We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Punarjani Traditional Village

Punarjani Traditional Village
2nd Mile Pallivasal, Munnar, India
04865 216161
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enchanting Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The people of the Punarjani Traditional Village are some of the most amazing and dedicated people i have ever met, for the love of art and performance. They are keeping a tradition which is unfortunately dyeing alive and the shows are absolutely fantastic. Both shows are really exciting and amazing to watch. The vocal performer for the Kathakali show was one of the best singers i have ever heard in my life. I truly felt like everyone in the show was giving 110%. And the Kalaripayuttu show was absolutely exhilarating. The performer were absolutely amazing and just kept us in awe. The leader of the group did an amazing double staff spinning with fire which was some of the best ive ever seen in the world. I see alot of fire performances and this man was on point. (after the show i met him and spoke to him about his training and the facility, they are legit people just keeping an amazing art fourm alive.) i strongly recommend going to the Punarjani Traditional Village, its an experience you will not ever forget. Even if your not looking to do touristy things, it really feels like your absorbing the culture in a way you'd never expect. I cannot say enough amazing things about the shows.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    150
    49
    17
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bhopal, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Kallari is the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Kallari arts is worthwile if you munnar must watch kallari arts & dont go for message its very expensive & its nott value for money even they give discount on messages but you have to ask for it

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A nice show for the Layman”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

If you had no idea what Kathakali is, then this is the place to go. Dont miss this village when you go to Munnar. The guys are doing an excellent job. For the 200 rupees they collect, they start from telling you what Kathakali is all about and then perform a short story.
But, as some reviewers have already written, the Kalari payat is breathtaking. Sincere students performing a nice martial art - DO NOT MISS THIS.
Good thing is they allow you to take photographs with them and are eager to tell us about their experiences.
Keep it up Guys.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOIDA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth the money spent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We went mainly for the kathakali performance, without expecting too much from the martial arts show. However we came out talking more about the latter. it takes your breath away.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“loved the show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

loved the kalaripeyettu (forgive my spelling) show. Did not see kathakali though. the performace was great. Thanks

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punarjani Traditional Village also viewed

 

Been to Punarjani Traditional Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punarjani Traditional Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.