We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Experience...with amazing location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of T&U Leisure Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added T&U Leisure Hotel to your Saves list
T&U Leisure Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mattupetty Road,, Munnar 685612, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 66 Hotels in Munnar
Dapoli
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Romantic Experience...with amazing location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Me & wife stayed in this property & had wonderful time. We liked the rooms, food, ambience of the restaurant with the view of Tea estates as well as the hospitality of the staff.

In fact we had stayed at other place in Munnar for 1 night & had a bad experience of food & hospitality and after searching we got this wonderful hotel.

Keep up the good work

Will surely recommend.

Regards
Ashish A,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BDMTeaandyou, General Manager at T&U Leisure Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Asish,


Thank you for the comments. We are extremely happy to know that you have been satisfied with our property, we look forward in seeing you and your family again. If you need any help in Munnar please let us know, and we will can look into the same.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    86
    28
    13
    11
See reviews for
66
84
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had a nice and comfortable stay. Rooms are spacious, comfortable beds and clean bathrooms. The restaurant serves good food though many items on the menu were not available. The staff overall is friendly and efficient, except for the housekeeping - they slipped up on cleaning/ replenishing/ clearing items on each of our 3-day stay there. But the managers were quick to address to complaints.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BDMTeaandyou, Manager at T&U Leisure Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Team T&U, Munnar !!!!

Thank you for your wonderful review on your recent stay at T&U Leisure Hotel, Munnar.

We really appreciate your time and effort to share your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the services and food.

We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit.

Best Regards,

Tony +919446313081
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We were there in December 2013. We found the washrooms dirty, Staff provided us with towels after repeated requests, there was mold on the washroom tiles, we were reluctant to use the blankets provided to us as they were dirty, kitchen linen was so dirty that I had to request the staff to change it many times but thet kept on bringing dirty linens. Management advised us that they had ordered new linen for the kitchen and new towels for the washrooms but it seems none of it was done as I am reading reviews of people who stayed there in January 2014 faced the same issues. The toilet next to the main dining hall had such bad smell that our family could not go inside. Not sure why this place is rated so high and so expensive. I guess good reviews are orchestrated by the friends of the owners/management. I will definitely pass on this. Beautiful scenery.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BDMTeaandyou, General Manager at T&U Leisure Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Madam/Sir,

We are extremely sorry for the inconvenience caused to you. This was not done intentionally. As you have correctly mentioned we had a lot of the same issue during the last two months. We have done our audit and we understood that there were certain technically issue at our laundry agents facility. He had certain issues with water and too many customers in Munnar, he had got our linen mixed with other properties. All of the linen were purchased during the month of May 2013, but this was so unfortunate that this happened. With this month end we are going in for minor renovation and also adding a power laundry facility for our property alone, to have such complaints not pop-up again. Underlining this was our fault and we are ready to go to any extent is clarify the same. We are extremely sorry to have spoiled your vacation, we assure you that this will never again happen and we are taking all necessary steps to avoid such complaints. We extremely regret for the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

As the name suggests, it gives you a great "Tea" experience. Very good location, slightly outside Munnar town area, with great views & serene location. The ambiance of the hotel is very nice, typical colonial tea style, rooms are really nice, spacious with service that could have been better. Cleanliness of the rooms is average, in terms of the towels & sheets, but we liked the food. Our room had quite a nice view from the large window & balcony. Can be cold during the night, so carry enough thermals. Overall a nice experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BDMTeaandyou, Manager at T&U Leisure Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Team T&U Leisure Hotel Munnar !!!!

The entire team at T&U Resort joins me in thanking you for your Excellent feedback in trip advisor.

All our staff members are delighted to know that you are thoroughly enjoyed your stay during your Holiday Experience at T&U Munnar

Our service philosophy focuses on ensuring that our team is committed to provide personalized experience with care and comfort to our Guests. Guest satisfaction is one of our core value and we always concentrate on that.

Looking forward to welcoming you at T&U in near future.

Thank you
Kind Regards...
Joby Jose - Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Due to building work at our original hotel, this place really saved the day for us!

From the minute we walked in, the staff were attentive and helpful, and we were impressed by the clean, modern room.

We loved the huge buffet style meals and enjoyed sampling some new Indian dishes. Other guests were friendly towards us and I enjoyed sitting round the camp fire in the garden one evening. The gardens were immaculately tended to.

Many thanks!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BDMTeaandyou, Manager at T&U Leisure Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Team T&U, Munnar !!!!

Thank you for your wonderful review on your recent stay at T&U Leisure Hotel, Munnar.

We really appreciate your time and effort to share your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the services and food.

We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit.

Best Regards,

Tony +919446313081
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Nice location, a bit away from city centre, staff was very co-operative, food could have been better not satisfied even with the local cuisine as well, there is a better place to dine in at city centre on MG road "sarvanabhavan". apart from it a bit of changes required from management. overall a pleasant stay. But there r better options available.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I visited this sub-par hotel with my family last week and have been thinking hard since then - why so many people have rated it so highly? My annoyance with T&U is not so much about the service levels as it is about the appaling ignorance of the staff to acknowledge their issues.

1. Perhaps they should stop keeping white towels- they kept on providing dirty sheets and towels even after repeated complains

2. Restaurant staff was unresponsive and slow most of the time, food was often below average

3. Bathrooms were unclean, one of rooms had a strange stink and had to get replaced after a long argument with the staff

Several other small glitches but I dont want to go on forever.

I would never recommend this hotel to those who value quality of service as much as the natural beauty of Munnar.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BDMTeaandyou, General Manager at T&U Leisure Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Respected Sir,

We have gone through your review and we are extremely sorry for the same. We had a very busy season the least two months and over and above, we faced major issues with linen this season, as this was due to certain technical error from our laundry agent, however we take the blame for the same and we have also taken various steps to contain the situation. We are terribly sorry for spoiling your holiday, we will assure that the same will not happen again, we are putting things to places and by this month, we should have new facilities to provide a better service for our customers. Deeply regret for the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to T&U Leisure Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about T&U Leisure Hotel

Address: Mattupetty Road,, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — T&U Leisure Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a luxurious property with 30 well equipped and spacious guest rooms and suites along with contemporary comforts for a modern traveller. All our rooms are done to the taste of colonial architecture since Munnar itself is a colonial hamlet of the English planters and also known as ‘Little London’. T&U is situated en-route to the major sightseeing places like Mattupetty, Echo point, Kundala and Topstation. It is just a couple of kilometres away from Munnar town and well connected with National Highway i.e, NH-49 (Kochi – Madurai). All our rooms enjoy the luxurious and magnificent view of lush tea garden and valley. Our open air lawn in our property can be the ideal place for a candlelight dinner, camp fire and a corporate get together. The state of the art Banquet Hall can accommodate 120 people on theatre style. Our fusion cuisine restaurant – ‘Top Station’ has the capacity to accommodate the taste of universal traveller, we fulfil the gourmet needs of Arabic, Chinese, Continental and Indian including Gujarati, Jain travellers along with South Indian specialties !! Our Recreation centre boasts of Pool table, Table tennis, Chess and Caroms. Our Kids Zone – children’s playing area especially for Kids in the Lawns. It includes swings, see-saw, carousel etc… Our Fitness centre has the state of the art equipments to keep our guests health fit. Swasthya - The Ayurveda centre will keep you rejuvenated throughout your stay with oil massages and treatment packages. Our Ayurvedic packages are unique and fusion in nature which is beyond explanation, but you experience it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your T&U Leisure Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
t And u Leisure Hotel
t u Leisure Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage T&U Leisure Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.