We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hospitality and curtesy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts to your Saves list
Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   M.S.A. Road, Munnar 685612, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 77 Hotels in Munnar
Thanjavur, India
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Hospitality and curtesy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

It was a nice stay at West Wood Resort on my Kerala Trip on first week of March. Everybody helped us a lot. F.O staffs directed me well to see the points as we were new to Munnar. Resort is fine with its location and it is so blessed by the courtesy of its STAFF. Everybody is more helpful. Breakfast was amazing with lot of items and their Buffet Dinner was also excellent. I will suggest West Wood, those who wish to visit Munnar.

Room Tip: Back side room is more attractive with Lake view and small forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BONYPAUL, Owner at Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest, Appreciate your feedback of our services and Hospitality. Looking forward to of service to you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    98
    32
    17
    20
See reviews for
117
104
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kerala, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Our 5 days trip to Munnar was made so much more pleasant by the efforts of Westwood . All our travel arrangements and transfers were seamless and the hotel accommodation matched our budget perfectly and their local knowledge was invaluable. Cuisines were delicious. We certainly wouldn’t contemplate travelling to Munnar again without their expert help and guidance and would recommend them to anyone planning to travel to that wonderful land.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BONYPAUL, Owner at Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Valued guest, it is good to know we could make your holidays in munnar memorable, especially through our Holiday planner facilities. Feedbacks such as yours helps us strive for even better services. We wish to be of service to you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This place is highly recommended for any family/couples/friends.
After going through a lot of research finally i selected this hotel.
I could say this was the the first right step which made the holidays fantastic.
The location and the rooms are exceptionally good and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BONYPAUL, Owner at Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest, Thanks for your positive feedback and are extremely glad that you enjoyed your holidays in munnar with Westwood Riverside. It gives us more strength in furthering our services for our esteemed guests. Hope we can be of service to you on your next visit as well as munnar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed here in Deluxe Room on 28th Feb for 2 days. I booked based on the reviews in tripadviser. It turn out to be worst ever stay. Not at all worth for the price.

Good things about hotel :
- Close to Munnar town

Bad things about hotel :
- They didn't even gave mineral water. Instead they said, water is available in fridge and its chargeable and the cost of 1ltr water is 30Rs!!!

- News paper : They said, news paper is ondemand :-) I requested them to put news paper on second days. Till 8AM no news paper. Called the reception and requested again. He said 2 mins and they took 1hr to send news paper to room.

- Hot water :
Hot water was not coming in the evening. Receptionist told he needs 2 mins to fix it. Service persons came to room 4 times to fix. They made bath room completely dirty and didn't fix the problem. Next day morning also same story. No hot water. ended up taking cold water bath!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BONYPAUL, Owner at Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest, Acknowledging that we couldn't make your holiday special in Munnar. We shall take all necessary actions so as to make sure all mentioned points are taken care off. Thanks for your valued feedback and hope to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed here in Deluxe Room on 4th Floor..for 2 Nights..9 adn 10th FEB Only after the Person sitting at the reception had no clue of what needs to be done when i said the room had Windows but Cannot open it as the Archaic curtains are not working... The Option Given was , We would be shifted to third floor .. AS luck had... 3rd Floor Windows had the same issue .. Next Option...Sir i would send some one to fix that on 3rd Floor.... Here comes me stating , Please leave it i will stay at 4th and Manage....
Mareketing Stratergy- The Fridge was full of choclates.Cold Drinks. Biscuits etc so that people convert their wants into needs--- Not Blaming it Just worth mentioning :)
Here Comes the Next stuff in waiting- Sir you are not allowed to eat in restaurant since you have not opted for dinner along with Breakfast.. Okay so charge me 15 percent extra and have that food being served in a room which has no proper table where in a person can eat.. Some may like the antique tables and if the table cannot accomodate 2 people eating in... Sorry if i am a practical person.

The Other Barbeque Restaurant was good, but the not up to the expectation based on reviews i saw on Trip Advisor... Unfortunately we were the only one eating in there that night.

and Not but Not the Least.. the Hotel Room that we stayed had no Balcony.. We cursed the extreme adverse condition that we faced.. Were little happy when was saw from outside that except some rooms , There were no balconies at all

Restuarant was good, Food was okay, So not much issues atleast on this front.

There were somePhotographs that i would upload in some time about those curtains and TV signal that we were recieving, Oh almost forgot to tell you- I was carrying my Laptop with Tata Photon Plus.. Do not try to use internet with that you won't get anything even on 4th floor:D
Overall a very bad experience, may be a we were destined for something which would test our patience.. Good Lesson Learnt.. Rest is up to you people.... Best of Luck

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BONYPAUL, Owner at Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest, Really disappointed in seeing your feedback of stay at our hotel. As it comes in the context of a lot of appreciation of our services generally,it is a difficult awakening call for us. We have already insisted an enquiry with operations manager about the reasons based on your feedback and shall make sure all matters related to your feedbacks are properly attended to. As you would agree,Eventhough we try our level best in keeping standards, sometimes miscommunication results as all the problems mentioned could have been easily solved with a little care as to balcony rooms, wifi, room service etc as we have all of it and may be miscommunication had to really do with most of the feedback points. We acknowledge your feedback in most positive manner and shall use it as a reference in improving our services & training etter. Hope we can take better care of you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allahabad, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

thanks to westwood for making my honeymoon trip so wonderful. the whole trip was awesome. no words for hospitality. all the arrangements, not only at munnar but at all the places may it be site visits, transportation to other places, everything was excellent. and no words for the arrangements and inclusions of the honeymoon package specially at westwood resort. candle light dinner, room decoration, evening fire, dance, sight seeing, fruit basket, cake etc. everything was so beautifully arranged.everyone was so well mannered and well behaved. the way they were treating us was like as if only 2 (me and my wife) were there at the resort. so much care was given to us.it was their hospitality which touched my heart most.scenery from my room was great.and weather was so pleasant there. houseboat trip was also equally wonderful. hospitality and food was so great there. and special thanks to our cab criver mr. jayan. he made our journey and site seeing so comfortable. he was not only a driver but our guide also.i can not hope for anything better than this for my honeymoon. thanks westwwood!

Room Tip: though all the rooms are great.but i think back side rooms (i.e. river facing) and specially corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BONYPAUL, Owner at Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guests, Thanks for your appreciative feedback. Great to know we could make your honeymoon holidays in Munnar most memorable at westwood riverside. It is heartening to know that the efforts we put in the 'Experiance' factor of a guest holiday is paying off. It gives us more motivation to get our services even better. On behalf of the entire hotel staffs once again saying thanks and looking forward to be at your service again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Safe food but grimy, dark, run down, poor service and definitely below the general standard of service we've had in Kerala.

Go somewhere else on any street, it'll be cheaper and nicer, probably.

Rooms might be great, we didn't stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BONYPAUL, Owner at Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guests, We understand from your feedback that we have erred in our restaurant service to you. We have already taken strict steps to make sure our F&B service standards are back to its best. Even though trained staff shortage could have been one of the reasons for the feedback, training manager has been given strict instruction to make sure topmost quality is maintained in F&B service as with other areas of operations. We wish this enlighting feedback would act as a catalyst in improving our service standards. Thanks for the feedback once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts

Address: M.S.A. Road, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling among the majestic mountains of the western ghats at an altitude of over 6000 ft., Munnar ranks among the most enchanting tourist destinations in Kerala - "God’s own country." Your perfect getaway in enchanting Munnar is the three-star, WestWood Riverside. Forty well appointed rooms and one presidential suite offer you all the modern amenities. Special Honeymoon & Adventure packages are available on request. Check in at the WestWood Riverside Garden Resort in Munnar. And let your enchanting holidays begin. WestWood Riverside is promoted by the EVM Group of Companies. Designed almost entirely in a rich wooden ambiance, Westwood Riverside offers you forty one well appointed Executive Riverview, Deluxe and Specially decorated Honeymoon rooms. For the ultimate in luxury, there is also a glass-walled Presidential Suite. The rooms have great views, round-the-clock room service, travel desk, Wi-fi, satellite TV, 24 hours hot water, and much more. Airport pickups, guided tours, local site seeing etc. can be arranged.New facilities additions are our speciality open-air Barbeque restaurant, Fire Grill and services of exclusive Holiday planner to make our guests holiday more memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Riverside Garden Hotel Munnar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.