We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to calm down after India's harried cities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tall Trees

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Tall Trees to your Saves list
The Tall Trees
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PB.No. 40, Munnar 685612, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Honeymoon Packages
Ranked #11 of 77 Hotels in Munnar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great place to calm down after India's harried cities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

After a month visiting the high profile tourist sites of Rajasthan and Kashmir, my family of adults went her to have some quiet time. The area is beautiful and tranquil, and the walks and small scale drives from the hotel are a simple pleasure. Rooms all give a sense of privacy, and watching the changing weather from your patio is a pleasure.

The restaurant serves a consistent 15 or so largely Indian offerings in its buffet along with a few Western a la cart options. Meals were of a quality that one would expect from a remote resort, although after a few days there we spiced it up with meals out.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myMunnar, General Manager at The Tall Trees, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank You very much for staying with us during your recent visit to Munnar and taking your valuable time to review our resort.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed our resort and the services offered. Your good words and the rating 4/5 will be a great motivation for all of us here.

Thank you again and look forward to host you again.

Best Regards

Aju Abraham Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    148
    47
    10
    9
See reviews for
130
150
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed in this property in second week of May'14 out of our honeymoon trip, we reached there from Cochin and it took around 5-6 hours from there.
On reaching, we were given welcome drink made of black coffee with ginger.
Rain welcomed us on reaching there, so entire property was giving a beautiful view.
We stayed in standard cottage, though i was expecting duplex as was not known at time of booking that they have duplex cottages too.
View from room was nice, and air was refreshing free from dust and any kind of noise.
Only sound you hear is of birds and birds, which gives you soothing experience.
Food need improvement, especially their north Indian preparation. South India food tastes great.
Signal does not reach all the time, so connectivity can be an issue for certain individuals.
Overall it was nice to be there.

Room Tip: Go for morning walk, enjoy views of tea garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myMunnar, General Manager at The Tall Trees, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for honeymooning among the Tall Trees .

We are extremely happy to learn that you enjoyed the "honeymoon in the lap of nature".
Your good words and the rating 4/5 will be great motivation for all of us among The Tall Trees.

I would also like to mention once again for the TA community that being in the hills , signals\ connectivity is available only for Vodafone & BSNL and the WIFI available is of moderate speed.

Thank you again and look forward to host you again.

Best Regards

Aju Abraham Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this property in the last week of Apr...the property is set amidst a rich cardamom plantation. Extremely picturesque and a photographers delight... Bungalow was fairly comfortable although it was in a duplex configuration with the bedroom below and the living room above at the entrance level. Found the food variety and standard lacking...restaurant is located at a distance from the rooms uphill !!!!!! ..Try and get rooms closer to the restaurant...

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myMunnar, General Manager at The Tall Trees, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking your precious time to review our resort.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed the holiday among the Tall Trees.
The Comment regarding the food served at the restaurant has been made to the notice of our
chef .

Thanks again and look forward to host you again.

Best Regards

Aju Abraham Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I went here with my wife.... fantastic property... good food.... nice service...

The view out side is breathtaking... mornings and evening are very misty...

The property has loads of activities... massage center..

but little expensive...

Room Tip: Choose the ones facing the valley..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myMunnar, General Manager at The Tall Trees, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for staying with us during your visit to Munnar and taking your valuable time to review us .

We all are extremely happy to learn that you enjoyed the holiday among The Tall Trees and your good words with rating 5/5 will be a great motivation for the entire team .

Thank You and look forward to host you again.

Best Regards

Aju Abraham Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my family for two days. The resort is very interior and far from the main town area. The place is surrounded by trees and cardamon plants. It gives a feel of living in a Jungle. Mornings are very beautiful and you wake up hearing chirping of birds. Wonderful morning experience.

The problem we found here was that the standard room allotted to us was very interior and we had to climb up and down many stairs. Fortunately the resort had another deluxe room empty so they provided it to us on request as i had problem in my knee.

The staff of the hotel was very good and courteous.

The food of their restaurant was average and they had very few varieties in vegetarian food. The quantity they served was very less for the money they charged per dish.

If u have your own vehicle and you are fit enough to climb up and down the stairs/slope then only go for this resort.

Room Tip: Resort not suitable for old aged people. Don't choose standard cottage if u are not fit enough t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myMunnar, General Manager at The Tall Trees, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking time to review our resort.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed the holiday among The Tall Trees in general , your concern regarding the food has been taken very seriously and I had instructed our Chef and the F & B team on the same.

TA members please note that as we have mentioned earlier our resort is 8 km away from Munnar town and is 4 km from the state highway . Also our cottages are spread out and is removed from each other just for your privacy in the lap of nature . The restaurant and the reception is about 100 - 200mtrs from the cottages.

Thank you and look forward to host you again.

Best Regards

Aju Abraham Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Tall tree is one of the great resort in Munnar. We had enjoyed our stay up to fullest due to Tall Tree. THey have lots of activities along with big rooms and big terrace attached with each cottage (Best thing i liked).
They can improve on food. Staff is very pleasing and cooperative. Although this is little far and on hills but worth going so long if you wanted to enjoy nature.
Overall highly recommended. Bone fire and other activities were enjoyed upto full extend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myMunnar, General Manager at The Tall Trees, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank You very much for being with us during your recent visit to Munnar and sharing your experience through TA.

We are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful holiday among The Tall Trees and our services have matched your expectations. Your good words and the rating 5/5 is a great motivation for all of us.

Thank you for recommending us for those planning a holiday at Munnar and look forward to host you again.

Best Regards

Aju Abraham Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is a lovely hotel but it is built on a hillside. It s a long climb to the restaurant. Worth it for the views. Lovely service. Food OK but not exceptional. Little bungalows lovely, especially the outdoor space. Very spacious. Had a really nice balcony from the bedroom. No alcohol here but OK to bring your own. Really peaceful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myMunnar, General Manager at The Tall Trees, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking your valuable time to review our resort.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed the holiday among The Tall Trees and the good words you shared about us will be a great motivation for all of us.

Thank you again and look forward to host you again.

Best Regards


Aju Abraham Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tall Trees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tall Trees

Address: PB.No. 40, Munnar 685612, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Munnar
#7 Family Hotel in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Tall Trees 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst stunningly verdant woodlands and explosive cardamom plantations , The Tall Trees is a quintessential nature hideaway. 66 acres of virginal wilderness entrancingly held together by the overarching presence of 569 trees.Here you can have a different holiday with nature..One of the best spots for honeymooners with duplex cottages as speciality...Imagine a trek in the western ghats with your partner...In short 66 acres.... 569 tall trees ....0% polluttion.......& just 19 cottages.. A must see for nature lover and adventure tourist.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Tall Trees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tall Trees Hotel Munnar
Tall Trees Hotel Munnar
Tall Trees Munnar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tall Trees, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.