We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birth takingly beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tall Trees

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Tall Trees to your Saves list
The Tall Trees
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PB.No. 40 , Munnar, Munnar 685612, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Munnar
cochin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Birth takingly beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

Hotel is one of the fine property in Munnar with excellent rooms and highly professional staff all around listening for your needs, From food perspective it was excellent,
They got a good adventure zone !!!!!!!!!!!! Burma Bridge , Net climbing and Zip line was Amazing.
All in all fine and decent property to spend couple of days

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    132
    40
    8
    9
See reviews for
117
130
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

It was our honeymoon trip...
Amazing location, nice rooms, great food, decent service, too good value for money....
Go ahead if you are considering to stay in this hotel....

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON, UK
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

The Tall Trees Resort had made it difficult to like them from the word go. Even before getting there, things had been a struggle. My initial enquiry wasn't answered and subsequent questions didn't bring a rapid response, requiring much chasing up. They required full payment in advance, but didn't have any online payment facilities so required a bank transfer. I also wanted some help booking hiking at Chinnar wildlife park, but, unhelpfully they said that they "didn't have the contact number of the Chinnar office..."

Anyhow, getting to the Resort was easy enough; coming from Adimali, there is a right turn before the town of Munnar, signposted to the Resort. It's a narrow road and climbs and then drops to the resort. The first part is in tea plantations and just before the resort, becomes denser forest.

Reassuringly, the hotel was expecting me, although the room wasn't ready. As I had just cycled from Adimali (some 25 miles, all uphill) I was hot and tired, and so this delay wasn't appreciated. The lack of cold drink and cold towel was also noted. I was accompanied to the restaurant where I was brought a drink, and then my room was ready.

First impressions are of a very attractive resort. It is perched on a hill side with a collection of cottages connected by paths. The cottage I was in had a large bed, adequate bathroom and balcony with good view. The room was large and clean.

Downsides, started to appear though. The booking was meant to include "complimentary soft drink on arrival, fruit basket and chocolate." The latter two did not materialise. The resort is built on a very steep slope - for people who struggle climbing, the ascent from the cottages to the restaurant could prove challenging. The cottages are semi-detached, but the party walls are very thin, so if you get noisy neighbours you could be in for a sleepless night.

There was some repair work going on during my stay, and the most annoying of this was the cleaning of the red tile floors with turpentine. The dining room smelt strongly of this during one breakfast, inducing a headache.

The hotel is 'dry' which of itself isn't a problem. But it does mean that there is no bar or social area to sit. Meals were buffets - good range of Indian food, very enjoyable, Breakfasts were a bit more haphazard. While meant to be ready from 7.30am there was lots still being prepared then - not much use if you are looking for an early start.

The grounds have a fair bit of wildlife - Giant Squirrels, frogs, birds and insects. Unfortunately the attention to care of the grounds is a little slack - there's far too much litter in the planted areas. There was also a fairly constant smell of burning plastic which in fairness may have been from the neighbouring village which has a serious litter problem.

To counterbalance all these niggles, the setting is great, the staff friendly and welcoming and the accommodation itself pretty good. If they could overcome some of these issues then it would be a great resort.

The same measured tone cannot be adopted, however for their Christmas celebrations, whch were one of the most dire experiences I can remember in a long time. A stage had been set up in a clearing, with the buffet food arranged around the edge of clearing. It was windy and cold, and the performances for the most part were dire, outdone only by the compere who was cringeworthy and dire. After a short time most people had retired to their rooms but it really was abysmal and I pity any one who paid specifically to come to the event. However, as prospective guests reading this are unlikely to be here for Christmas, don't let this put you off.

On my final day, very little breakfast was ready by 07.45 so I gave up on this. I was presented with a number of extras on my bill, including the drink when I first arrived (no hospitality drink then), a fruit punch that wasn't mine and a bottle of water that I had asked for as the daily replacement in the room had failed to arrive.

At this point, asked what had happened to the complimentary items mentioned, was told that there was no complimentary items beyond the daily water and so rather than quibbling gave it up as a bad job.

I suspect given that there are a fair few new resorts along this bit of road outside Munnar, there will be better run, better value places to stay. I would probably not come back here if I were in the area again, unfortunately.

Several reviewers comment that there's not a lot to do in the surrounding area: I was lucky and had a bike with me. The local roads are quiet and the town of Old Munnar is not far away either on foot or by bike. There's good local strolling along the village roads. If you are more adventurous and have a bike, the loop from the hotel, down Bison Valley, back up to the main road at Devikulam and then back in to Munnar is sublime.

I also went on day trip out to Chinnar to see the Muniyaras and rock art which was a long drive but worth the trip. As the hotel weren't great at organising such things, I sorted it out with one of the many tour operators in Munnar.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Cloud, Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

We stayed at "tall trees" in Munnar, Kerala, over New Year 2009/2010 and totally fell in love with that place. It's lovely bungalows are set amidst a tropical rainforest with gigantic trees, thus the name, with orchids and wild flowers everywhere and when you wake up, it's like being in an enchanting forest.
The staff is really very nice and helpful, I had a little health problem and they accompanied me and my husband to the hospital and waited with us there until the exams were over, really very sweet.
It's a great place for a rest, for hiking in the forest and the tea plantations which are everywhere and to just enjoy this beautiful nature.
But don't expect roomservice, the restaurant is a steep way up ,and not ideal for older or handicapped people. And the room cleaning service could be more sufficient (ours still wasn't made up by late afternoon!!)
Anyway, it's an excellent choice if you're on or from your way to Madurai and our only regret was that we didn't stay long enough!
Alexandra Forget, Paris, France

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

It was a excellent stay at Tall trees resort. I could not express that in words. Anyone would like to travel munnar should visit that. Nice location, maintained landscapes, excellent restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

it was a great exprince staying in Tall Tree, its a excellent property, with great view of nature.
the staff are nice and we really enjoyed our stay. it was a perfect romantic stay at the resort. the food was not so grate but of average .
overall i would recommend my friends to stay at this resort.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

I stayed in the deluxe room for 2nights 3 days in december beginning.

The first thing that strikes you as the car turns into the gate of The Tall Trees Munnar is just how green the place is ! It is ideal for city people who want to take a break from the crowds and be close to nature. The rooms are more like cottages which are located at a distance from each other, so it does not give a feeling of overcrowding.Each room has a balcony,perfect for enjoying a cup of tea.The staff is very courteous and always smiling.There was a bonfire and music on sat and sun night which we enjoyed (even though not many guests attended it). Having said that,there are few things to watch out for-
1)Rooms are average, though clean,beds and pillows are soft ; Bathrooms are rather small and flush stopped working after an hour, which seems to be a common prob from other reviews as well
2)Food is exceptionally bad.There is a an elaborate buffet,and though everything looks good,but there is no flavour in the food
3)Restaurant is at quite a height, and its almost feels like a ten min trek up to get there
4)The hotel offers treks/plantation visits but dont stick to the scheduled time.On our last day we were supposed to go for a one hour trek at 9.30 am in the morning(which according to us was very late but front desk staff said it cannot be organized earlier).After calling them 2-3 times, they informed us that it would start at 10.Eventually the trek guide turned up at 10.20 am by which it was too hot to go for a trek and we were getting late in leaving for our next destination.It was a complete waste of our whole morning which could have been enjoyable had we planned it on our own.

Overall, I would reccomend this place for 2 nights, not more than that.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tall Trees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tall Trees

Address: PB.No. 40 , Munnar, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Munnar
#5 Family Hotel in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Tall Trees 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst stunningly verdant woodlands and explosive cardamom plantations , The Tall Trees is a quintessential nature hideaway. 66 acres of virginal wilderness entrancingly held together by the overarching presence of 569 trees.Here you can have a different holiday with nature..One of the best spots for honeymooners with duplex cottages as speciality...Imagine a trek in the western ghats with your partner...In short 66 acres.... 569 tall trees ....0% polluttion.......& just 19 cottages.. A must see for nature lover and adventure tourist.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Tall Trees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tall Trees Hotel Munnar
Tall Trees Hotel Munnar
Tall Trees Munnar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tall Trees, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.