We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tall Trees

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Tall Trees to your Saves list
The Tall Trees
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PB.No. 40 , Munnar, Munnar 685612, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Munnar
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We decided to splurge in Munnar, and we were not disappointed. The hotel consist of rooms in small houses under, precisely, the tall trees. Rooms are clean and comfortable (beds could have been softer). We were there in June, and is was actually a bit cold – so bring warm clothes. The hotel restaurant at the top of the hill offers nice breakfast and a good dinner buffet. Tall trees was an excellent choice! Staff was helpful in arranging activities for us. However – the massage and treatment at the spa was not very satisfying, so spend your time at the tea plantations instead.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myMunnar, General Manager at The Tall Trees, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking your valuable time to review our resort.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed the holiday amongst THE TALL TREES and the rating 5/5 will be a great motivation for all of us.

I am sure that your review about us will be helpful for many travelers alike.

Thank you and look forward to host you again.

Best Regards

Aju Abraham Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    132
    40
    8
    9
See reviews for
117
130
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
India
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Right from the booking of the room over the net, we had a pleasant experience with The Tall Trees. We took a taxi from the Coimbatore railway station to reach the resort. The person at the front office gave us perfect directions when we called her from Munnar. It is about 7 km from Munnar town but if you are looking to relax and not go around too much it is the ideal place. Even if you want to go sightseeing, the resort will arrange for a taxi or an auto depending on your preference.

The rooms are quite a distance away from the reception. It is a pleasant walk (up and down of course) through lush green vegetation and landscaped paths. The room itself was extremely comfortable and clean. There was a large balcony attached to the room and it was the perfect spot for bird watching or just lazing. Unfortunately, it was raining when we visited and we couldn’t use the balcony as much as we would have otherwise. There is a lot of bird life around and you can hear the lovely song of the Malabar whistling thrush at any time of the day. There were also a lot of Malabar giant squirrels around.
By the time we had lunch and came back, an extra bed, extra towel, extra toiletries and water had been arranged even without asking for them. All necessary toiletries were provided: Shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, soap, moisturiser, dental kit, comb, shower caps, shaving kit etc. The rooms were cleaned every day. One plus point for me was that there was no TV in the room!

The restaurant was at a higher level and the climb was pretty steep. Only those in good shape can get to and from easily! The restaurant is nicely designed with the roof made of glass so that we could get a view of the sky and the greenery around. The food was tasty. Breakfast was complementary. There was a good variety: some continental, eggs to order, some South Indian and Some north Indian. There were fruits as well as a milk shake and a fresh fruit juice. It would have been nice if the fruits in season such as mangoes and jackfruit had also been provided. Lunch was ala carte. Dinner was a compulsory buffet. There was a good spread, but it would have been nice if the guests are allowed to choose if they want to opt for the buffet or not. Most of the food was good, however, the pasta and the panner subji left a lot to be desired.

The property as such is beautiful. As the name suggests, there are innumerable tall trees, cardamom plantations, a treeshop for souveniers, an ayurvedic spa, an activity room with table tennis, caroms, chess, snakes and ladders, a reading room with a TV, free wifi, an outdoor dining area with barbeque and a camp fire area. The resort had arranged for a morning trek, a plantation tour and an evening walk. There were also adventure spots available for those who wanted it. Special candle light dinners are also arranged outdoors if you wanted it. It was however raining when we went there and these activities were ruled out.

Room Tip: The rooms are all good. However, they are a long walk away from the reception and the restaurant. As...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myMunnar, General Manager at The Tall Trees, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking your precious time to review our resort.

We are extremely happy to learn that you enjoyed your holiday amongst The Tall Trees Munnar. The detailed review with a rating 5/5 from a senior contributor like you will be a great motivation for the entire team and it will be helpful for many travelers alike.

Thank You again for sharing your experience through Trip Advisor and kindly stay with us during your next visit also.

Best Regards

Aju Abraham Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udaipur, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

On my travel to Kerala, stayed in Tall Trees, really liked It in all means. Probably this would be the best resort in Munnar..Stayed in Luxury Cottage and was really really Luxurious with all amenities. Should mention about the Staff and their awesome service..After my visit, almost 5 people already visited this place by hearing from my mouth itself..Such a beauty..such a hospitality..Should not miss it..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myMunnar, General Manager at The Tall Trees, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for staying with us and sparing your valuable time to review us.

We are indeed happy to learn that we met your expectations . Your good words and the points 5/5 will be a motivation for the entire team and it will surely boost our confidence.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor and recommending us to all.

Look forward to host you again amongst The Tall Trees Munnar.

Best Regards

Aju Abraham Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Tall Trees resort is a great place to stay and it feels you are actually living in a forest. The cottages were spacious and lovely with beautiful surroundings. It’s a peaceful place with excellent service, friendly staff and great food. Very romantic ambiance overall, I highly recommend it.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myMunnar, General Manager at The Tall Trees, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking your valuable time to review our resort.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed the holiday amongst the TALL TREES and the rating 5/5 from a senior reviewer like you will be a great motivation for all of us.
I am sure that your review about us and other two reviews about the beauty of Munnar will be helpful for many travelers alike.

Thank you and look forward to host you again.

Best Regards

Aju Abraham Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

we stayed here in may 2013. great place to stay, perfect environs, good service, good food....peaceful place amidst literally the tall trees. will love to re visit this place and munnar. the only negative is the place is aged / old people not friendly, as there is a hike up and down, particularly steep hike to restaurant...
- manish, mumbai.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myMunnar, General Manager at The Tall Trees, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking time to review our resort.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay and I am sure the short review will be helpful to many travelers alike.

Look forward to host you again at the earliest.

Best Regards

Aju Abraham Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were a group of 26 Europeans staying at Tall Trees over New Year's for 2 nights. I would highly recommend this hotel, the cottages were lovely, the surroundings sublime! The hotel employees took us for a 5 hour hike to the mountains, on an Indiana-Jones style trek! The food was good, though more tailored to European tastes, the restaurant location and views were great, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The only downside was the New Year's performance. It was interesting, with many performances, but very loud, and slightly bizarre, I wouldn't say it was worth the price. Otherwise, a wonderful stay if you're looking for peace, greenery and a stay in the forest, away from the dirty, grimy cities!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myMunnar, General Manager at The Tall Trees, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for staying with us and reviewing our resort.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed the resort , services offered and the overall ambience .
Your good words and the points 5/5 will surely be a motivation for all of us here .

Thank you for recommending us through TA and look forward to host you again amongst The Tall Trees.

Regards

Aju Abraham Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed for three nights. This is a fabulous resort set in cardamom plantations & huge trees shading the entire property. We woke up to fabulous birdlife everyday, enjoyed the walks, the food & service was super, the staff very well trained. The rooms had lovely views and balconies, total privacy and clean rooms. Very much one with nature. It was very peaceful, relaxing and pleasant 3 nights stay.
However, for senior citizens/people with heart ailments, walking is hard and the hotel should provide buggy/cart for them to move around.

Room Tip: All cottages are privately located and have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myMunnar, General Manager at The Tall Trees, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for staying with us and reviewing our resort.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your holiday amongst The Tall Trees at its best and your rating 5/5 will be a great motivation for the entire team.

Look forward to host you again at the earliest.

Best Regards


Aju Abraham Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tall Trees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tall Trees

Address: PB.No. 40 , Munnar, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Munnar
#5 Family Hotel in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Tall Trees 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst stunningly verdant woodlands and explosive cardamom plantations , The Tall Trees is a quintessential nature hideaway. 66 acres of virginal wilderness entrancingly held together by the overarching presence of 569 trees.Here you can have a different holiday with nature..One of the best spots for honeymooners with duplex cottages as speciality...Imagine a trek in the western ghats with your partner...In short 66 acres.... 569 tall trees ....0% polluttion.......& just 19 cottages.. A must see for nature lover and adventure tourist.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Tall Trees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tall Trees Hotel Munnar
Tall Trees Hotel Munnar
Tall Trees Munnar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tall Trees, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.