We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible! Amazing! Fantastic!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ranger Woods

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ranger Woods to your Saves list
Ranger Woods
P.B No:19, Bison Valley Rd, Pothamedu | Munnar-PO, Idukki District, Kerala state., Munnar 685612, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 102 Munnar B&B and Inns
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Incredible! Amazing! Fantastic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had a 2 night stay at Rangerwood Resort, Munnar. Yes, the Munnar one, just to make it clear for readers, who might mistake this review for the Thekkady hotel of the same name.
We were informed of this place by one of our family friends who liked it. I spoke to Sunil a couple of months before we planned. The best part what i liked about him is his honesty. He told us that there were a few bad reviews about the place and he wanted us to be aware of it. At the same time, he assured the best of services. We love traveling and have stayed at various other luxury resorts at different places. I would state this place in simple sentense "It is professional as a hotel and at the same time, personal as home."
There is no swimming pool, no intercom and no wifi. But there is 24hr hot water, very clean bathrooms, tasty food (especially non veg) and tea garden at a distance of 200 mts. You can hear birds sing in the morning, while you enjoy your morning tea. The service is absolutely fantastic. Sunil's mom always made it a point to visit the dining table when we had food and ask if everthing was fine.
Absolutely ideal for family, especially with children (they can prepare customized light food for children).
Good if you have a vehicle with you, since this place is 7 kms away from Munnar town. And please plan your trip in advance. Sunil can help you plan well for the trip. It is an absolute value for money and a great place to unwind.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    17
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Spent 5 minutes at this property, just long enough to receive our unwelcome greeting, shown the room and bathroom, which were very basic, dirty and of a very poor standard. This stay was booked on a package with other home stays on it, all of which were brilliant. The property, whilst as with others is outside of Munnar, has absolutely nothing going for it, and as the only eating option if you don't have a driver I would hate to think what the food hygiene & quality would be like.
When reading the other reviews for this property be aware that they are referring to an identically named property in Thekkady, 100km away, which we now believe are the positive reviews!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had been booked at Ranger Woods in Feb 2013 by travel agent. On arriving 6pm owner was rude and kept us waiting for 15 mins while he phoned to get boy to take us to room, which turned out not to be what we had booked, but in another homestay he owns some 3 Km further down narrow road. Main house rooms small and scruffy but alternative homestay was down long flight of steps with very awkward access and no view - both a long way from town.
On protesting he maintained they both count as R Woods, although different name & location. Take it or leave it attitude, so agent got us relocated and secured refund.
Generally we experienced great welcome and service, but this was bad exception & owner is a con man. Don't touch it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

I came for rest , nature and silence but there was a water purifier machine at a back property making 24:7 a noice which totally spoiled it for me as I really looked forward to silence of the nature and singing of birds.
Room not very clean for the price we paid , also misinformation about prices of the rooms. Restaurant was filty, we stayed 3 days and floors and table cloth where never cleaned, tried to turn over table cloth but other side was even worse. Lady of the house very sweet and welcoming and friendly , the son and manager bad people skills , came over unfriendly , and arrogant.
Won't recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Nice room. 24hr piping hot water! Amazing in-house cook. Great sunset views nearby. The very friendly Mary..quite a character!
This place is a little out of 'town' so plan your rickshaw pick ups, especially if leaving early to catch a bus. Other than that highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

It was a lovely place to stay, surrounded by the plantations and the trees, but the major drawback was the distance from the main city. There is not much of accessiblity to anything once you reach your room and somestimes you feel as though you spend most of the time travelling rather than actually visiting places and spending time there.
The food was good, pretty homely. But the only problem is that even for a coffee or tea you would have to go down and knock on the doors to order something, I wish they had an intercom or some bell system where you could order at the luxury of your room. Sunil and his mom were pretty friendly and helpful and make your stay quite pleasant.
Amenities were good, copious hot water and good beddings. We were told continental breakfast and all that we got were toasted breads and some omlettes with dosa! I wish it was just mentioned breakfast and not 'continental'

Room Tip: Go there only if you seek not to travel much in the poor roads of Munnar
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

If you wish to stay at a homestay in Munnar, then it has to be Ranger Woods. This was my first stay at a homestay and the experience was out of the world. Ranger Woods is true in the woods, admist the pictorial tea estates. During our Kerala trip we stayed in around 3 homestays, this was the best. Ranger Woods is about 8 or 9 km from the actual town of Munnar. Most hotels/resorts are located outside of Munnar. The rooms are clean, the hot water works and the beds are reasonably comfortable. They had kept a bowl of fruits and even arranged for teethbrush & toothpaste which was not seen in other expensive homestays. The food is very good and very reasonably priced, the mother of the owner personally supervises in the kitchen. Dining is homely, dont expect much as like in restaurants, nevertheless Sudhakara is a good cook.

The rooms are spacious however, one problem any noise from one room to another travels fast specially in the night, our 11 eleven month old was crying in the night, disturbing the neighboring guests.

Room Tip: The road facing room has an excellent view but is smaller then the other room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ranger Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranger Woods

Address: P.B No:19, Bison Valley Rd, Pothamedu | Munnar-PO, Idukki District, Kerala state., Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RangerWoods is a homestay with 04 guest rooms consisting of 01 standard room, 02 deluxe rooms and one superior room. All the rooms have attached bathroom with toilet western type and all the rooms have 24 hours running hot and cold water supply. All the rooms have television.We serve both NorthIndian and south Indian dishes including Jain food except Thandoori preparations.Food is prepared against order on al-a-carte basis from our menu and we prepare according to the preferences of each and every guest like if they want less spicy. We allow kitchen facility if necessary to prepare food for babies.We use sunflower oil for cooking. We are located exact 07 kilometers away from the Munnar town,We are located away from the main roads. we are located in a cardamom plantation and tea plantation/tea valley is just 200 meters away. Since we are located in a plantation area it is silent, calm and quite unlike the town area which is crowded and polluted.Our valley got the best climate in Munnar. Our valley have a moderate climate ie it is not too hot and not too cold. Our valley is rich in trees and greenery and it attracts lots of birds.According to a birdwatcher about 200 species of birds migrates this valley. Our valley is good for soft walks through tea plantation and soft treks to the mountain. Our homestay is not a great homestay to say "GEM OF MUNNAR".We don't have swimming pool and Gymnasium.It is an average homestay but we give value for your money, so we are committed for the best in hospitality. We take advance for reservation but in case if you are not satisfied with the stay we will refund you the balance amount for those days you have not stayed irrespective of the refund policy. Most of our guests are repeat guests or referred by guests who stayed at our homestay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com and EasyToBook so you can book your Ranger Woods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ranger Woods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.