We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Shades

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Green Shades to your Saves list
Green Shades
Karadippara, Vattiyar Po, Munnar 685611, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 102 Munnar B&B and Inns
Berlin, Connecticut
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The hotel is basically a quiet house in the middle of a spice plantation. The area is great if you want to relax or go for hike. The rooms are spacious, clean and surrounded by greenery. We even had a balcony where we could have some tea and enjoy the view, the sounds of nature and the clean air. The staff is extremely friendly. In fact, they are often so chatty that you almost wish for some more privacy. The food is great and the prices are very reasonable. All in all, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    14
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
jerusalem
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had a very bad experience. Works of paving were going on in the place with workers, noise and lack of silence. So we decided to leave. The owner did not want us to leave without paying the full amount although we did not even use the rooms. So he locked us inside for a couple of hours without letting us go. I felt amazed at the beginning and kidnapped at the end...I had to call the police and was close to call my embassy. At the end he let us go accepting 1000 Rupie that is exactly the amount I offered him from the very beginning. Stay away from that place!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We visited this place with our family of 8 people on 9th & 10th Feb 13. This is nice,Homely & Peaceful place to stay. Its not a hotel but homestay with good facilities,service, food etc. Services provided were nice .The Owner's were hospitable & humble.They showed there Garden's,various kind of trees,plants they planted,Overall nice homely ,peaceful stay. Care takers Manoj & Mani kandan were very nice & cooperative.
This place is 12 Kms before Munnar town

If you want nice ,peaceful stay this place is for you.

Room Tip: All room s are double bed rooms only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Enjoyed our stay here. We had brand new facilities in our room- the building must be reasonably new.
There weren't any signs posted indicating that we were at the right place, but once we figured it out it was great.

The food they provide is delicious homemade food. However they ask for time slots to serve you, as the food is prepared in advance (the later you ask for the more chance your dal is going to dry up), but still fresh-ish and tasty.
The spices/fruit/vegetables around the gardens are amazing.

Note they are about a 20-30 min drive to Munnar.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Really truly loved our time here, and regretted coming for such a short trip. The family were so hospitable and helped us out with planning and organising our trip without hesitation. The hotel is just outside of Munnar which we appreciated, and in a gorgeous location. Lovely clean modern rooms, showers with hot water was appreciated! Great food and service was impeccable. Can't recommend enough. Don't go anywhere else. Thanks George for the amazing experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodhpur City, Rajasthan, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great place to relax in calm and serene environment. Feels homely as well as luxurious in between nature. Just loved the place. Hospitality and the family was very friendly. thumps up to for Green Shades Munnar ... limited choice of food and is 10 kms away from city are the two points to be kept in mind.

Room Tip: Four room cottage is the best .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night in green shades and it was the best homestay we came across. The rooms were excellent, very modern and your own hot water tank! The staff were attentive to our every need, food was great and we enjoyed home made chocolate from the owner for dessert! Around 15k from Munnar (30min Rickshaw journey) and located in a wonderful location next to a spice plantation, just stunning!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Shades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Shades

Address: Karadippara, Vattiyar Po, Munnar 685611, India
Location: India > Kerala > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Shades plantation holidays with all the luxuries of a hotel and the peace and tranquility of a home. Set amidst 10 acres of verdant lush landscape with a marvelous view of misty hills on eastern side, and sky scraping trees on the west. The only thing that could disturb you is the lullaby of the birds. Its just 12 kms. away from Munnar town, very near to National Highway. The land is gifted with a vast variety of spice plants, fruit plants and vegetables. 6 twin accommodations are available with clay tile roofing and the clean natural mineral-rich well water is an added attraction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Green Shades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Shades, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.