece of pageantry and theatre that we wouldn't have missed for all the tea in Darjeeling!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wagah Border also viewed

 
Amritsar, Punjab
 

Been to Wagah Border? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wagah Border, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.