We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAFF AND FOOD GOOD BUT LOCATION BAD” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Teg Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Teg Royal to your Saves list
Hotel Teg Royal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tarn Taran Road | Nr. gurudwara Shaheedan Sahib, Amritsar 143001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 70 Hotels in Amritsar
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    41
    21
    12
    8
See reviews for
55
15
10
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I picked this hotel based on the reviews I read here and to be very fair I found this Hotel to be value for money.
Not going into detailed explanation of Hotel Teg Royal Amritsar, I will simply narrate the Pros and Cons.

Pros:
1. Definite value for money, IF you opt for the Deluxe rooms.
2. Food is very good and roportion is quite large.
3. Service is good, sometimes a little late.
4. Staff and Manager very helpful
5. Free WiFi is very fast, when it works.

Cons:
1. The standard rooms are very small and smelly
2. No remote for ACs. They are set at one temperature and you can only switch off or on them. [One user review says he coaxed the staff and got a remote.]
3. Distance from the Golden Temple is approximately 20 Mins (definitely more than 1 KM), through narrow lanes. However, one cannot complaint about this one since the room quality at the price offered (NOT standard rooms) cannot even be compared with Hotels in the vicinity of the temple.
4. WiFi sometimes stops working.
5. Food is expensive as compared to other places and takes longer in rush hours like Dinner time.
6. Pickup and Drop from and to Railway station is not free.

Overwall, a definite value for money (at times even more than that). I would definitely recommend it for the budget concious people.

4/5

Room Tip: Definitely go for the Deluxe rooms, not the standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tegroyal, General Manager at Hotel Teg Royal, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

we thanks for your valued feedback and your encouraging words are precious for our team. we always try our best to provide our guest an comfortable stay in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

As my flight was delayed, I arrived at this hotel after midnight and I had to wake up the reception. I left on the same day at 11:30 am and so I was there for about 11 hours. The room is clean and is very good for this price. Staffs are friendly and helpful. They're honest people. The only problem is that I have an official passport of Thailand, which allows me to enter India without a visa and they seemed to be worried about that. Anyway this "no visa" issue happened to almost all hotels I have ever stayed in India.

I stayed in a standard room, which is the cheapest. It's not a big room but it're more than enough for a single traveler like me. The room was in good condition. The hotel is not very close to the Golden Temple. I took a trishaw there and walked back. It took about 20-25 minutes to walk from there back to the hotel.

The hotel is not on the main road but only around fifty meters from the main road. There's a clear sign on the main road of the hotel and so it's easy to find. From the airport I took a taxi (800 Rs, which I felt expensive). On the way back to the airport, the hotel managed to find a tuk tuk for me and that costed only 300 Rs.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 112, which is a good standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tegroyal, General Manager at Hotel Teg Royal, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Sir,

we are very grateful to you for your valued feedback and from all of our team, we thanks for your appreciating words that are very encouraging for us to provide you more great service to our valued guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

to be honest there isnt much to say about this hotel...it was very meh!
rooms are small and the only hotel we came across in india that didnt have a shower.
food was average to poor and didnt come as quickly as we would have expected due to the fact we did not see a single other person in the hotel.
it is fine for what you pay for. however it isnt necessarily the closest place to the main things in amritsar....you do have to get a rickshaw to most places (wouldnt recommend trying to walk)
however a smile was always given and we were always welcomed back at the end of the day!
i would say there might be better places to stay but it was adequate for what one would need for a quick Amritsar stop. would recommend Amritsar with a passion however... golden temple is unlike anything else!

Room Tip: pay a little more an upgrade room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tegroyal, General Manager at Hotel Teg Royal, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

we are surprised at your words as we already mentioned that standard ac rooms are basic rooms not the luxury rooms. even we mentioned the same on our website.
you can guess yourself that in Rs.900/-only, we are giving you the AC room with attached washroom, and TV facility. but sorry, if you cant afford the luxury room then we also can not give you the luxury at this price.
so, please do not say false words about our hotel as we are offering everything but you have to pay some extra for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The room we were given looked nothing like the one that was shown on the photos...as most of the times. It was in fact very tiny and had the smallest bathroom I have ever seen in a hotel. And all that with a bucket shower for that price. You got to be kidding!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tegroyal, General Manager at Hotel Teg Royal, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Sir,

we are surprised st your words as we already mentioned that standard ac rooms are basic rooms not the luxury rooms. even we mentioned the same on our website. our manager also offered you our delux room but you selected the cheap room as per your choice.
you can guess yourself that in Rs.900/-only, we are giving you the AC room with attached washroom, and TV facility. but sorry, if you cant afford the luxury room then we also can not give you the luxury at this price.
so, please do not say false words about our hotel as we are offering everything but you have to pay some extra for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Had a good stay, hotel staff was helpful and courteous, the hotel was clean which made the stay pleasant but it is at a little distance from the Golden Temple and it take some time to reach the main temple specially with the traffic conditions within the city. Food was little over priced but was good.

Would recommend if you are looking for a quiet and clean place.

Room Tip: Rooms were all good... its a small hotel but would suggest to have a room at the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tegroyal, General Manager at Hotel Teg Royal, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

we are very grateful for your valued and encouraging feedback from all of our team and really appreciate your wordings towards your stay in our hotel and assure you of our best and prompt service always and will try our best to provide you a very comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Had a pleasant stay. Liked the services very much. Rooms are neat & clean, everything was handy. As promised got the pick from the station. Despite reaching at odd hours the staff was there to help. Very satisfied with the services.


  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tegroyal, General Manager at Hotel Teg Royal, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

we are very grateful for your valued and encouraging feedback from all of our team and really appreciate your wordings towards your stay in our hotel and assure you of our best and prompt service always and will try our best to provide you a very comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Teg Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Teg Royal

Address: Tarn Taran Road | Nr. gurudwara Shaheedan Sahib, Amritsar 143001, India
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 70 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Teg Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Teg Royal, established in Nov 2007, is the epitome of luxury and hospitality. Exquisite interiors, impeccable service, fine cuisine and contemporary technology come together to create an experience that is both grand and intimate. The Hotel has professional staff and provides good service to make you feel extra comfortable during your stay. Hotel Teg Royal is the city's finest hotel and is well suited to both business and leisure travelers to Amritsar. Whether you're visiting Amritsar for business or pleasure, we look forward to making you feel comfortable and connected at Hotel Teg Royal. Hotel Teg Royal offers several elegantly appointed rooms and suites to its guests for a comfortable stay in Amritsar. All the hotel rooms and suites are replete with modern facilities. Enjoy friendly, personal service from the moment you walk through our doors. 35 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites offer familiar comforts such as air-conditioning, a tea maker, cable television, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Teg Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Teg Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.