We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, small rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Amritsar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Amritsar to your Saves list
Hyatt Amritsar
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   MBM Farms, G. T. Road | Alpha One City Center, Amritsar 143001, India (Formerly Ista Amritsar)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #14 of 72 Hotels in Amritsar
Chandigarh
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Convenient location, small rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The hotel is adjacent to a mall and around 15 minutes drive from the Golden Temple.

Stayed with family. The rooms are very small and the washroom door opens right in front of the bed. The toiletries are basic... don't forget to carry your own toothpaste...

The reason for our disappointment was basically the high expectations from the Hyatt brand.

And yes.. In case you require an extra bed in the room, they will allow that at an extra charge. There is no cot provided, just a mattress on the floor. We did not know this till we had checked in, otherwise we would have selected a different place.

The staff is efficient and friendly... checkin and checkout is quick.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

At the outset, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. I am sorry to learn that you did not have a comfortable stay with us. Your feedback with regards to the room size and the extra bed have been noted. We have limited number of roll away beds and apologize as the same was not available during your stay with us. The point highlighted by you pertaining to the toothpaste is quite disconcerting and we sincerely apologise for the same, I would like to assure you that your recent experience was certainly not reflective of our usual service standards for which we are known for. I request you to give us another chance to make up for this experience of yours by visiting us once again and allow us to serve you better, this time. I am glad to note that you found my team to be quite efficient.

I and my team look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back and hearing from you soon.

Best Regards,

Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    199
    100
    28
    20
See reviews for
210
124
25
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Excellent service from all staff from reception to waiters. Across the hotel is a mall where we shopped until 9pm and the Golden Temple is very near as well. The hotel also provided a first aid kit on request and the check in/out service was quick and efficient. The staff made us feel very cared for especially when our flights were delayed due to fog.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. I am elated to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us as it is our constant endeavor to make our guest feel comfortable and memorable. I am happy to note that my team looked after you very well during your short stay with us and assisted in the hour of need. It is also a pleasure to note that the location of the hotel was found to be favorable by you.

We look forward to welcoming you back and hearing from you soon.

Best Regards,
Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed here when we first landed in India. Very nice hotel, excellent service. Delicious buffet breakfast. Right next to a mid-sized mall (don't even have to cross the street!), so very convenient location. Short drive to Golden Temple.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. We are elated to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us as it is our constant endeavor to make our guests stay comfortable and memorable. Your feedback pertaining to various aspect of the hotel is quite motivating for my team.

Looking forward to welcoming you back and hearing from you soon.


Best Regards,


Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haridwar, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Excellent Corner Twin Rooms. very good location. Restaurent serves great food and excellent service. location on the higway is very convinent and being next to a very good mall with kids activity make sepnding time very enjoyable. twin rooms with singli dood make it very convinent for guests with kids to feel safe.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. We are glad to learn that you and your family enjoyed the stay with us as it is our constant endeavor to make our guest stay comfortable and memorable. Your feedback pertaining to various aspects of the hotel is quite motivating for my team.

Looking forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.

Best Regards,

Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed at this property for two nights on recent family vacation which included visit to the Golden Temple. The property makes a good first impression from onset with lobby and excellent service. Check-in went smoothly and staff very friendly. Room was clean and pleasant with modern decor; no issues with room size. Hotel breakfasts were fantastic with a wide array of western and Indian offerings. Also enjoyed a drink and good appetizers in lobby bar. Again, the service was great throughout the hotel. Enjoyed use of the hotel gym. In hindsight, this was one of our best hotel experiences over 3 week India trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

At the outset, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. It is indeed a pleasure to hear that you had a comfortable and memorable stay with us. Your feedback pertaining to breakfast spread, staff friendliness and room décor and cleanliness is quite inspiring for my team . We are extremely elated to note that you found your stay with us as one of the best stays during your trip to India.
Looking forward to welcoming you back and hearing from you soon.
Best Regards,
Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My 2 friends and I spent 2 nights at the Hyatt in Amritsar Dec 21-22, 2013 and had a wonderful stay! The staff was more than accommodating and very friendly - thank you Kunal and rest of the hotel staff!! The room was great - clean and comfortable. The food was amazing and the dining room had a nice ambiance, especially with Christmas just days away. The location may not be to be in a happening area but don't let that dissuade you because shopping and restaurants are just a quick auto-rickshaw or cab ride away! There is a mall right next door in which we did manage to do some shopping at decent pretty prices. I would absolutely recommend this hotel!

Christine - Canada

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!
At the onset, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and also the food, it is our constant endeavor to make our guest stay comfortable and memorable. Your compliments have been passed on to Kunal from Front Office whom you felt deserved recognition for the services provided to you during your short stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back and hearing from you soon.
Best Regards,
Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I went to this hotel when it was known as Ista. Even though this hotel has all the elements of a 5 star (not sure if it's one), I was disappointed by the size of the rooms. I stayed here for a night on a business trip and was really not pleased with the quality of the room. On the plus side, the room was spick and span, had a central control unit (always a bonus when you are tired and lazy). I was really impressed by the breakfast menu though (probably the best breakfast I have ever had in a hotel). They had an expansive list and exotic dishes like Ratatouille on offer. Overall quality of the hotel is good but the location isn't. It's located on the highway so plan accordingly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

Thank you for choosing to stay once again with us and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. I am sorry to learn that you did not have a comfortable stay with us as you found the room size to be small. The hotel has received the accreditation as 5 star deluxe hotel. We thank you for your feedback on the breakfast buffet which is quite motivating for the culinary team and I am glad to learn that you enjoyed the food.

We look forward to welcoming you back and hearing from you soon.

Best Regards,

Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Amritsar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Amritsar

Address: MBM Farms, G. T. Road | Alpha One City Center, Amritsar 143001, India (Formerly Ista Amritsar)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Amritsar
#6 Business Hotel in Amritsar
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amritsar
#10 Family Hotel in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Amritsar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iconic Hyatt in the city of AmritsarNestled in the heart of the city and 10 minutes from the Golden Temple is Hyatt Amritsar, welcoming business and leisure travelers to enjoy luxury 5 star deluxe hotel accommodation coupled with the historical wonders the city has to offer.Hyatt Amritsar offers 248 elegantly appointed guestrooms including suites which are on the fourth floor of the hotel to ensure panoramic views of the city. Rooms have a sleek contemporary design with the highest levels of comfort.Savour specialty Thai and Chinese cuisine at ThaiChi or for more international and local Punjabi cuisine options with a flare, Collage is the ideal choice. When the sun goes down, head to The Lounge Bar for evening cocktails, soothing music and views across an open courtyard.Enjoy the warm Indian sunshine at the outdoor swimming and vitality pool or rejuvenate in one of eight treatment rooms at The Spa.Hyatt Amritsar is conveniently located 4 kilometres from the Golden Temple and Jallianwala Bagh. The Wagah border is also 30 kilometers away, and offers guests the opportunity to watch the retreat ceremony of the guard ceremony at the Indo-Pak border. The international airport is 25 minutes away, while the railway station is a 10-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Amritsar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ista Amritsar Hotel Amritsar
Ista Hotel Amritsar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Amritsar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.