We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gruenburg - Gem of Munnar!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gruenberg Tea Plantation Haus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gruenberg Tea Plantation Haus to your Saves list
Gruenberg Tea Plantation Haus
Chithirapuram PO, Power House Road | Dobipalam, Munnar 685565, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 101 Munnar B&B and Inns
Bangalore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gruenburg - Gem of Munnar!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I am adding up views with regard to shils37. We were 2 couples who stayed in Gruenburg in 31st march and had the best time of our lives.
Our stay was made memorable by the friendly and helping staff led by Mr Anand.
They have excellent chef who made the most tastiest mouth watering traditional food of kerala.
Our overall experience in Gruenburg has been excellent. We wait eagerly to visit the place again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    34
    12
    0
    1
See reviews for
40
78
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Lovely, new property about 10km outside of Munnar. Large, well-designed rooms with huge windows through which you can view the rolling hills lined with tea bushes. Excellent breakfast on the roof, great wifi connection, and extremely helpful staff who will make sure your every need is taken care of. It is a bit isolated but there is a bus stop about 1 km away to get to Munnar (12R, 20 min) if needed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had traveled to Munnar on 31st March, I had reserved Gruenberg by looking at their beautiful website and reviews in Tripadviser.

When we were heading to Munnar there were butterflies in my stomach thinking if it is not good need hear a lot from my Husband :P. When we were searching for address Mr.Anand, staff from Gruenberg was very helpful even he came to pick up us from the main point.

When we reached it was a ecstatic moment for us. Rooms were completely fresh and clean, aesthetically designed.

View from rooms to the Tata Tea estate was awesome, sit out for the view to the Forest, Roof top restaurant to the view of estate and forest was Good. Morning coffee and a walk in the lap tea estates was fresh.

At last but not least Food was great, Hats off to Chef for the taste he brings in to the Food and the presentation was lovely :)

In Total was a great memorable trip to Munnar with Chilling weather and awesome stay.

Wishing all the best to Gruenberg team, They are heading for a Great Hospitality in future.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This cute pretty little hotel was a surprising find after wandering on a bike all over munnar in search of a decent and not ridiculously over-priced hotel! My husband and I I found this hotel a few kms from Munnar, near Pallivasal, right in the middle of the tea plantations.
Nice, super clean and comfortable rooms, fluffly beds and pillows and huge windows giving wonderful views of the tea plantations and the lovely mountains.
Anand, the manager is very friendly and the staff is very nice. Prompt service, good food (served on the roof top restaurant) and a great collection of books in their library.
The hotel was so nice that we ended up spending a lot of our time in the hotel reading books and enjoying nature's beauty. In the mornings we would take a walk through the plantations and come back to a lovely breakfast at the hotel.
Overall, a great place to unwind, relax and be with nature!

Room Tip: Choose room 207! Great view of the plantations
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Gruenberg is set within a tea plantation and the view over the hills is amazing. Sitting in the morning sunshine on the roof top restaurant, eating breakfast and looking out onto that view - it can`t get better than that! The rooms are clean, comfortable luxuries and the food is delicious. Gruenberg is approximately 7 kilometers from Munnar, so is very peaceful and quiet, however, the local attractions are not too far way. We went to the Tea Factory, Top Station and went for a walk through the plantation. They have a wonderful library also. Perfect!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel is built in the middle of rolling tea plantations with wonderful views of the tea plantations and the mountains beyond it. We could see the views from our bed and from the balcony. The cool air was delightful and refreshing. The food in the restaurant was very good, and the service there was excellent

The best part of the trip personally for me was just sitting by the balcony early mornings and late evenings with a cup of tea enjoying the stunning green tea plantations against the misty mountains

Highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed the stay at gruenberg. Booked for 2 nights but extended to 7 nights. Waking up to birdsong and gorgeous tea mountain views from a large luxurious room and the wonderful food we had at the roof top restaurant, we will remember fondly for a long time.
We can heartly recommend this beautiful boutique hotel

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gruenberg Tea Plantation Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gruenberg Tea Plantation Haus

Address: Chithirapuram PO, Power House Road | Dobipalam, Munnar 685565, India
Location: India > Kerala > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms with both sides view. Rooms on the first and second floors 'Lorelei' open the wonderful canvas of nature. All rooms are spacious and well furnished with balcony provides full view on both sides, of enchanting vast greenery of mountain slopes covered by flourishing Tea Plantations. Rheintal on the ground floor is a stylish and comfortable room with balcony which opens a wide vista of nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gruenberg Tea Plantation Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gruenberg Tea Plantation Haus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.