We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent View, Serene , Refreshing!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa to your Saves list
Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bison Valley Road, Pothamedu, Munnar 685612, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 77 Hotels in Munnar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kozhikode (Calicut), Kerala, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Magnificent View, Serene , Refreshing!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

A few days after our wedding me and my wife decided to spend a few days at munnar. We did a lot of research on ideal places to stay and Blackberry hills popped up. we decided to book for 2 nights with them based on reviews from other travellers. On reaching blackberry hills i wasn't dissapointed at all we got the honeymoon package and the room 'meghamalika' it offers one of the best views of the valley. Its very scenic and quiet, ideal for honeymooners. The room furnishings aren't what i would say luxurious they are pretty basic but comfortable. The bathroom was neat and clean. Me and wife particularly enjoyed the food it was really very good The restaurant called Hornbill has an outstanding view. The only gripe i had was walking from the cottage to the reception its a steep long winding climb!!
The staff are friendly and helpful, I would recommend this place to couples who are looking for some R & R. Probably not best for the elderly based on the llayout of this resort.
Overall it was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teamblackberry, Guest Relations Manager at Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest.

Namaste!

Thank you very much for taking the pain to write a detailed review about your romantic holiday with Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa. The Team Blackberry is excited to read your positive comments about the food, the view and the service of Team Blackberry.

Blackberry Hills is an Experience Hotel and set in the middle of natural beauty. Guests will have to walk down to their cottages. Walking around is an important activity in Blackberry Hills and people with knee/cardiac ailments would find it difficult to enjoy.


We would love to meet you again in your first anniversary and every anniversary that follows!

Best,

Mrs Princy Seby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    185
    56
    27
    10
See reviews for
125
288
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pebble Beach
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Rooms have some of the most beautiful views of the tea plantations. Service is exceptional.
The staff is very helpful. The Ayurvedic massage at the SPA is fantastic.
Units are more like one bed room apartments with a bed room, sitting room and a small kitchen area. Overall room furnishings are quite basic.
Depending on your room, be prepared to walk up and down a hill to the lobby and the dining room for 200 to 400 yards.
Only improvement we can suggest is - better quality towels in the bath room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teamblackberry, Guest Relations Manager at Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

We at Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa are excited to see a wonderful review from a Senior Contributor of TA. Your precise review touches every important segment of your Blackberry experience. I would like to sum up my response in a big Thank You'!

Bathroom towels will be replaced within a week as you suggested.

Princy Seby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The location and rooms are awesome. They have individual villa type rooms which is artistically designed for Couples. It is a very good ambience for couple who prefer old village type villas. We loved their food and ambience. The staff was very helpful. If you are looking for a spa treatment and good ambience dont miss to check out this place. We visited the place without any plan so did not get a chance to explore but it was worth a stay !

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teamblackberry, Guest Relations Manager at Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing our hospitality and spending time to post a beautiful review about your experience at Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa.

Being a photography enthusiast, hope you have had a very eventful stay with birds, berries and butterflies in the most organic acres of Munnar. May I take the freedom to post few of your snaps in TA?

We would love to host you again. We shall be honored to host your friends too.

Mrs Princy Seby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

It was our first wedding anniversary and we had an awesume time and the experience was just awesummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.The view from our room 101 was just beautiful.View from the resturant "Hornbill " was also very nice.We use to spend hours sitting and watching the nature while having our breakfast.I would also like to thanks Mr Akhil for being helpful & providing all correct info about the place.We went to see Devikulum,Gap road ,Perikanal fall & Kurukmalai tea estate which was wonderful,specially the jeep ride :-) .
The crew in the resturtant was also very cordial.Thanks to all for making the trip so memorable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teamblackberry, Guest Relations Manager at Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy to understand that your 1st anniversary celebrated with us at Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa was fabulous. We wish you a hundred more anniversaries and expect few of which to be spent with us in the romantic ambiance of Blackberry Estate.

Your feedback is very important to us and the staff particularly noted by you will receive a good entry in their service record.

Best,

Princy Seby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We went for a honeymoon trip to Munnar on 13 October 2013. I chose this hotel based on ratings on trip advisor. Guess what - it was the perfect choice.
Here's my review :-
1. Perfect for nature lovers. The ambience and surroundings gives you a feel like you are right in the lap of mother nature.
2. Rooms neat and clean. Luxury along with wonderful natural surrounding. A rare combination.
3. Breathtaking view from rooms and elsewhere.
4. Icing on the cake is the food and restaurant. Never expected to get such nice north Indian food in kerala. Having lunch with such an astonishing view. Just awesome experience.
5. Staff cordial, nice and well mannered. Good hospitality.

Overall a great experience. I would recommend this to everyone.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teamblackberry, Guest Relations Manager at Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaste and thank you very much for your beautiful review.

I do have a feedback from Team Blackberry which reads you to be a honeymoon couple who merged with the alchemy of Blackberry Estate like those low flying clouds. All our guys and girls speak sky high about you.

Do come to us for your next anniversary and every anniversary that follows.

Best,

Mrs Princy Seby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We traveled as a family of 4 (two kids under 10) and stayed at Blackberry for two nights. Initially we missed the turn from the main road to the small bridge (didn't see the sign coming from Munnar town side) and had to turn around after 4 kms. Coming from the other side (Cochin), we could see the board before the turn and thereafter it was easy to reach the resort.

The USP of the place is their spa services and the way the rooms/cottages have been built on the hill side. They are a bit tedious to reach from the reception (downhill) and "very" tedious to return from (uphill), but we found that enjoyable in a way. The cottages themselves are very comfortable, spacious and well appointed. The views of the valley and farther hills from the balcony were lovely and it was amazing to see the fog 'ascending' from the valley below and slowly enveloping us.

Food and the restaurant staff deserve a special mention. The breakfast and dinner buffets had sufficient options (we didn't try lunch at the resort) and we found the food to be delicious and not too oily. The kids (usually very fussy) also ate well and the staff was very polite and unobtrusive, yet very helpful. Would like more dessert options in the buffet though.

Overall, a thoroughly enjoyable stay and highly recommend the place.

Room Tip: If you are staying for 2 or more days and plan to eat at the restaurant often, take the rooms closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teamblackberry, Guest Relations Manager at Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Thank you for your detailed review.

Direction signboards are fixed in appropriate places to guide guests coming from both Cochin and Munnar Town side. It is unfortunate that you missed it and had to travel 4 km further. We will be replacing the boards to a more visible spot.

It is indeed a bit 'tedious' to climb up and down the terrain of Blackberry Estate. Kindly note that it was much easier and cost effective to make cottages close to road like in any other resorts in Munnar. Your cottage was set far from the parking area so that it saved several trees. Also we could offer you a cleaner, peaceful night's sleep with enormous beauty of nature. Thank you for your comments.

We are happier to know that your kids enjoyed the stay especially because we lacks to provide ordinary activities usually provided by all other resorts.

We would love to host you again.

Mrs Princy Seby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I went to Blackberry for my honeymoon. Right from the day 1 we enjoyed lot. I selected this resort from the reviews posted in Tripadvisor. When i was planning to book this resort , i called resort's manager Princy. I called nearly three days continuously to enquire about the package, attractions in and near the resort , to book cab for sight seeing. I am very much happy to say that i got immediate and proper response from the manager through email.

Actually i was in US while booking this resort. It was hectic to call resorts in my night time (day time in india, night time in US). But when i contacted Black berry , they made my job very easy by giving proper response through email. I was very much satisfied and immediately booked the resort on the third day. Since i am a Tamilian , the manager Princy arranged a tamil known driver ( Name : Aneesh) and helped us a lot and he was very cooperative. When we went for sight seeing , he himself got our camera and he came behind us to click pics for us.

Since i requested for good view, we were given Villa suite (Room no :401) with honeymoon package . This room has awesome view of mountain. When you see outside from Window , you will feel like flying in air. Clouds will touch your face when you step in to balcony. Rooms are clean and perfect to stay.

Breakfast and Dinner were included in our honeymoon package . We had limited varieties of food but all were very good. Staffs were very helpful

Cons:
1.) Lightings inside the room must be increased.

Room Tip: 401 - villa suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teamblackberry, Guest Relations Manager at Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your sweet words about your stay with us at Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa. We are proud to say that the romantic surroundings of Blackberry Estate is the first choice for newly weds in the South.

Your mention about the efficiency of the Reservation Department is exciting to me personally because I am the person heading the department. I will be keeping a copy of your comment on the Table of my boss and wait for the result.

Regarding the lighting in the room, since we have received one more such suggestion, the Management have decided to consult our Architect again.

We hope that we will be able to host you for your first anniversary.

Love,

Princy Seby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa

Address: Bison Valley Road, Pothamedu, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Munnar
#5 Spa Hotel in Munnar
#9 Romantic Hotel in Munnar
#12 Family Hotel in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A set of cute cottages, nestling against the backdrop of Pallivasal basin in the middle of amazing natural beauty. Activities are nature related. Hornbill The Restaurant serves continental and ethnic menu. Sisal Spa add to your wellness experience. Trekking, Tea Plucking, Organic farming, ethnic games, etc are popular activities. Strawberries from our fields may not be the sweetest in the world but the view around it is perhaps so. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackberry Hills Retreat And Spa
Blackberry Hills Retreat Hotel Munnar
Blackberry Hills Mountain Ecolodges Munnar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.