We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Munnar Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Munnar Inn to your Saves list
Munnar Inn
Telephone Office Junction,Opposite BSNL Office, Munnar 685612, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 66 Hotels in Munnar
Mapusa, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Bad Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Would never recommend this Hotel to anyryone.
Had a very bad experience though we had booked well in advance they did not allow to check in giving excuse of no room availability.
Then shifted us to some remotely located Hotel as an alternate option. The new location was very far then what we were told.
No to this Hotel any time, the staff experience was bad.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    38
    18
    5
    13
See reviews for
28
27
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We were forced to spend a night at the Munnar Inn, a newly acquired property by Le Celestium (more about them in a different review). The only thing in its favour is that it is centrally located. We got the superior delux room, but after a short trip to the market, we opened the doors to our room to find it a playground for baby cockroaches. They were everywhere... on the bed, the nightstand, the table, the floor! The bed linen was dirty, and looked slept in. Although we were immediately shifted to another room, we asked housekeeping to spray a cockroach repellent, and the guy had the temerity to take an empty spray around the room. When I took it up with them, they just gave me an unapologetic shrug.
We also tried the food here at the Silverspoon restaurant, and it was the most terrible meal we'd had on our 10-day trip to Kerala.

Room Tip: If you really must, then choose the delux room on the third floor with the canal view. ONLY if you m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We spent one night in the Munnar Inn. The hotel is located in the very center of Munnar, so do not expect beautiful views or nice things to see when watching out of the window. Clean rooms, hot shower, clean sheets and towels - that's basically all you can want as an economy traveller. And that's what we got at the Munnar Inn.
Notably, it can get pretty cold at night; extra blankets did the job the hotel's isolation could not do. The windows are poor noise-shredders, too, so try to get a room at the backside of the building.
We cannot recommend the restaurant in the basement for breakfast. No complaints about the toast and jam, but the kitchen was unable to produce 2 hard-boiled eggs and paired with rediculous service staff we had to cancel the order and were happy we didn't have dinner there.
The hotel does not have WiFi nor an Internet-PC, and international calls can also not be made there. "Only outside", which directed us to the Internet-Cafe in walking distance.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the backside of the building because it's more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We visited Munnar in late October 2012, 24th to be exact, and stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Here are the pros and cons of this hotel.
Pros....
This place right at the heart of the town, so the market and all other facilities are in your reach,
It has its own restaurant, good food, but there are other food joints also available for you in a walking distance.
The bus & taxi stand is just next to this hotel, so reaching this hotel can not be a problem at all.
Cons....
This is not a place for people who wants to stay out of city / town hassle, and surely not for any honeymoon couple.
This hotel is actually has 3+ floors, but no lift, and stairs are very stiff, so elderly people and people who has problem of climbing stairs will be have problem even if the room is in floor 1 / 2
Conclusion : Its clean, good facilities, in short value for your money.

Room Tip: Avoid staying in rooms which are in font of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pudukkottai, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Just ok. If the purpose is to just sleep in the night and get fresh in the morning, it is served. I had bad experience like, when I requested for additional pillows, I got some used ones!!

The restaurant is good. Breakfast is free and it offeres Dosas, Idlis, pooris and Toasts for the breakfast. Lunch and Dinner were nice.

Room Tip: Insist on spacious room while booking itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Easy to find place. A considerably small property maintained by Olivia properties. Affordable and recommended for just overnight stays. However, no elevators to reach to your rooms which can be anywhere in the 3 floor property. This was a little turn down. Reasonable quality of food in their dining situated in the basement. moderately priced. Cant comment about service as we reached there on a day when the state called for strike. Hotel staff apologized for the inconvenience though.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Plus point is - this hotel is situated in the bang centre of Munnar town.. very close to market place, within stones throw away from Kannan Devan Tea Stores, chocolate shops etc. Our room was clean and decent. Room service was good.
But, the restaurant was not clean. Restaurant service was also not good.. Just one waiter for all the tables..Needs improvement in this regard.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Munnar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munnar Inn

Address: Telephone Office Junction,Opposite BSNL Office, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 66 Hotels in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel munnarinn, tourist hotel of Munnar in Kerala, offers the best accommodation for tourists to Munnar with services including Multicuisine restaurant, package tours, tree house (House atop tree), campfire,trecking, gift shop, designers jewellery collection (The largest Jewellery shop in Munnar), and special honeymoon packages. You may also have a trailer made package to suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your Munnar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Munnar Hotel Munnar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Munnar Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.