We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb resort with heavenly mountain viwes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deshadan Mountain Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Deshadan Mountain Resorts to your Saves list
Deshadan Mountain Resorts
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pothamedu, Munnar 685612, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 77 Hotels in Munnar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“A superb resort with heavenly mountain viwes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We had visited this resort during our Kerala tour in May'13. It's really at the highest altitude in Munnar. The way to resort from munnar city has terrific views and worth a drive up to resort. Views from the resort are truly fascinating. The resort in very clean and well maintained. Rooms were hygienic, neat and clean. In Garden view rooms there are two rooms with common hall and dining area with balcony attached to hall from where one can enjoy the views around the resort. The resort Manager and all staff at the resort are very helpful, friendly and responsive. Though we have visited the resort during peak season the staff still tried their best to serve us well. There are some birds and rabbits around the resort which is quite a fun for children's. We spent two nights at the resort and enjoyed a every moment we stayed there. The food at the restaurant is very good. The resort mostly offers buffet. Food is slightly expensive but it was common during our overall Kerala Trip at all restaurants.
My only suggestion to resort management is that they should improve the arrangement of drivers night stay at the resort. All guest arriving at resort are accompanied by local drivers and the temperature at such a height are very low during the night. I felt very pity as all the drivers were in their cabs during whole night and must be having terrible experience unless they are habitual of it.

Overall a superb resort to spend good quality time with family a must visit and worth every penny.

A tip to all visitors who are planning Kerala tour- please keep Munnar a last destination of your trip, don't keep it your starting destination as if you visit Munnar first then the subsequent visits to Thekkady, Thiruvantpuram or other destinations are just shadows of munnar. For honeymooners spend more time at Munnar than Thekaddy and more nights at Deshadan!!!

Room Tip: There are valley view & Garden view rooms at the resort. Views from Valley view are excellent an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM- Business Development at Deshadan Mountain Resorts, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Deshadan Munnar for spending your vacation.

We have taken note on your concerns as we will make sure that necessary actions will be taken on time.

Thank you once again.

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    138
    47
    15
    8
See reviews for
115
176
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This was my 3rd trip to munnar and yet everything was so exciting. Thanks to tripadvisor reviews and ranking..it helped me making my decision to stay at Deshadan mountain resort..in my view its one of the best resort in munnar..it constructed on the peak of a cliff in place called pothamedu, near to main city. Its valley view rooms are simply superb..truly amazing view..
Its service and hospitality was good..food was excellent and tasty..infact better than was i have thought..
In short..its a must visit resort in munnnar..

Room Tip: Valley view rooms are really awsum
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM- Business Development at Deshadan Mountain Resorts, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for comparing Munnar to Kashmir as we feel great to be part of the beautiful location.

We are making sure to generate comments from all our guest staying in Deshadan Munnar.

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This was my first destination for honeymoon and it was a total delight. The drive to this place itself is a treat for ones eyes...Beautiful place . lovely weather and scenic beauty. Be there for your honeymoon. Go with the buffet rather than ala carte.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM- Business Development at Deshadan Mountain Resorts, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Sir,

It was an overwhelming response.

We want to say thank you so much as we look forward to serve all our guest with the best of Deshadan hospitality at all times.

Warm Regards


Anup Balan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Driving up to Deshadan set our expectations soaring and we were not disappointed. Right from check-in to check-out, we were treated in a most hospitable manner. Munnar and Deshadan Resorts made us feel that we were indeed in 'God's own country'. The service was good and almost every staff member we interacted with made us feel at home. A dish or two that we liked were included in the buffet breakfast/dinner on request. We were given tips about places to visit including the soft trek, the path began just outside the resort gate. We enjoyed this enormously. I would certainly recommend Deshadan to friends.
One tip - when you want something, ask and they will certainly try to provide it.

Room Tip: If you are not at your fittest or have health issues, make sure you do not get rooms in the lowest l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM- Business Development at Deshadan Mountain Resorts, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for highlighting the best of Deshadan.

We will look forward to serving you again

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the resort dated 09/11/13 to 12/11/13. In Munnar the Very best service oriented peaceful resort was "DESHADAN MOUNTAIN RESORT".
We felt a different Location and a very fine service there. They are very much fond of satisfying our needs and make us enjoy. We tasted a very good Buffet breakfast and dinner. They prepared South indian foods (especially for us) with a great taste. They arranged a Good and thrilling "TREKKING " with a safe GUIDE. We enjoy every moment there . In the room we enjoyed the "Valley View" , and the MIST kissed us in the morning and evening. Our Kids cryed to extend the tour programme there in the Resort coz they feel very comfortable and happiness in DESHADAN. We felt very safe. We should mention importantly about the SERVICE they provided us especially Mr.BAIJU and Lallu . They helped us very much to enjoy our tour. If we were plan to Munnar the next time compulsory we stay in "DESHADAN" ONLY. D.Karthi,Chennai.

Room Tip: Vally view Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM- Business Development at Deshadan Mountain Resorts, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and to make your stay a memorable one.

Hope you can share your experiences with your near and dear ones.


Warm Regards

Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Great view, decent price, neat rooms. Food wasn't great. Visited in July 2011. One of the best Valley view places in Munnar and one of the more affordable Resort!

The highlights are the peaceful location and view. Service needs a bit of improvement though. I found it difficult to know about the restaurant. The didn't have an A'la cart menu. Buffet was a bit below average.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM- Business Development at Deshadan Mountain Resorts, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing Deshadan Group.

We would like to make sure that all the necessary requirements are taken care off to put Deshadan group at its best.

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed at the resort for 3 nights. Location wise, we couldn't ask for anything better. I don't think any other hotel / resort in Munnar would have been better than this.

Food was not so great, but acceptable. Staff was courteous. Breakfast had limited choices but not bad as such. We could also go for a short trek up the mountain. It also felt safe to be there with a family.

They also had decent arrangements (provide him food etc) for the driver.

Overall, if I were to go to Munnar again, Deshadan would be my first choice.

Prashant

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM- Business Development at Deshadan Mountain Resorts, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your whole heated comments towards Deshadan Munnar.

We are looking forward to have such comments from all our guest at all times.

Warm Regards


Anup Balan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deshadan Mountain Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deshadan Mountain Resorts

Address: Pothamedu, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Munnar
#5 Romantic Hotel in Munnar
#11 Family Hotel in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Deshadan Mountain Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and HostelBookers so you can book your Deshadan Mountain Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deshadan Mountain Hotel Munnar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deshadan Mountain Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.