We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of KTDC Tea County

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added KTDC Tea County to your Saves list
KTDC Tea County
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Colony Road Near Govt. Guest House, Munnar 685612, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Munnar
Redcar
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

A resort hotel, with beautiful well maintained gardens and great views across to the tea plantations. A nice place to relax though close to the bustle of the Munnar bazaar. Great just sitting on your veranda. Our room was nice but not lavishly furnished, and the staff were generally helpful and friendly although tt is not easy to find someone to serve you in the beer parlour, which is not well stocked. High marks are for the location, gardens and excellent food but a need for attention to detail.

We had an excellent ayuverdic massage in a place about 100 metres away. Cheaper than the hotel and apparently loads better but we have no way of knowing whether that is right.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    170
    49
    17
    9
See reviews for
143
131
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. The rooms were dirty, had cockroaches in the bathroom. The bed sheets were dirty, had to ask them to change. They say it is four star hotel, no way it is. In the morning the breakfast was okay. The food was cold, had not much choice, the tea was cold too.

Room Tip: I would never go back to this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Tea County - BEST resort in Munnar! It's located near by main Market of Munnar. They have total 67 different types of Rooms. They upgraded our room as complementary. Beautiful Garden with different variety of Roses. We just love the Resort.. Best Service, Food, Infrastructure. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I asked for an upgrade to a high room where the views were better, a balcony which was pleasant and away from the road and noise which we were given.We were supposed to stay here 2 nights but due to the strike at the time of our stay we had the choice to leave after one night and 2 days trips or stay 4 nights as no taxes were allowed to drive on the 2 days of strike. We chose the former as although it as very scenic we had visited everything and wouldn't have found enough to do for 4 days.The food and restaurant were OK but not good as we had had during our month's stay in India. Also much cooler at night- needed an extra layer on the bed.Reception staff were very helpful with our problems with the strike.

Room Tip: Higher floors and away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bochum, Germany
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel is very beautiful and it makes you feel as though you've stepped back in time as the service staff were incredible, they waited on you as if you were royalty. The room was very spacious and although the decor is rather dated it added to the appeal of the rest of the hotel. It has very scenic views and after staying at another hotel in the area would have to definitely say this one is the best in Munnar.

The restaurant has both a-la-cart and a buffet, but we chose the buffet as it was a true buffet filled with lots of different selections of Indian food. The dinner was the best we had in Munnar and by far one the best throughout our whole Kerala trip (except the Houseboat in Alleppey - see my other review).

Keeping in mind that this was an exquisite hotel, the price per night also mirrored the expectations nonetheless if we'd ever come back to Munnar then we'd stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Last year Visited Kerala. Booked all the KTDC properties and all are simply superb, specifically Tea county in Munnar. We have stayed two nights over there and overwhelmed with their service, hospitality and food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Sometimes I read reviews of hotels and I wonder if the other guests and I stayed at the same place or not. This place was just terrible. While the grounds are beautiful and the hotel staff are pleasant, that is about the best it offers. Our rooms were dark and dreary, furniture old and very tired looking. Stains on the walls. The bathrooms were dated and just icky. Our shower curtain had mold on it dating back to 1982 probably. The shower was not properly cleaned. The whole bathroom just grossed me out. The food in the restaurant was not good at all. I mean really...not...good. A member of our party got extremely sick eating the food - we know it was the hotel food as we did not eat outside of the hotel during our stay in Munnar. We couldn't believe that this was apparently the best Munnar had to offer in hotels. We wish we had stayed elsewhere. Sometimes you wish that you could just get your money back.

Room Tip: Just don't book with here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to KTDC Tea County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KTDC Tea County

Address: Colony Road Near Govt. Guest House, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Munnar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Munnar
#10 Family Hotel in Munnar
#11 Romantic Hotel in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — KTDC Tea County 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint cottages, fragrant tea gardens and mist-draped mornings are hallmarks of Munnar. For years the cool and picturesque town of Munnar was the summer retreat of the British and it still retains the charm of a colonial past. The destination is home to the only sandalwood forest in Kerala and is also famous for its exotic flora and fauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your KTDC Tea County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ktdc Tea County Hotel Munnar
Tea County Munnar
Tea County Hotel Munnar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KTDC Tea County, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.