We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surjit

Surjit
4 Nehru Centre, Amritsar, India
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 132 Restaurants in Amritsar
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
London
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We were recommended this place and it did not let us down. The owner was very nice and it seems a lot of famous people have also visited the establishment. We just had starters as we were going to eat again later and ordered a half chicken, amritsari fish, mutton tikka, malai tikka and paneer. The food was amazing, so good we considered returning there later for mains! The prices were expensive compared to other dhabas but as the food was so good we didn't really have any issues with it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    30
    18
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Tandoori chicken - yummm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The tandoori chicken that I had here is one of the best I have had so far, not to be missed if u are visiting amritsar and u will not regret the experience. The fish was also good and also the lassi, but nothing tasted as good as the chicken.

The service and decor are average, but the owner is friendly and helpful.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
“Worst FOOD & Service...........”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Never go to this place the worst food you will ever WORST FOOD and WORST Service. You will feel like getting cheated when you go there because you will not get what ever you will order i ordered CHicken Masala and the gravy was light grey in colour which was WORST and total wastage of money. When ever you will try to complaint the owner will try to ignore your complaint or he will just say SORRY.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best Tandoori Chicken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My whole trip to Amrisar, the best tandoori chicken I ate here. The quantity is less & price is about Rs.275/- (dont remember exactly) half chicken serves 1.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great non veg punjabi fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Sumptuous Tandoori chicken and mutton kebabs were the highlights as also fish amritsari. Gulab jamun was heavenly. Service was a bit untidy but overall very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surjit also viewed

 

Been to Surjit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surjit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.