We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't recommend” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa to your Saves list
Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bison Valley Road, Pothamedu, Munnar 685612, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Munnar
New Delhi, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wouldn't recommend”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We reached Munnar after dark and it was difficult to trace the hotel. The location is not available on google maps and the hotel reception didn't answer our calls. We reached Munnar at 8 PM and could find the hotel only by 10 PM The room was in a pathetic condition. It was nothing close to the description and the star rating given on Expedia. It is highly over priced. To top this, our bed was damp and the bed cover was wet. On calling the front desk, they told us that due to monsoons, all rooms were like that. It was a nightmare to spend the night in that wet bed. We checked out first thing in the morning. Ruined our vacation in Munnar. We were happy to check into our resort in Kumarakom after a 5 hr drive. Wouldn't recommend this place to anyone. It's a terrible experience and a total waste of time and money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teamblackberry, Guest Relations Manager at Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

I am grateful for your review though it happened to be a candid one. Reviews like yours give us an opportunity to assess our working style and look at our own facility with a critical eye.

Your visit to our property was during mid July when Munnar was experiencing unprecedented downpour. Difficulty in locating the resort during the late evening drive, added spice to your displeasure though signboards are kept in every turning point to the property.

Monsoons in Munnar is peculiar. There are guests who come to enjoy the unique character of hilly monsoons more than the heavy discounts offered during the season. In your case, may I say, that what monsoon offer to you in addition to the cash discounts was not appreciated. I am very sorry.

You came late and decided to check out early morning and hence could not enjoy what the resort offer to their guests. As you can see from the comments of other guests, the well orchestrated life around the property is most amazing which you could not enjoy.

Kindly permit me to disagree that your comment that the bed linen was 'wet'. During monsoon, in an uniquely placed retreat like Blackberry in Munnar is expected to have some cool feeling despite our best effort to keep it warm. Further, all information we provided in the web are precisely what is there in the resort.

May I request you to visit again, perhaps except monsoon since you don't seem to appreciate rain, and I am sure that we will be able to provide an unforgettable holiday in the middle of amazing natural beauty and pampered by the excellent service of our staff.

Best

Princy SEby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    177
    51
    24
    10
See reviews for
119
276
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Wonderfully located up in the hills overlooking huge expanse of tea plantations and greenery in the valley, and foothills, with roads winding through. The cottages are set into the hillside with lots of plants around and a veranda to sit out and enjoy the birdsong. Beware tiles in the bathroom after the wetroom style shower - we stood on the bathmat under the shower to stop slipping and sliding. It's a steep climb back up to the reception area, but luckily the restaurant was lower down.The food was ok, very cheap but quality and quantity disappointing compared to other places we stayed. Breakfast was good, eggs cooked to order. The spa treatments were very reasonable and the spa itself was nicely done. The hotel suggests that treks can be made from the hotel but the paths are overgrown, so the possibilities are very limited. Worth staying there for the view alone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teamblackberry, Guest Relations Manager at Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Thank you very much for your wonderful feed back.

Your precise and beautiful description of the property is tempting. The setting is the gift of nature which we try our best to preserve. The Trekking path is periodically maintained but as per your suggestion, more attention will be given to trim the overgrowth of plants.
I am happy to note that you found the food prices reasonable. This year, the menu will be modified to provide more variety.

The terrain is steep and hence as you said the walk to the cottage is tiring. But I hope you enjoyed the theme which make the guest move around scenic view points.

Hope to host your again with wonderful changes in the property.

Princy Seby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We booked this hotel as we have 2 kids (4 and 8) and for a reasonable price we were getting a small unit sized room (separate living, bed and dining areas). The hotel staff was very polite, the breakfast every morning was awesome! We loved the trek which goes down all the way to the tea gardens starting from the hotel, however when we went it was not maintained so after going down half way we had to head back up. Still worth all the trouble as we had unspoilt views of the gorgeous valley.
The hotel is nice and quite and you could easily spend an entire day walking around or sitting down on the trek somewhere to keep looking at the greens. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teamblackberry, Guest Relations Manager at Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Thank you very much for posting a beautiful review. “Wonderful seclusion in the hills of Munnar” happened to be the best phrase to paint Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa in the most realistic terms.

Our nature policy is to interfere in the nature's process only when it is necessary. You must have noted that most part of Blackberry Estate is left unattended for except the pathways. But as you suggested, trekkers must feel safe to proceed and will definitely control growth of wild plants near the trekking pathway.

Your comments about the ambiance, food and service is highly motivating. Thank you very much.

Mrs Princy Seby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Everything is good about the place.

Rooms are maintained really well. Staff is really helpful and friendly. Extra ordinary location of the cottages. All rooms are arranged to enjoy the beauty of Munnar. We really like the silent & scenic beauty of Munnar. Lovely space for honeymoon and great place for stay..

Rooms are big and clean. Service was prompt. Breakfast & Dinner was excellent. Quality and quantity is high.

Stayed 12 to 15 Jan 2014

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teamblackberry, Guest Relations Manager at Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Thank you for opting to spend your honeymoon with us at Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa and for finding time to post a beautiful review. Guests like you have helped us achieve the coveted position of #1 Romantic Hotels in Munnar. You have rightly suggested that the Beauty of the extensive Blackberry Estate with its private walks provide a romantic atmosphere for young couples.

While wishing you many many years of happy married life ahead, I also look forward for hosting you for anniversaries ahead.

Best,

Mrs Princy Seby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyderabad
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

this place could be great, the situation is lovely etc...but there is a lack of service, and enthousiasm and efficiency to keep the place neat and maintain; the website shows beautiful rooms with nice curtains and pretty bedcover etc....when you enter your room all looks fulty and not attractive at all!
The first impression is very bad, the way to the room is not maintain, gaz bottles are lying there, the flower pot are not taking care....in our bathroom, the window was broken and the appliances where also half broken.
the restaurant (food) is just average and choices is just ok. staff people are very nice and try to accomodate, but they are limited.
But the surrounding is wonderful, you can have lovely long walk from the hotel itself and the place is quite and agreable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teamblackberry, Guest Relations Manager at Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Thank you very much for taking pain to write a review about your stay with us during August, 2013. Kindly accept my sincere apologies for your disappointments.

The review, though highly critical, is a welcome one because you have rightly pointed out our failures. True, that there was lack of maintenance because it being off season when you visited. The plants were to be replaced next day for the season. The glass of the toilet has ever since been replace.

May I express my disappointment to the fact that circles were awarded for the service though you found our service exceptional.

Also I would like to emphasize that we only post genuine photographs in our website.

I would like to request you to visit again to find the difference in service and decor after your visit 6 months back.

Best,

Ms Princy Seby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This resort is only for those that want to get away from it all. You'll be totally isolated with not much to do (unless you happen to be on honeymoon)! The rooms are extremely basic and although the views are very nice they're rather spoiled by the fact that you're looking out over a corrugated roof that hasn't been cleaned for weeks. Hot water is not available at night (not hygenic if you need to use the toilet).
The staff don't speak very good English; the hotel is not suitable for elderly or infirm as the walks from rooms to reception are steep; the restaurant offers poor quality on the whole and of course, it's dry! Didn't use Spa, so can't comment, however it's odd that a Spa hotel can't offer hot water to its guests on a 24hour basis...it should sort its priorities out.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teamblackberry, Guest Relations Manager at Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

We are grateful to the Senior Reviewer of TA for finding time to post a view thought it happened to be a very candid one.

I found most of your complaints factual, like:"This resort is only for those that want to get away from it all". We offer a holiday "away from smoke and noise of civilization" and in no way differs with your observation.

May I differ a little to your observation: "You'll be totally isolated with not much to do (unless you happen to be on honeymoon)!" ? Of course, ours is a romantic hotel but there are an array of things to do for all, but a bit unconventional. Most of our activities are nature related like trekking and farming which perhaps did not appeal you.

"The hotel is not suitable for elderly or infirm as the walks from rooms to reception are steep". This is well advertised fact but I am sorry if your agent failed to convey the important fact.

"The staff don't speak very good English". You are right. And we try to improve their skill by providing routine training.

"The restaurant offers poor quality on the whole and of course, it's dry!". We will do our best to improve the food quality but would like to mention that Hornbill Restaurant is known for its cuisine. The fact that we are dry is well advertised.

I am sincerely sorry for your spoiled holiday. I promise you to do what ever possible to improve according to your valuable suggestions. But the terrain and geographical position, you would understand, is beyond our ability to change , and is appreciated by all our guests.

Best,

Mrs Princy SEby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Beautiful setting, professionally managed place with great views in midst of nature! On my request for a nice cottage with view, we were given the "honeymoon cottage" which was really pretty and had a great view as well. This place is not for those who shun walking, as it is a walk to the reception or restaurant for most cottages. But that is a small price to pay for the lovely setting, right on a hill slope. Housekeeping is efficient despite the spread out terrain, and so is room service. Food is overall good, though the breakfast spread could improve and the mutton we ordered for dinner on our last night was nearly raw! The whole place is in the middle of nature, unlike so many other hotels in Munnar town, which is a few kilometers from where Blackberry is. I feel that not being located in main town is an advantage of the place, and gives it its unique location and charm. Overall, a lovely place to stay when in Munnar.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teamblackberry, Guest Relations Manager at Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Thanks to the 'Senior Contributor' of TA for the precise review which also happened to be precious to us because of very valid observations and suggestions. You have acknowledged the importance of our housekeeping and service team in efficiently executing their responsibilities without complaints, the terrain being difficult and the area vast. This is where we feel specifically grateful to you.

Thank you again for appreciating the setting away from the crowd and dust.

I am sorry for one of the dishes served was not to your expectation. Appropriate corrective measures have already been taken.

Please do visit us again.

Princy Seby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa

Address: Bison Valley Road, Pothamedu, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Munnar
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Munnar
#6 Romantic Hotel in Munnar
#9 Family Hotel in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A set of cute cottages, nestling against the backdrop of Pallivasal basin in the middle of amazing natural beauty. Activities are nature related. Hornbill The Restaurant serves continental and ethnic menu. Sisal Spa add to your wellness experience. Trekking, Tea Plucking, Organic farming, ethnic games, etc are popular activities. Strawberries from our fields may not be the sweetest in the world but the view around it is perhaps so. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackberry Hills Retreat And Spa
Blackberry Hills Retreat Hotel Munnar
Blackberry Hills Mountain Ecolodges Munnar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.