We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camelot Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Camelot Resort to your Saves list
Camelot Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Munnar P.O. | Idukki Dist, Munnar 685612, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in Munnar
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is one excellent resort for all its qualities - location, service, premises,
Here's what i loved about this place: - wonderfully warm staff - beautiful huge rooms and nice housekeeping staff who taught us how to fold towels in fancy shapes - lavish buffet spread for all meals - in the middle of scenic tea gardens - beautiful tree house
i would definitely come back here with my family to experience the best get together

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    21
    5
    6
    7
See reviews for
30
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, Chandigarh, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Especially the room that we got was facing the hills. The outside view from room was exceptional. The two days we spent was a lazy holiday where no phone could disturb. Just the two of us. We got some friends in the evening along with the owner of resort. We played some one minute games and had a bonfire before the dinner. I forgot the name of owner, but he was very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiero2012, Director of Sales at Camelot Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We are pleased to note that you had a wondreful experience At Camelot Resort, thanks for motivating our team. The team and the owner Mr.Dileep is eagerly waiting for you to be back soon to our wonderful destination!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailea, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had the most delightful time staying at the Bald Mountain House. The scenery, the nature food we were served every day, and the quiet location made for a most relaxing stay.The Customer Service was the Best, this started from the first email I sent , inquiring about a weekend we wanted to stay at Camelot Resort, the owner Mr.Dileep made sure we have the right directions -emailed a copy to me because the GPS can turn you around on the mountain giving you wrong directions or not work, We drove right up to the house no problem and was greeted by him when we got there.The bed and breakfast is elegantly decorated with 3 spacious upstairs bedroom suites, each with their own view of spectacular mountain scenery. Linens, top quality, are clean and fresh. Beds are exceptionally comfortable. We went up to the top of resort 360 view, took some pictures and was excellent.

Room Tip: All the Rooms Are Great with a Great View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiero2012, Director of Sales at Camelot Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We are pleased to note that you had a nice experience with us.At Camelot Resort, we believe in quality and personalized service. We are trying to do more addons to improve the guest satisfaction and the feedback from our valued guests is really a motivation to our team.We are eagerly waiting for you to be back soon to our wonderful destination!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

stayed 2 nights in blackberry and one night in camelot. i must say the location of this resort is simply superb.it is located around the tea gardens,in the wild.the rooms are quite spacious and bathrooms are clean.the owner,Mr Dileep took us for a tea plantation tour early in the morning. the food is also good.i like it,but my mother didnt.so to each his own.we also purchased spices from the hotel an they were very good.all original.service is good and so is the overall interior of the resort.it is tastefully done.overall a very good property.i would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiero2012, Director of Sales at Camelot Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
First of all let me thank you for your wonderful experiences at Camelot Resort,Munnar, your comments have motivated our team to continue the same.We welcome you back to our resort for much more surprises in future and once again thanking you for taking your precious time to support us.

Lenin Peter
Director
Hiero Hospitality
(Marketing Camelot Resort,Munnar)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silver spring
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Come here for the view, sunset, sounds of nature. The rooms/resort are ok, nothing special, but the setting is magnificent. The staff are helpful, the buffet breakfast is good, and the walk through the tea plantation is atmospheric. It's cold in December, so bring warm clothes...there's no heat in the rooms (but the staff will give you extra blankets). It's a small place, no corporate feel -- which is a plus for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiero2012, Director of Sales at Camelot Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Let me take this moment to thank you for your stay and the valuable time spent to write about us.we value your comments with high priority. Your comments have motivated our team to continue the good services. we would also certainly look forward to better the areas ,that is suggested by your good-self.We welcome you and your family once again to our property with more surprises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Very very poor in the way you compiled this over the last weeks..this is how I see this.

Stay : during last week of dec
Booking mode: makemytrip
Stay: 2 nights

Location:
Camelot is situated around 12 kms from Munnar town. Only 4 wheelers can take the steep plain to reach this “hill-top” resort. If you take an auto(if one agrees to take you there), you should have to get down and walk for nearly 100-200 mtrs so that the auto can steep through the slope. It is really steep, untarred road amidst the trees. Autos charge around 250-300Rs to this place from the town (1 way). Cabs around 500Rs(1 way).
Resort is nicely situated overlooking the hills. It is a very good experience to stay around the place overlooking the tea plantations and the various hills around.

Food:

We are non-vegetarians and ardent food lovers having tasted multiple cuisine. So we do have a craving for good food. Moreso, this was our first trip to kerala, so we were craving for good authentic kerala food. When we reached the resort, we were told that the resort offers the best food in Munnar. Now, this is what happened. We were provided with breakfast as a part of the package. Decent thing about it is - Food is fresh but is churned out from one small , congested , cramped kitchen. COST of the food, we just had one lunch, one dinner and one breakfast. and let me explain the food quality - Lunch had sour chappatis , onion pakoda ( 200 per plate) had bad oil . Dinner - had chicken fry. the only good about it was the plate they served and the polythene wrap it had, else, it was not chicken kabab , it was bone kabab. Rice and Dal was ok, cause people just cant spoil these dishes even if they want to. Message to friends – AVOID having food in the resort.

Rooms:

Well planned rooms. Not many as of now, reckon there around 16 of them. However I may not say it as cozy. It is cramped for space. Some rooms are situated in the right places so pick the right rooms if you got a choice. Again, depends on the rating of the room chosen (paid for). No wifi is available. No calls to outside world either. Only BSNL network works (just works in some places of the resort). Water flow is regulated although fitted with gas water heaters. Most rooms have a balcony overlooking the plantations and hills. There is sufficient space around the rooms to walk and enjoy the surround if you needby. Resort is truly Green in that way with trees, plantations around. Clean and nicely maintained by the staff.

Value for money:

There is no value for INR  Felt it is more for non-desi crowd. We paid nearly 8.5K per night but the services offered were next to nothing. Thanks to our bad planning as we booked the resort just couple of weeks before the peak xmas –NY season. We have stayed in quite a few 3,4,5 * hotels / resorts around, but this for us was too costly and expensive. Food Experience made the pinch more saltier.

Staff:

Very very nice and accommodating for the guest request always. They are very few may be handful but each staff caters for most of all the requests with smile on their face always.

Overall rating : 1.5 / 5 (for the staff and location of the resort)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiero2012, Director of Sales at Camelot Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
let me thank you for your stay and the valuable time spent to write about us.we value your comments with high priority . we would certainly better the areas ,that is suggested by your good-self. We are really sorry for all inconveniences caused to you .We welcome you and your family once again to our property with more surprises
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Probably the worst property in Munnar possible. Its far away from main Munnar. Their "Luxury rooms" are worse than a standard room in a 2 start hotel. My room was like a store room for their alchohol and food supplies etc. The waiter was randomly entering my room apologizing and making drinks for other guests in my room. Not just that, ont he second day of my stay they lost my room keys, made me wait for 2 hours in the lobby with no answers. finally they broke the window to get in. We had to sleep an open window in the cold the whole night. They would even give extra duvet. Seriously guys don't get fooled by the pictures they put online. Not to mention there is nothing to do in or around the resort, except a big chessboard. Food was also very very average. I was getting MUCH better food almost everywhere else in Munnar.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiero2012, Director of Sales at Camelot Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
First of all let me thank you for your stay and the valuable time spent to write about us.we value your comments with high priority . we would certainly better the areas ,that is suggested by your good-self. Since one of our client had fallen sick, they had to stay back and we were sold out on that particular day, Due to this unfortunate incident we had to give u our directors room for you. We understand you were not comfortable due to this.it was really a mistake happened from our side,We are really sorry for all inconveniences caused to you .We welcome you and your family once again to our property with more surprises
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Camelot Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Resort

Address: Munnar P.O. | Idukki Dist, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Munnar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Munnar
#11 Family Hotel in Munnar
#16 Romantic Hotel in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camelot Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Camelot Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Hotel Munnar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camelot Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.