We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of T&U Leisure Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added T&U Leisure Hotel to your Saves list
T&U Leisure Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mattupetty Road,, Munnar 685612, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 76 Hotels in Munnar
Chennai
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I'd taken the honeymoon package for 2 nights in this hotel during Jan 2013. At the reception we find 2 ladies making gestures towards us and smiling.Now how strange is that!! We were served with a cake in our room on arrival which caused a severe vomit later during in the evening.When I complained about what happened the staff felt very sorry and told that it wasn't from their restaurant but was bought from elsewhere.

I found the towels dirty.When i asked about it i was offered fresh and clean towels and bed linen. Is it that we will be given better service only if we complain?The bathroom dint have any exhaust leaving it smelling stale all the time.The white-coloured shower curtain in the bathroom had almost turned black with dirt. Food wasnt that great for a hotel that charged me 7750INR per night for a suite room.

I should make a special mention of Mr.Sharaf who showed constant concern to offer the best of service that was possible for the hotel. I was amazed about this person because he was so polite and patient.He was always busy attending to each and every guest, talking with each one personally to know what they were expecting and tried the best to offer a good service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    91
    31
    15
    13
See reviews for
67
90
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights on 30th and 31st of Dec'12. Nightmare it was for the money we spent. The rooms were over priced for New year with the hotel asking for advance payment. The staff were good but they were helpless in many occasions. We checked in at 3 pm and the lunch buffet which was Rs 450 per person was pathetic. Cold food and no one to even complain.The room we stayed had the water condensate dropping on the roof (tin sheet) of the room which making so much noise that i was awake the whole night. The next day we asked for a change in room which was agreed and we moved to another room. The worst was yet to come. For the new year party each one had to pay 2000 Rs per head which was compulsory but it was a disaster. First there was no alcohol served. There was a guy and a girl who could not compere the program properly. Food was cold again and absolutely tasteless. We came back to the room at 10pm itself as the programs were so boring. In total it was nighmare for the price we payed. 13000 rs for the room, 4000 rs for the new year party,...shear waste of money...
The only advantage is it is near to town (3 km) You need a car for yourself. There is no lift in this hotel and elders will find it tough...climbing 3 floors if u get a room at the bottom, bad food (we luckily found saravana bhavan in town) no alcohol, no internet for data card users, TV channels very limited...breakfast very bad...

Room Tip: Take the rooms at the top most level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my wife and 6 year old son we enjoyed the stay, room is good with a valley view and hot water shower is too good.
In the morning you will be woken up by the whistling of malabar whistling thrush, there are many birds seen around the resort like Indian Pitta, whistling thrush, red whiskered bulbul etc.
The food is also good and breakfast was complimentary.

Ayurveda section of the hotel has recently opened and provides kerala herbal massage, i opted for Abhyangam(full body massage) and it was really good and relaxing which lasted for one hour.

Munnar climate was pleasant in January and not very cold , we enjoyed the stay here

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel is just a little outside of Munnar town, but a bit too far to walk. A rickshaw will cost about 30 IR. The rooms were clean and spacious with everything in good working order, including the TV which had an English film channel. I wouldn't particularly recommend the restaurant. They have a lunchtime and evening buffet for a set price but it wasn't as nice as it looked. They don't serve alcohol or any cold drinks so we could only order bottled water. Breakfast was included in the room rate but wasn't very good unless you like the Indian buffet.
This was the quietest hotel of my stay in India.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KOLKATA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Good hotel with good rooms good location but poor service. Our room was big and had a small balcony with a very good view but the restaurant staff a very big let down.The hotel is 1 Km from the Munnar Town First of all only buffet food is available with limited menu and expensive.when we asked at the reception they said ala- carte food is available but the restaurant people say only Buffet This happened to me twice in a same day.After some request they agreed to serve la-carte but the items should be from the Buffet only,The buffet had only one type Roti and no roasted papad. when we asked for it the staff simple told it is not in our buffet menu so they cant serve it even though we were ready to pay for it .After some argument they brought both the thing but by that time our mood and expectation were already spoiled.
So overall a good hotel but with some poor service completely spoiled our tour.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

the hotel , staff, food and service all of high class, a rarerity in Munnar. we did,nt stay there but walked in for a meal. the moment we entered the hotel, we could feel the difference. veery where it was quality coupled with smile. also had a tour of entire hotel. next time we go to Munnar we are going to stay in T&U only.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Superb location, facilities.... amazing view (tea plantations) from balcony
Food was very good. Very clean rooms, prompt service.
Best option to stay in munnar. T & U Rocks
Suggest everyone to visit T & U. It is worth the money we spend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to T&U Leisure Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about T&U Leisure Hotel

Address: Mattupetty Road,, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — T&U Leisure Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a luxurious property with 30 well equipped and spacious guest rooms and suites along with contemporary comforts for a modern traveller. All our rooms are done to the taste of colonial architecture since Munnar itself is a colonial hamlet of the English planters and also known as ‘Little London’. T&U is situated en-route to the major sightseeing places like Mattupetty, Echo point, Kundala and Topstation. It is just a couple of kilometres away from Munnar town and well connected with National Highway i.e, NH-49 (Kochi – Madurai). All our rooms enjoy the luxurious and magnificent view of lush tea garden and valley. Our open air lawn in our property can be the ideal place for a candlelight dinner, camp fire and a corporate get together. The state of the art Banquet Hall can accommodate 120 people on theatre style. Our fusion cuisine restaurant – ‘Top Station’ has the capacity to accommodate the taste of universal traveller, we fulfil the gourmet needs of Arabic, Chinese, Continental and Indian including Gujarati, Jain travellers along with South Indian specialties !! Our Recreation centre boasts of Pool table, Table tennis, Chess and Caroms. Our Kids Zone – children’s playing area especially for Kids in the Lawns. It includes swings, see-saw, carousel etc… Our Fitness centre has the state of the art equipments to keep our guests health fit. Swasthya - The Ayurveda centre will keep you rejuvenated throughout your stay with oil massages and treatment packages. Our Ayurvedic packages are unique and fusion in nature which is beyond explanation, but you experience it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your T&U Leisure Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
t And u Leisure Hotel
t u Leisure Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage T&U Leisure Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.