We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite vacation spot in India” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tall Trees

Save Saved
You added The Tall Trees to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Tall Trees
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PB.No. 40 , Munnar, Munnar 685612, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
HONEYMOON PACKAGES
Ranked #5 of 66 hotels in Munnar
CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My Favorite vacation spot in India”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

We went to Munnar a year back and stayed at the Tall tree resort. The cottages are scattered on a side of a hill and each cottage has excellent views of the hillside and the tea plantations. The restaurant on top of the hill in this resort is very peaceful and the food is amazing. They had both local and international food available and the chef prepared local fish curries on special request. The restaurant even packs picnic baskets for lunch. We spent the first day in the resort itself. We went to see the tea plantations on the second day. There was an old tea processing plant built in the 1800s which is still working in the hills. It was a great experience going there in a jeep through the narrow paths along the hills through the tea plantations. But it our backs hurt a lot at the end of the day as the path was very bumpy.

All in all it was a very good romantic destination and I would strongly recommend it.

Shreya,
CA, USA

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    118
    35
    6
    9
See reviews for
95
115
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

The best thing about this place is its location. Just off a quiet road out of Munnar, it's set in a wood (clearly...) and amongst very well kept gardens. Across the road are vast expanses of tea plantations and breathtaking scenery.
The food was very good. The only thing which wasn't was the lamb I had on the first night, which although tasty, was mostly bones. The buffets were really good however, in particular the Keralan breakfast.
Staff were friendly, but overattentive over dinner, to an extent where they were refilling my water glass every time I took a sip. I'm not exaggerating.
Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

Booking:
We booked through a friend's Club Mahindra Timeshare about 2 weeks in advance. It was hassle-free
Location:
The hotel is very well located. About 7 kms from Munnar town - close enough for a appetite enhancing walk & a thali lunch at Sarvanna bhawan and far enough for complete solitude.
It is built into the hills, with lush green tea gardens on the other side and Tall trees all around !
The giant Malabar squirrels with their huge bushy tails & woody call were a fascinating experience - one day we watched a couple of them play tag for nearly 15 mins in the trees around us. Our daughter counted 42 bee hives on one tree next to our cottage.
Accomodation:
About 18-20 cottages spread out in 6-7 clusters. The rooms are spacious, but the furniture & furnishings need better maintenance. They changed sheets/ towels daily but the overall feel could be significantly improved
Restaurant:
A steep climb from the rooms; Small & compact with a transparent roof & a balcony. Look up to see the Tall trees waving down at you. Sit out at the balcony to look down on tree tops. Good for a couple to enjoy the meal outdoors.
The food was OK, service excellent and special meal requests were entertained (when we wanted to eat light, something special for the children......)
For a change there are a couple of B&Bs nearby - they will be happy to serve b'fast/ lunch/ dinne with advance notice
Facilities:
No TV in the room - great idea when one is on a vacation!
But extremely deficient in the games & entertainment department. The hotel really needs to talk to guests (esp. from the large no. of families visiting them) and understand needs. A TT table with broken bats, warped carromboard & a chessboard was all they had. We had a hard time keeping our 8 year old engaged.

For the adventure entusiasts, they have an activity warden who will accompany you for hills treks, tea garden walks. However, there weren't enough options available. They could not suggest much - was mostly upto the guest to ask.

For us reading, walking & taking in nature with a few trips to Munnar town was just what we wanted. So we loved the stay overall.

  • Liked — Location & Weather
  • Disliked — Upkeep of the rooms & Entertainment options
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

very good property and really nicely manage.the food is very excellent and i will visit again in my life time.

  • Liked — HOuse
  • Disliked — no fans in huts
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

It may just have been the time I stayed (May) but our room had tons of insects from the outside. The room was also very humid and damp.

It was a very nice hotel, but for the money, I expected it to be a bit nicer in the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

We visited with a party of 20 for a post-wedding tour. The buffet had a good variety and room service was tasty, but not super fast (it's India Standard Time after all). I heard that the Ayurvedic Massage was good from a couple of people who tried it. There are badminton courts and numerous activities including a games room (table tennis!) to keep occupied when you're at the hotel. No TVs in the rooms or internet but we didn't need or expect it. Come for a cool experience. The insects are VERY loud at sunrise and sunset but it's a cool experience to hear the forest alive around you. There were a number of activities you can arrange from the hotel but we had private guides and did not try them. They have a bonfire at night and play annoying "americanized" music but you can make requests.

The only caveats are that this is not good for handicapped or elderly due to steep hills and climbs to the restaurant and many stairs in most of the rooms. The rooms are clean and aside from a few bugs (heck, it's a jungle) the stay was very pleasant. No air-conditioning but it's much cooler in the hills than most of Kerala.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, KS
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

Had been to Tall trees with my wife on our trip to India, at first i was a bit hesitant as it was quite secluded, but the place was extremely beautiful, my room had a view of the forest could not see it modt of the time because of the fog, and the whole place is so full of greeenery with a couple of small streams, the food was good, you can imagine a typical Keralite cook makking north indian and chinese ( No offense to any people, it would be the same if a punjabi cook were to make some puttu or sambar), the food was managable, i was there for 3 days and was one with nature all the while not going anywhere

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Tall Trees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tall Trees

Address: PB.No. 40 , Munnar, Munnar 685612, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Munnar
#6 Romantic Hotel in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Tall Trees 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst stunningly verdant woodlands and explosive cardamom plantations , The Tall Trees is a quintessential nature hideaway. 66 acres of virginal wilderness entrancingly held together by the overarching presence of 569 trees.Here you can have a different holiday with nature..One of the best spots for honeymooners with duplex cottages as speciality...Imagine a trek in the western ghats with your partner...In short 66 acres.... 569 tall trees ....0% polluttion.......& just 19 cottages.. A must see for nature lover and adventure tourist.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your The Tall Trees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tall Trees Hotel Munnar
Tall Trees Hotel Munnar
Tall Trees Munnar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tall Trees, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.