We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem tucked in the busy streets of Amritsar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amritsar

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amritsar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amritsar
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Queens Road, Amritsar 143001, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% off
Ranked #10 of 68 hotels in Amritsar
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A gem tucked in the busy streets of Amritsar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at Country Inns on a recent trip to Amritsar to visit the Golden Temple with both sets of parents. The hotel was very clean and quiet, the rooms were spacious and modern and the service was impeccable. The complimentary breakfast was outstanding. More than anything, the staff was welcoming and went out of their way to make us feel at home. Their buffet lunch is a great value for money if one does not want to eat outside.

Indian hospitality at its best!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are very larges and easily accommodate 2 beds for without any problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumit G, Online Representative at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amritsar, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskar, Greetings from Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Amritsar!!

As a hotel striving to be the best, your raving reviews about your recent stay with us at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amritsar on TripAdvisor, brings in a lot of excitement and adds on to the enthusiasm we have to make our guests feel welcome here. It brings us great happiness that you have liked our spacious and well maintained rooms, the delicious food and charming and efficient staff and services.

It goes a long way to motivate us to put in yet more efforts, when we receive positive comments about our work. We would love to have you stay with us soon and would take the opportunity to help you experience the charm and luxury that staying with us means.

Warm Regards,
Sumit Goyal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    167
    36
    10
    10
See reviews for
129
82
21
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The hotel is a chain hotels of Radisson group consisting of Radission, country suities, park plaza etc. The hotel is on Queens road and just 2.5 km from Golden Temple and nearby a busy market. The group has another hotel Radisson Blu, which is on The outskirts of Amritsar near the airport but away from the city. As its gets difficult to navigate at night in such places our preference was to live in the city. The property is under license from the Radisson group but owned & managed independently.

Depending upon the preference of each traveler, those who prefer to live in the middle of bustling city and wish to visit the Golden temple this hotel is a good choice. Good large rooms hence good for a family. The décor is old English style look and not the todays contemporary look as in Radisson Blu or lemon tree chain hotels etc. I booked this hotel for the convenience of being near the golden temple and for some shopping and as well as for look as it feels nice to have wood shades décor in winter to keep one warm. But if you have problems with noise etc then maybe you should checkout some other place as this is bang on a busy street. We had pre informed them of our arrival and they gave us a room on the second floor which was near the lift as I had aged parents with me. Check-in was smooth and they gave us hot towels and warm Kashmiri Kahwa as welcoming drink which was nice touch in winters. Though I would suggest management to use new towels as the hand towels were quite worn out.

Room service was good . Tea/Coffee/Milk were served within 10-15 minutes and we proper response in respect of extra towels, help with co-ordination with TV etc . They have a central heating system in winters which is pre-fixed at 20 degrees. However, if you wish you can call for extra blankets or the heaters/blowers if required.

Breakfast has limited menu in camparison to competitive hotels in similar range such as Ramada and Lemon Tree chains

I had forgotten to carry printout of my flight tickets and the reception guys were very cordial and provided me with the printouts. Would like to mention Inder & Mandeep at the reception who were very cordial when we arrived and also gave us a late checkout without much ado as our flight was in the evening. Thankyou staff I enjoyed my one day trip.

A suggestion for the management is to change the black dress of the staff. It looks too austere look to the staff which infact could be more relaxed smart casuals or may be formal greys/blues for the winter which would go with the country style decor of the hotel. Their dress makes them look unaproachable unless you have spoken to them and then you realise they are ready to serve you.

Suggestions for staff
- To smile more
- Though the staff can communicate in English they need to brush up on their English diction (pronunciations).
- Also suggest that they should tell their names when a guest calls them up and the new comers also should have a batch so you know who you are speaking too. For an Indian I was having difficulty remembering their names I am sure the foreigners must be finding it difficult as well.

For the management, -the property at places need to be brushed up otherwise it will soon look like a very old décor like the breakfast room spice ..good in winters but may not go well in summers. Rooms are good but one can make out that the property is crumbling at places unless restored on time. With Indian chains like Lemon Tree and Ramada, the price is bit on higher side for the same (slightly lower) level of services. But good for family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumit G, Online Representative at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amritsar, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskar, Greetings from Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Amritsar!!

It brings us much happiness to know that you chose to stay with us at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amritsar, and we thank you for taking time out to share your views on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know that you have noticed and liked the proximity of the hotel to Golden Temple, spacious and comfortable rooms, tasteful décor with a hint of colonial influence, warm, congenial and efficient staff and services.

I have conveyed your compliments to Inder and Mandeep and they are thrilled about it. As a hotel aiming to reach the greatest heights, we take special care of our guests in whatever big or small way possible, hence a hot welcome drink like the Kashmiri Kahwa, a little extra care in terms of room service in all aspects or printing out your flight tickets or even the late check-out was a gesture to make you feel comfortable and the whole environment and experience conducive.

Any feedback however trivial or critical is always taken on a high priority by us; hence we regret the disappointment you may have felt regarding the mix –up of names and the maintenance issues. Please be assured that as per your suggestions the management has implemented and conducted special trainings for the particulars listed by you. Also, we have taken note of the recommended areas of maintenance and have allocated maintenance jobs immediately, so that the next time you visit us, you would experience better comfort and services to meet your expectations with us.


We would love to welcome you back to stay with us soon and hope for an opportunity to be able to serve you yet again.

Warm Regards,
Sumit Goyal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai. India
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed here thrice between Dec12 and Jan13. Must say, this is a wonderful property. Staff are friendly, rooms are great, complementary breakfast is sumptuous and free WIFI works efficiently. During my first visit, I stayed in a suite, that was lovely with a full bathroom and a spare toilet in the front room. The deluxe category rooms are just fine and comfortable. I had dinner in their restaurant and it was delicious. Overall this is a good Hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but do not attempt to see through the window- nothing much to see or impressive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumit G, Online Representative at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amritsar, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskar, Greetings from Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Amritsar!!

Thank you for your continued patronage and for sharing your positive comments about your stay with us at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amritsar on TripAdvisor. We have always been appreciated by our guests for our friendly yet courteous & efficient staff and services, spacious and comfortable rooms, scrumptious and delicious food, international standards of facilities, amenities and housekeeping and your compliments reinforce our belief in being good at what we do.

We await your return to our hotel with great enthusiasm and hope to have an opportunity to serve you to your utmost satisfaction.

Warm Regards,
Sumit Goyal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in April. Hotel is off a busy one way road close to railway station and Golden Temple. Staff very helpful and courteous. Good sized rooms with wooden flooring, deluxe room was especially nice and very spacious. Breakfast was good and we had nice lunch in Coffee Bar. Hotel also organised taxi to take us to the Wagah Border ceremony. Would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you can afford it book the deluxe room as it was really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumit G, Online Representative at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amritsar, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskar, Greetings from Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Amritsar!!

We are obliged that you took time out to write such positive comments about your stay with us at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Amritsar on TripAdvisor. It is of utmost happiness to us that you liked our efficient and polite staff. Our spacious and luxurious deluxe rooms have always been a source of delight to our guests and are happy that they have been so to you too. Also, your kind compliments would further encourage and motivate us to continue to excel at making our guests happy and satisfied with our hotel.

The trip to Wagha border is unique and a popular choice with our guests, we are pleased to have been able to help you enjoy it. We look forward to your next visit soon and hope to help you make some more precious memories with us.

Warm Regards,
Sumit Goyal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here in January 2013 with family. To start with I had booked the pickup arrangement through hotel. I received email confirmation of pickup. Lateri called couple of hours before arrival that I am coming. I wastold someone will be there at railway station. Waited 30 minutes kept calling driver and there was I response. Hotel staff later arranged another driver to pick me . The room I was given smelled alcohol. I would definitely not recommend this for family. Sound like a shady place to me.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumit G, Online Representative at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amritsar, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskar, Greetings from Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Amritsar!!

Thank you for taking your time out to especially share your valuable feedback with us on TripAdvisor. Though it’s not as pleasant as the numerous other reviews we receive, it is critically important that you brought the issues of concern to our notice and gave us an opportunity to improve our services. We deeply regret the miscommunication with the driver, as we explained earlier, the driver had mistakenly forgotten his vehicle dedicated mobile phone, hence was unreachable.

However, we would like to state that he was waiting at the predecided meeting point at the time of your arrival. The moment we got to know about the unfortunate situation, we immediately arranged an alternate vehicle as even we could not contact him. We understand that you were put to a lot of discomfort, hence we decided to waive off the pick up charges entirely. Additionally, as a compensation we upgraded the original booking for Superior room to Deluxe Room without any extra charges.

Also we would like to mention that we have always been appreciated for our spacious and well maintained rooms and hence are disappointed about your dissatisfaction with the room. We assure you that the rooms after each check-out are scrutinized at three different levels of supervision, before it is released for guest’s use.

We would like to have you back at the hotel soon and hope to have an opportunity to serve you to the best of your satisfaction. It is our prime responsibility, duty and interest to provide our guests with only pleasant experiences and memories that they can take back and cherish.

Warm Regards,
Sumit Goyal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Nice property,good location,very good and polite staff. Excellent arrangements they made for my Wagah border and Golden temple visits . Very prompt service.got upgrade and the room was very spacious.. Will be my regular place during my future visits. Though a bit costly but still worth as it gives you and your family the required piece of mind.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumit G, Online Representative at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amritsar, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Namaskar, Greetings from Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Amritsar!!

We wholeheartedly thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. We are happy to know that you liked our hotel, location and services. We are elated to know that we have been able to match your expectations. Such beautiful words of acknowledgement have always been strength as they encourage us to work harder and deliver better.

We would like to bring to your notice that your valuable comments and suggestions are always treasured as they always motivate us to perform better thereby leading the royal road of hospitality and service. We commit that we will always welcome you with open arms leaving no stone unturned thus ensuring you a wondrous stay enriched with beautiful moments and unforgettable memories. We are waiting for you for yet another beautiful stay with us.

Warm Regards
Sumit Goyal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Day 2 in hotel and am missing home already. The sheets have lipstick and food stains. The service is slow. As slow as 45 minutes to bring up bottles of water.
And icing on the cake, in early December there isn't no hot water in the bathroom. We were suggested that they'll bring buckets of warm water from downstairs. What hospitality.
The food is only average. Convenient access to city spots, that's the only plus.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumit G, Online Representative at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amritsar, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Namaskar, Greetings from Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Amritsar!!

We thank you for sharing the feedback of your recent stay at our place on TripAdvisor though not as pleasant as many other but definitely needed as it enables us to monitor and improve our hospitality and services.

I would like to inform you that we have taken your comments very seriously and have started regular training of Housekeeping and F & B Departments.

Please accept our apologies for the non availability of Hot Water while your stay. It was a technical snag which has been sorted out and no such issue is existent now.

We would like to invite you to our hotel again on a Complimentary stay to showcase our improved services and also believe that you'll definitely give us the chance for the same. We commit that we will always welcome you with open arms ensuring you a wondrous stay enriched with beautiful moments and unforgettable memories. On your next stay onward We'll run pillar to post to make sure you say "I love this Country".

Warm Regards,
Sumit Goyal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amritsar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amritsar

Address: Queens Road, Amritsar 143001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 68 hotels in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amritsar 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amritsar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amritsar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.