We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All that it's advertised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa to your Saves list
Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bison Valley Road, Pothamedu, Munnar 685612, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Munnar
Tel Aviv
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“All that it's advertised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Warm welcome, even though we arrived in the middle of the morning. As other say, it's all downhill to the room, but a lovely walk. Room was not luxurious but a pleasure after traveling all night and much of the morning. The concern for the environment is all around, and also welcome.
We found this place on the web and the reality matched the description. We had two lovely nights there and enjoyed one dinner and two breakfasts (with that great view!) as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teamblackberry, Guest Relations Manager at Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Joel,

Namaste!

THANK YOU. For accepting our hospitality. And for finding time to write a beautiful review.

It is my experience that sophisticated, nature loving guests like you enjoy the settings thoughtfully arranged at places like Blackberry Estate. They also bestow much needed positive energy and strength to such organizations as well.

Thank you for your generous support.

Mrs Princy Seby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    177
    51
    24
    10
See reviews for
119
276
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

A warm welcome at reception followed by unending downhill trail to the rooms is how our stay started at Blackberry. But once we entered the room we were pleasantly surprised by the valley view. It was one of the best views i have seen so far. The rooms are cozy and have a homely feeling to it like as it consists kitchen, hall and bedroom.

We spent the day gazing at the sky and valley and how they changed colours. In the evening we went for a walk down the hill and it was fun. The hotel staff suggested a guide to go with us but since there is nothing to see except the valley, you can skip the 300-400 bucks of the guide.

I would rate the Hornbill restaurant 5 stars. It is like floating in the sky while having your dinner. All you can see are distant lights in the valley and sounds of cricket and other small insects on your glass window. The food was good. Aptly priced given its location. They do not have dinner buffet so that good. Breakfast is average, needs improvement in variety. The room service takes forever.

The bad: A family of 6 elderly people were residing nearby and they had a harrowing experience climbing and going down the trail. Absolutely not recommended for people above 50, having knee problems or lazy youngsters.

P.S: We did not find anything worth visiting in Munnar except this resort.

Room Tip: I think 406 has the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teamblackberry, Guest Relations Manager at Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

To host you was a great experience for all of us. While you were at Blackberry Estate, your gracious presence motivated the team and your keen interest in the minutest things at the retreat enthused each one of us.

Now you have blessed us with a great review. THANK YOU VERY MUCH.

More ethnic recipes will be added in the breakfast. Room service will be made faster though it is a challenge for our service team to reach guests in the scattered topography.

Regarding the walk to the cottages, we have highlighted this point through every available media so that the guests are aware. Every direct guest who approach us are explained about the unique and difficult terrain. Still there happened to be rare occasions when some handicapped guests end up at Blackberry Estate. We try to do our level best to make their stay comfortable or find alternate arrangements for them.

Looking forward for your visit again,

Mrs Princy SEby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I was on a mission to find the Best View Resort/Hotel that Munnar had to offer and discovered Blackberry Resort on Trip advisor located on the edge of a cliff.
Blackberry Hills Resort calls it self an Excusive Boutique Spa resort, but I beg to differ, I call it a Adventurous Resort bested suited for Romantic couples and families who wish to enjoy the green views and the cold mist during the sunset.

The moment I arrived to the lobby the aromatic scent just hit me, making me forget all my stress and worries out the door and I was left into the deepest relaxation mood I ever got from any fragrance.

The walk to the rooms was a bit like trekking because of the downward slope, I thought it was adventurous but would find it dangerous if it were to rain.

The room was spacious and well furnished except for the bed, which was dammed and felt uncomfortable.
But the main thing I had come to Blackberry Hills were for their views. Needless to say I was mainly occupied by the vast valley view that my eye could feast upon, and the balcony did provide me a lot of space to enjoy on. Being a regular visitor to Munnar, Blackberry has to be the best view that Munnar (Resort/Hotel) has to offer.
But I have to say the bathroom was bit outdated and dark, after a shower the whole bathroom floor is wet, amenities are good with spa liquid soap and ayurvedic shampoo.

The next morning, went for the trekking down the slope which was exciting and rewarding because after the 10 minutes down hill trek I was rewarded with a romantic panoramic view of Munnar Valley with two isolated benches under a blackberry tree to relax and catch a breath.

The restaurant is another selling point for the resort has they too have amazing view and delicious food to go with it; the black pepper mutton was excellent very tender and flavorsome.
Even for Non-Residence, just dinning at the restaurant will be an occasion, climbing the steep slopes to the restaurant to end up with good food and amazing views.

I got the chance to use their well-maintained Mountain Bikes and their table tennis in their activity room.

All in all the location is amazing, but the management needs to reinvest to improve their ambience at the night, with indirect LED lighting at the slopes and gardens also the lobby needs lights on the pictures and cant forget hand Rails on the slopes. If management like more advises please contact me by email.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teamblackberry, Guest Relations Manager at Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Sharp observations, apt suggestions, pretty photographs, your review deserved a thorough study which explains the delay in writing a reply.

Thank you very much for opting to stay with us. Thank you again for your professional analysis of the facilities, design, and service.

The management will be in touch with you for further advises which you have graciously offered us. We are lucky to have you as our guest and as a patron as well.

Best,

Mrs Princy Seby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I visited this place as part of e Munnar trip.Stopped over for lunch after visiting couple of places like sarvana bhavan and copper castle where I had left because of the hygiene factor.
Visited the hornbill restaurant for lunch.
We had to trek down for 10 min to get to the restaurants. It was quite a walk. Ordered Kerala food which we ate and enjoyed the scenic view. Food was average however it is a good place to hang out n be with nature.

Room Tip: Not advised for people with heart and walking issues due to lengthy and steep walks n absence of ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teamblackberry, Director of Sales at Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Sir,

Namaste!

Thank you very much for your sweet words. Good comments from a guest who always stay in reputed hotels around the world is especially important to us. I request you to kindly stay with us when you visit Munnar again.

Best,

Mrs Princy Seby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Blackberry resort is by definition the most perfect retreat. rolling hills, tea estates. We had an excellent stay there. Perhaps my only complain was the quality of the rooms and their cleanliness. On the brighter side, the staff was highly attentive, the quality of food served was good. On the whole, a good place to soak in the delights of Munnar

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teamblackberry, Guest Relations Manager at Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Thank you for posting a beautiful review. Your comments about the superb service of our staff will be a morale booster to them.

The ethnic design of the project would not have impressed you hence your comments about cleanliness. Uncompromising and systematic cleaning process is carried out in the property to maintain hygiene standards. However. However, a fresh audit on the system and standards of cleaning will be carried out to fix any failures if any.

Awaiting to see you again at Blackberry Hills,

Mrs Princy Seby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Jaded and tired from our ride from Thekkady to Munnar; we finally reached our destination perched on the majestic mountains of Munnar. We were greeted with a warm moist towel and a small gooseberry drink to energize us and help us ease our elevation ride. Post the manager explaining all the do’s n don’ts; we were guided down the steep winding pathway towards our room. Quite a way down making us wonder we would be thinking twice before climbing up again. The old folks or those having health problems will surely not have it so easy. The resort should have considered stairs or maybe a golf cart to drive up and down.

Back to our rooms; they had a view to die for. Definitely in Heaven!!! The rooms (living and bedroom), balcony was simply fantastic. Rest of the day was leisure for us. We simply relaxed, feet up at the balcony watching the clouds pass by. By 4 pm the clouds started to come into the resort itself and soon we were engulfed in the misty clouds. We could hardly see out neighbours next door. It was simply mind blowing. This mist stayed on until way past midnight. Finding our way to the resort restaurant for dinner was not so easy. But we enjoyed the walk in the clouds.

Morning post our exhausting climb back to the top, we left for a day sightseeing tour around Munnar. Back to the hotel by 5 pm, I decided to go for an Oil Massage at the Resort Spa – Sisal Spa. It is considered one of the best in Munnar. I would not say my session was excellent, but it was definitely good. Evening our session was to float in the clouds again :)

Next day we got up early and headed downhill for half a mile of trekking. It was rejuvenating.

The Good – Excellent resort in Munnar. All the suites are located in such a way to give the maximum view of the valley. Nothing but breathtaking views.
A-la-carte menu at the restaurant is better priced. Just for the Resort placed at such a beautiful location I would rate it a 5-Star. It loses it 2 stars because of the Bad and Ugly mentioned below.

The Bad – Expensive buffet priced at Rs. 600. Hot water was available only at request and at time never. We had to call up the reception many times.
Channels in the TV had too much white noise. Many complaints to the reception did not do justice. I had to watch the TV at my friend’s room next door, where the channels were very clear. The staff members who later checked it mentioned that the rats had nibbled at the cable and they would change it the next day. That never happened. The resort at least should ensure to check everything is working properly before the rooms are occupied.
The manager mentioned that Firefox bi-cycles are available which can be used for trekking rides; but on the roads. 2 things to mention here.
1. It’s quite dangerous to ride on the road with speeding Buses and other vehicles who drive like they are drive like they are in F1.
2. When we came up later just for this, we were told that there is a charge for it and usually meant for foreigners. The kids were hugely disappointed.

The Ugly – Very poor room service. We had asked the resort folks to have our rooms cleaned whilst we went for sightseeing. But to our surprise, this was not done at all. On calling the reception they sited some technical glitch which required their staff assistances. When the staff cleaners finally arrived they mentioned that they are the only persons available to clean all the rooms at the resorts & hence the delay. Wonder why I was told a different story earlier.
Also there is absolutely no personal Room Service. If you have to order anything, one has to personally go collect it and later drop the empty plates as well. The restaurant was a nearby for us, but I wonder what was the plight of those not near.

The climb up to the reception is very steep indeed. Pity on those who come with older folks or with health problems. Not easy at all. Even the staff members had a harrowing time getting our luggage’s back up.

Blackberry Hills must mention this on their website very clearly. Ideally they can also possibly think of having a small golf cart like ride helping customers come up or go down.

I'm purely rating this as a 5-Star just for the good stuff.

Room Tip: Pick the Garden Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teamblackberry, Guest Relations Manager at Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Poetic images of what you saw and experienced at Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa; beautiful pictures; useful suggestions and constructive criticism-your long and learned review is valuable to us, Team Blackberry Hills! Thank you very much.

1. We are seriously considering to eliminate 'buffet' and serve 'a la carte' for dinner.

2. Channel TV service is terrific in entire Munnar. Reception of DTH is also NOT to the mark perhaps due to the terrain. We are waiting for the off-season for a better network to be introduced.

3. The Manager should not have disappointed the children of a wonderful guest like you. Sir, some urgent briefing will take place which will result improvement in approach.

4 Room Service already re introduced. We cannot afford such a complaint again! Thank you.

5. We already have highlighted the difficult terrain in our website. Also we make it a point to explain the difficulty to every guest who approach us directly.

We would love to host you again. You will then find your favorite property changed to your complete satisfaction.

Love,

Mrs Princy Seby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madurai, Tamil Nadu, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The trip to blackberry hills retreat and spa was splendid and it is worth every money you spend.
Anyone who is looking for a good place for honeymoon then you can go for this place without thinking. The location of the resort is excellent and the infrastructure was superb. I will recommend this hotel to anyone easily.

Room Tip: For honeymooners choose the honeymoon cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teamblackberry, Guest Relations Manager at Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review. Young romantic guest like you place Blackberry Hills in the top position among romantic hotels of the destination.

Pictures posted by you are tastefully taken. I feel like borrowing few for our website!

Love,

Mrs Princy Seby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa

Address: Bison Valley Road, Pothamedu, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Munnar
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Munnar
#6 Romantic Hotel in Munnar
#9 Family Hotel in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A set of cute cottages, nestling against the backdrop of Pallivasal basin in the middle of amazing natural beauty. Activities are nature related. Hornbill The Restaurant serves continental and ethnic menu. Sisal Spa add to your wellness experience. Trekking, Tea Plucking, Organic farming, ethnic games, etc are popular activities. Strawberries from our fields may not be the sweetest in the world but the view around it is perhaps so. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackberry Hills Retreat And Spa
Blackberry Hills Retreat Hotel Munnar
Blackberry Hills Mountain Ecolodges Munnar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.