We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly shakshuka” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rapsy Restaurant

Rapsy Restaurant
Proche du bazar | Centre de Munnar, Munnar, India
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 39 Restaurants in Munnar
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Heavenly shakshuka”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Mmmm, after one month my mouth is still watering when I think of the Israeli style shakshuka (fried tomato, onion, garlic, probably a lot of oil and two fried eggs) in Rapsy Restaurant. It was not only very well made and perfectly spiced but also original, something different from the (albeit tasty) South Indian food you get everywhere else. And you get a day off white rice. The location is not charming but the staff is very nice and the testimonies in different languages on their walls tell their story.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    80
    28
    9
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“absolutely fantastic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Even though the place amused us since we had to write our orders down ourselves it was one of the best (beef) curries I was priviledged to taste in my 4 weeks of India! We were all absolutely amazed by the food of this busy restaurant that shouldn't be judged on its simple appearance! A absolute must-do!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Some unique menu items”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Ok restaurant. Not a huge menu but you have some non-Indian options that are not available elsewhere in Munnar. So if you're having trouble with endless carbs & chili of Keralan cuisine, you can find a couple of different options here. Had some decent tea as well.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalow
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Yummy food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a locals restaurant so don't expect it to be upmarket but food was really tasty, cheap and good variety.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
419 reviews 419 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“Not a bad place close to the market”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had a small meal there during our stop in Munnar on way back from Top Station to Kaivalyam Retreat. It was cheap and tasty. We tried corn soup and beef 65 (oh, I liked that spicy beef) with some bread and tea. You'll find a lot of recommendations from fellow travellers in their native languages sticked to the walls. We also found a Polish one :-) Paid less 250 rupees for a meal and I think it was just right. Shame it does not have a toilet, just a washbasin. Service was so-so, not very quick.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rapsy Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rapsy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rapsy Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.