We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gr8 experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Punarjani Traditional Village

Punarjani Traditional Village
2nd Mile Pallivasal, Munnar, India
04865 216161
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
India
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Gr8 experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were skeptical about going there as i'm not very traditional kind of person so i doubted i would like it, but was pursued by our cab driver. We gave a miss to kathakali dance show and opted to see Martial arts show,

All the seats irrespective of where have a clear view of the show, it started and looked little boring but as it proceded it became more and more interesting till the end it was playing with fire, swords, sticks and what not arms.....it was really thrilling experience and unforgettable one for sure.

If you have time theres a amall restaurant just abt 100 mtrs ahead of punarjani entrance, they have spectacular view of valley and very good dosa and uttapam.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    150
    49
    17
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Kathakali show is good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The kathakali performance began with a small demonstration of the various mudras, or postures and explanation of what they denote. This was followed by a 40 minute performance enacting an episode from Indian mythology. Rs. 200/- per head. This was a good experience and recommended for all who want to see this dance form live.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“The best of Kathakali”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

On our recent trip to Kerala we saw four Kathakali shows and this one was by far and away the best. Not only do you get to see the makeup applied (if you go a little early) but the show was just wonderful. If you only see one show on your way through Kerala to the Backwaters, see this one!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Marvellous they are !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Please make it a point to wathc both the shows of Punarjani.
1. Kathakali show.
2. Kallaripayattu - this is the art of fighting that evolved in these parts of southern India. Indian 'Martial arts'.

Both of them are informative, and awesome.
I was struck by Kallaripayattu martial artists in particular.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“good work .keep it up!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

brilliant manner in which an indigenous art is being kept alive even if it is commercialised a bit.after all one cannot survive on art alone...needs to have food and house to live in.it is the artists only who manage the ticketing,ushering,management and information-announcemetns..in short run totally by them in each and every sense.Kudos!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punarjani Traditional Village also viewed

 

Been to Punarjani Traditional Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punarjani Traditional Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.