We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, clean and good location near the Golden Temple” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Temple View

Temple View
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Temple View to your Saves list
Temple View
Bazar Kathian,Opposite Central Bank of India, Amritsar 143001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 70 Hotels in Amritsar
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Affordable, clean and good location near the Golden Temple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

This hotel has reasonable tariffs and is very well worth the price considering the level of cleanliness, its great location, and its amenities (A/C, wifi in reception, fridge, hot water etc.). The staff is also very friendly and happy to help. All in all: I would recommend everyone to go to Amritsar and if on a budget: stay at Hotel Temple View!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This hotel has everything that I could have wanted: right across the street from the Golden Temple, clean rooms, clean bedsheets, HOT WATER!

But the most appealing thing about Temple View Hotel is its staff. Everybody was going out of their way to meet our every need. The manager, CR Thakur, was always present to help us with advice, or extra blankets, or breakfast - anything that we needed. When my wife's laptop battery died, he offered her to use his office, so that she can plug it in. Highly recommended. +++++

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta,India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Located at the back of the Akal Takht this is one of the best hotels in Amritsar. The north gate is very near the hotel and there is also a short cut road alongside the temple to the main road. The room was exceptionally clean and so was the washroom. The room service was okay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bienno, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

good hotel good service, good clean & price &staff but in my room 204 have on the window 1well and we can not see the golden temple!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

The hotel is extremely well located ie just few steps from the great golden temple. The air con just worked well , although there were frequent power cuts in that particular area.The staff was ok . Room service was ok . The bathrooms were very good .
The only thing i was disappointed was that there was no Wi/Fi connectivity as promised.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

I booked the hotel after reading the facilities given on their website. I was with my family so booked two rooms for four of us... The services were really bad, rooms average and food ok ok..

Some of the incidents that happened:

- No internet access in rooms (as stated on their site)

- Central AC with no control in room.. it was freezing in the night and we couldn't shut the AC

- Empty toilet paper rolls in bathroom

- towels given were dirty

- No hot water facility... they refused to switch on geyser as according to them it was again central geyser and it will consume too much electricity just for two rooms

- cab they sent for pick-up to station didn't know the location of the hotel and we were searching for 45 minutes

- Doesn't accept cards (Hello???)

- insects in room.. spotted spiders on bed

And after all this there tariffs are as much as other 3 stars in that area...

However, the only good thing was proximity to the golden temple... It's just next to it. Apart from that I didn't see any benefit. There are many more hotels in that area which are much better...

  • Liked — location... close to golden temple
  • Disliked — everything else except location
  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

This hotel is for spiritual people. I was looking for a hotel closest to Golden Temple and I got the best room; magnificent view of Golden Temple. Hotel staff was courteous and Punjabi food was excellent.

  • Liked — Great Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Temple View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple View

Address: Bazar Kathian,Opposite Central Bank of India, Amritsar 143001, India
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 70 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Temple View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Temple View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.