We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No parallels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guru-Ka-Langar

Guru-Ka-Langar
Old City, Amritsar, India
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 132 Restaurants in Amritsar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“No parallels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The best in Amritsar. And very well managed. Simple meal yet very sumptuous. Do venture out and see the setup of how people contribute to this magnanimous offering.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    21
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dehradun, India
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Peace meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Placed inside the golden temple hardly anyone misses the food in langer. Just go and have your food in a pious environment.If you wish, contribute to the kitchen by way of cash,kinds and services.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great expirience, simple and best food in india after a long time! Not to mentiin the whole atmosphere. Another story by itself! AmZing...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Amazing experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

After darshans at Darbar Sahib, we thought of exploring guru ka langar. I was amazed to see the systems in place. They served us Daal, indian bread and halwa. Tasted yum. Halwa was out of this world. We really enjoyed langar. Something you should not miss.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Seva”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We did seva for 22 days. I brought 13 students from the University of Michigan to learn about the langar at Harmandir Sahib. We shopped for food, cut vegetables, made lentil and rotis and ate everyday at the langar hall.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guru-Ka-Langar also viewed

 

Been to Guru-Ka-Langar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guru-Ka-Langar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.